Pegasos/MorphOS graphic boards compatibility list!!!!
  • Moderator
    Miky060
    Posts: 694 from 2003/2/24
    From: ITALY
    Hi all!
    It seems the most common FAQ for MOS newbee/users is: "which graphic board work on Pegasos? Whic ones are well supported by MorphOS?" Moreover some people bought GFX that cant'properly be used on their Pegasos.
    So, why don't we create a list of compatible/tested/working GFX boards so this problems can be avoided? I actually think this can be usefull for everyone.
    I can start giveing my little help with the boards tested by me:

    - Sapphire Radeon AGP 7000 -> Working
    - Sapphire Radeon AGP 7500 -> Working
    - ATI Radeon AGP 8500 -> Working (obviously NO-Overlay)
    - PowerColor AGP Radeon 9000 -> Working
    - Shappire Radeon PCI 7000 -> *NOT-Working* (totally not recognized by OF - black screen)
    - Voodoo3 3000 AGP -> Working

    Is it enought to start!? :-D

    PegasosII "Elite" Machine --> PowerMac MDD "popular" Machine --> MacMini 1.5 "still more popular" Machine
  • »26.12.03 - 16:48
    Profile Visit Website
  • Targhan
    Posts: 2833 from 2003/2/8
    From: USA
    I'll be more than happy to compile this list into something usable on MZ.

    An actual Radeon branded Radeon7000 works fine.
    :idea:Targhan

    MorphOS portal? www.MorphZone.org
  • »26.12.03 - 17:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 261 from 2003/3/13
    From: Rotterdam, the...
    Mabe it's a good idea to also add additional info,
    like if Warp3D is supported etc.. ?

    Bye,
    Felix.
  • »26.12.03 - 17:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    warface
    Posts: 653 from 2003/2/24
    From: Hungary
    I have a similar Voodoo, and a Radeon.

    My Radeon is a Radeon 8500LE with 128 Mb DDR. No overlay (neither in Linux nor in MorphOS), and no OpenGL/Warp3D support - yet, else it's perfectly working, fast, and gives a beautiful image.

    Hoping for Radeon 3D support :-)
  • »26.12.03 - 17:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 157 from 2003/3/3
    Overlay suppport is coming to all supported Radeons soon.. (I hope 1.4.1, but at least 1.5) ... Also some of Radeon 9200:s are to be supported on 2D ..

    About 3D? .. I have no clue how far they have reached atm..
    http://somequicknotes.blogspot.com/index.html
  • »26.12.03 - 23:17
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    boing
    Posts: 31 from 2003/2/24
    From: Melbourne, Aus...
    -Sapphire Radeon 9100 128MB works fine

    work with new driver that should be in new MOS:
    -Gigabyte Radeon 9200SE
    -Sapphire Radeon 9200SE 64MB & 128MB

    hope this helps
    Scott
  • »27.12.03 - 03:23
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    DSLCC
    Posts: 246 from 2003/5/14
    From: Fort Worth, TX...
    As an experiment I tried a PCI SIS305 card. It doesn't work either.
    I get the OF screen, then MorphOS boots but it stays on the OF
    screen. Is there a PCI graphics card that does work? Or is there
    something that I need to tell OF? I'm trying to get a PCI graphic card
    working to see if that will help the Articia/AGP sound problem.

    David

    UPDATE: I think I bought a faulty card. Put it in my PC and the same
    thing happens - I see the text when it first powers on - then just a
    black screen. Rebooted and it was just a black screen. Turned the PC
    off and back on and it showed the initial post stuff then black again.
    Guess I'll return it. :)
    Pegasos 1 G3 MorphOS 1.4.5* Mac G4 Sawtooth 1Ghz Tiger 10.4.1* Both Rock! :-D
  • »27.12.03 - 20:17
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    marcik
    Posts: 268 from 2003/4/12
    From: Kielce/Krakow,...
    Sapphire Radeon9k AGP 64MB - works ok.
  • »28.12.03 - 18:05
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Velcro_SP
    Posts: 929 from 2003/7/13
    From: Universe
    |||

    [ Edited by Velcro_SP on 2011/3/12 1:58 ]
    Pegasos2 G3, 512 megs RAM
  • »28.12.03 - 22:34
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    DSLCC
    Posts: 246 from 2003/5/14
    From: Fort Worth, TX...
    The S305 PCI card that I bought turns out to be an S315 and doesn't
    work at all.
    Pegasos 1 G3 MorphOS 1.4.5* Mac G4 Sawtooth 1Ghz Tiger 10.4.1* Both Rock! :-D
  • »30.12.03 - 00:18
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    memering
    Posts: 45 from 2003/3/13
    From: Xenia Ohio USA
    I just received my Pegasos II, Ya! Are the Video cards for these Pegasos I compatable with PegII? Is there a link to a list of compatable; Video cards, RAM etc...?
    God Bless

    Bob
  • »30.12.03 - 13:20
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    raphy
    Posts: 8 from 2004/1/12
    From: Paris
    Gigabyte 9200SE/128Mo works fine on my pegII with morphos 1.4.1 and 17" LCD :)
  • »12.01.04 - 12:50
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 10 from 2004/3/2
    From: Savonlinna, Fi...
    SiS 6326 PCI 4MB does not work properly with
    Pegasos-II G4 and MOS1.4 installer. It does not
    have enough memory for the default screen mode.
    About three columns of pixels are shown and then
    there are three blank columns and so on. Cursor
    is garbled too. I guess it is possible to install
    MOS anyway and then change the mode.

    SiS 6326 AGP 8MB is ok.

    I'm still waiting for my Radeon 9000 to arrive...
  • »03.03.04 - 07:50
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Crumb
    Posts: 698 from 2003/2/24
    From: aGaS & CUAZ Al...
    Voodoo3500 AGP works without problems, but the TV driver isn't public yet... but it works well with Overlay, Warp3D, etc...

    Virge PCI 4MB doesn't work...
  • »03.03.04 - 09:58
    Profile Visit Website
  • JBB
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 32 from 2004/5/27
    Hi guys...

    Slightly off topic:
    I'm about to buy a PegII. (yeah!) BUT I am hesitating for the graphic card. My budget is tight for now, so it's between a Radeon7000, or a 3DFX Voodoo3 on eBay (I'd like the 3D to work asap, as MOS1.5 release date is still unannounced... )

    I know that the 3DFX is obviously older but what is the big difference between the two apart from the 3D in MOS1.4? Which one would you go for? is 32MB enough for Morphos? Would you advise AGP or PCI?

    Also, do you know if MOL & PegXmac work with Voodoo cards? Or it prefers a Radeon to be more "apple hardware friendly"?

    Sorry for all these questions...
    Thanks for helping!
    Cheerio,
    JBB
  • »03.06.04 - 21:50
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Derrik
    Posts: 13 from 2003/10/11
    From: Liberec, Czech...
    Voodoo 3 2000 16MB AGP - Warp3D
    Radeon 9200 128MB AGP - No Warp3D :o(
    Both works fine.
  • »03.06.04 - 22:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 62 from 2003/7/30
    From: Nederland
    also the radeon 9100 works fine to me.
    have an phillips 21"brilliance monitor and it rocks !!!!!

    only nobody talk about the 9100 card with 128 DDR, is it well
    supported or just a little.

    the only thing that bothers me is that i can not run 1600 x 1200 with
    at least 80Hz. You gonna be crayzi if you look at a big resolution
    with only 60Hz :eek:


    now i run a 24bit 1280x1024 @ 71.14 Hz :-D
  • »04.06.04 - 00:30
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Miky060
    Posts: 694 from 2003/2/24
    From: ITALY
    @ SSSMoves
    > the only thing that bothers me is that i can not run 1600 x 1200 with at least 80Hz.

    You have to create new modes with System Settings --> ModeEdit. You can easily obtain also 1600X1200@100Hz

    Remember to edit your monitor prefs too



    > nobody talk about the 9100 card with 128 ...

    FYI: Radeon 9100=8500LE ;-)

    PegasosII "Elite" Machine --> PowerMac MDD "popular" Machine --> MacMini 1.5 "still more popular" Machine
  • »04.06.04 - 00:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    Posts: 124 from 2003/2/17
    From: France
    ok here 's my addition : (even if everyone know what i'll write under)

    Voodoo3 1000 AGP -> working
    Voodoo 3 3000 PCI -> working
    Voodoo3 3500 AGP -> working
    Voodoo3 3500 TV AGP PAL -> working
    voodoo4 4500 AGP -> working
    voodooMAC 5500 PCI -> working
    powercolor Radeon 7000 64MB DDR -> working


    just my $0.02
    Pegasos rulez since august 2002
  • »04.06.04 - 06:08
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Brumiga
    Posts: 178 from 2004/4/3
    From: France
    hello guys,

    PowerColor Radeon 9200SE/128 Mo works fine with my monitor Relisys 17" TE786 currently at 1024x768 @ 85 hz. little help about the bandwith, my manual says 135 Mhz but i saw, three or four years ago on www.teco.com, 175 Mhz. which is the good value ? what could be the results if i try 175 Mhz instead of 135 Mhz ?

    Brumiga
  • »04.06.04 - 09:51
    Profile