MorphOS runs on QEmu
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1100 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Thanks Leo for your answer :-)

    I look that :
    Quote:

    Known problems:

    - USB devices don't work on mac99.

    - The OpenBIOS firmware does not correctly describe PCI buses of the emulated machine which makes MorphOS try to access devices on the wrong PCI bus. This OpenBIOS patch provides a workaround, a patched OpenBIOS binary is here.

    - Mouse movement periodically freezes and CPU usage is high on mac99.
    This is caused by a high priority temperature.sensor task which presumably tries to access temperature sensors over I2C but this is not emulated by QEMU so this hangs waiting for an interrupt which is not delivered so it has to time out. Workaround is to lower priority of this task from Utilities / Task Manager until this is implemented in QEMU.<\li>

    - MorphOS does not boot on sam460ex
    For some reason it cannot find PCI devices and cannot boot because of that (either won't find SATA controller and thus boot CD or HD or if booting from usb-storage with the SD card image it won't find display device so no output). This problem may actually exist on real hardware too according to this forum thread, where similar issues are reported but I'm not sure. It looks like MorphOS tries to access PCI registers with an offset of 2 for some reason. This may not happen on real hardware or may wrap in some way and provide different results with some devices working and others failing or people just use PCIe graphics and avoid PCI devices.



    Maybe some improvement by MorphOS Team for a best emulation in next release?
  • »05.07.18 - 16:51
    Profile Visit Website
  • Leo
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Leo
    Posts: 410 from 2003/8/18
    Quote:

    Papiosaur wrote:
    Thanks Leo for your answer :-)

    Maybe some improvement by MorphOS Team for a best emulation in next release?


    I don't think so. I wouldn't be surprised if this was the contrary (like it would stop working).
    Nothing hurts a project more than developers not taking the time to let their community know what is going on.
  • »05.07.18 - 17:15
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 997 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    Leo wrote:
    Quote:

    Papiosaur wrote:
    Excellent news !

    Thanks Leo for the snapshot.

    It usable ?




    Not really, not yet:

    - it crashes frequently (I guess its due to qemu emulation)
    - it's slow (it takes at least 2min to open OWB & several minutes to show installation wizard)
    - it's 2D only and I guess there's no sound

    But still, I think it's a good thing to have the ability to run it on any platform. For example I can now finally test cross compiled apps I created. Before that I couldn't do it unless I decided to buy a machine just for that.


    Which branch did you pull to build this Leo?

    I want to try it on my 4.2GHz 7700k.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »06.07.18 - 11:00
    Profile
  • Leo
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Leo
    Posts: 410 from 2003/8/18
    @Intuition: master.
    Nothing hurts a project more than developers not taking the time to let their community know what is going on.
  • »07.07.18 - 14:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 997 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    Leo wrote:
    @Intuition: master.



    Thanks Leo, I'll pull it later and have a play.

    I hope the recently released MorphOS for Workgroups works :)
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »07.07.18 - 16:52
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 997 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Woohoo!!!!

    Posting this from MorphOS 3.11 in QEMU master from a Thinkpad with 2.9GHz 4th Gen i7 CPU and it's quite good. Graphics are a bit slow but the CPU is much fastter than I expected it to be. Should be a lot faster when I try it on my 7700k tower hopefully.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »08.07.18 - 20:09
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 298 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    Woohoo!!!!

    Posting this from MorphOS 3.11 in QEMU master from a Thinkpad with 2.9GHz 4th Gen i7 CPU and it's quite good. Graphics are a bit slow but the CPU is much fastter than I expected it to be. Should be a lot faster when I try it on my 7700k tower hopefully.


    Remember benchmark tools are very misleading under emulation. You should try something CPU intensive like file compression or re-encoding video.
  • »08.07.18 - 20:32
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 997 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    Woohoo!!!!

    Posting this from MorphOS 3.11 in QEMU master from a Thinkpad with 2.9GHz 4th Gen i7 CPU and it's quite good. Graphics are a bit slow but the CPU is much fastter than I expected it to be. Should be a lot faster when I try it on my 7700k tower hopefully.


    Remember benchmark tools are very misleading under emulation. You should try something CPU intensive like file compression or re-encoding video.


    I haven't benchmarked it yet, just commented based on the general feel and snappiness of it etc.

    Going to try installing it to a disk image next, hopefully will take less than 30 minutes! :)
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »08.07.18 - 20:49
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 997 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    I got it installed to a qcow2 image but have no idea how to make qemu boot from it, so I'm going to bed and will tackle it tomorrow evening.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »09.07.18 - 00:19
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4608 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Yeah, let us know how it benches, Nik.

    Since I have an i7 Thinkpad that sounds interesting.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »10.07.18 - 03:15
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4608 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    Video of MorphOS 3.11 on QEMU 3.0: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EZJ42NPG8Qo


    That looks surprisingly usable.
    Emulating a SAM460 with SM502 graphics.
    Think it requires that much cpu power?

    I have no intention of buying anything as extreme as a threadripper cpu.

    Still, that's cool.
    A system that could potentially run MorphOS and OS4 sessions simultaneously.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »15.07.18 - 18:43
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    ThePlayer
    Posts: 1024 from 2003/3/24
    From: Hamburg/Germany
    Quote:

    Jim schrieb:

    I have no intention of buying anything as extreme as a threadripper cpu.

    Still, that's cool.
    A system that could potentially run MorphOS and OS4 sessions simultaneously.



    I guess an AMD Ryzen 1700 or 2700x should run this as good as the Threadripper. And this CPUs arn't that expensive.
    I will try it in two weeks when i am back from vacation on my Ryzen 1600 and Post some benchmarks.
    Is it possible to use the Networkstack in MorphOS on QEMU?
    PowerBook 17" SuperHD-Display MOD 1920x1200 :)
  • »15.07.18 - 19:04
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 374 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    Will be qemu part of MorphOS 4?
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.10
  • »15.07.18 - 21:20
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9790 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Emulating a SAM460 with SM502 graphics.

    No, it's emulating a PowerMac3,1 with SM502 plugin card.
  • »15.07.18 - 23:50
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 997 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    ThePlayer wrote:
    Quote:

    Jim schrieb:

    I have no intention of buying anything as extreme as a threadripper cpu.

    Still, that's cool.
    A system that could potentially run MorphOS and OS4 sessions simultaneously.



    I guess an AMD Ryzen 1700 or 2700x should run this as good as the Threadripper. And this CPUs arn't that expensive.
    I will try it in two weeks when i am back from vacation on my Ryzen 1600 and Post some benchmarks.
    Is it possible to use the Networkstack in MorphOS on QEMU?


    Only when booting from the CD image. Once installed the OS freezes on boot up if you have networking enabled, no matter which emulated network card you use.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »16.07.18 - 09:00
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    waldiamiga
    Posts: 54 from 2007/7/25
    From: Krakow, Poland
    Okay, I'm trying to run MorphOS ... Just for sport, but the Windows7 console being blown out spits me something like:
    Code:

    d:EmulacjaQEmu>qemu-system-ppc -machine mac99,via=pmu -m 512 -vga none -device
    sm501 -cdrom morphos-3.11.iso -boot d -prom-env boot-device=cd:,mac_ppc32boot
    .img' -bios openbios-qemu.elf -serial stdio -net nic,model=sungem -net user
    C>> annot manage 'misc display controller' PCI device type 'display':
    >> 126f 501 (3 80 0)
    >> set_property: NULL phandle

    >> =============================================================
    >> OpenBIOS 1.1 [Jun 27 2018 13:46]
    >> Configuration device id QEMU version 1 machine id 1
    >> CPUs: 1
    >> Memory: 512M
    >> UUID: 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000
    >> CPU type PowerPC,G4
    milliseconds isn't unique.
    Output device screen not found.
    Output device screen not found.
    Trying cd:,mac_ppc32boot.img'...
    No valid state has been set by load or init-program

    0 >
    (qemu-system-ppc.exe:4328): Gtk-WARNING **: Could not load a pixbuf from /org/gt
    k/libgtk/theme/Adwaita/assets/bullet-symbolic.svg.
    This may indicate that pixbuf loaders or the mime database could not be found.

    Can anyone familiar with the topic write to me where the error is?

    [ Edited by waldiamiga 16.07.2018 - 13:12 ]

    MorphOS.pl
    PowerBook G4 1.67GHz|2GB DDR2|ATI Radeon 9700M 128MB|SSD 80GB|TFT 17"|MorphOS 3.11
    Core i7 Notebook|WinUAE 3.x/AmigaOS4.1x & Icaros Desktop 2.x/QEmu 3.x.x
  • »16.07.18 - 12:05
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1637 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Use absolute paths to hd and cd images and perhaps try with -sdl.
  • »16.07.18 - 12:47
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1637 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Tested and played around a bit on a E5-1650 3.6GHz Xeon box and even with such a high end CPU it gives me sub-Efika speeds. Meh, won't run again.
  • »16.07.18 - 12:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4608 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Sub-Efika speeds, emulated SM502 graphics.

    I'd be willing to bet that this could be done better on Power9.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »16.07.18 - 13:10
    Profile
  • Leo
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Leo
    Posts: 410 from 2003/8/18
    Quote:

    waldiamiga wrote:
    Okay, I'm trying to run MorphOS ... Just for sport, but the Windows7 console being blown out spits me something like:
    Code:

    d:EmulacjaQEmu>qemu-system-ppc -machine mac99,via=pmu -m 512 -vga none -device
    sm501 -cdrom morphos-3.11.iso -boot d -prom-env boot-device=cd:,mac_ppc32boot
    .img' -bios openbios-qemu.elf -serial stdio -net nic,model=sungem -net user
    C>> annot manage 'misc display controller' PCI device type 'display':
    >> 126f 501 (3 80 0)
    >> set_property: NULL phandle

    >> =============================================================
    >> OpenBIOS 1.1 [Jun 27 2018 13:46]
    >> Configuration device id QEMU version 1 machine id 1
    >> CPUs: 1
    >> Memory: 512M
    >> UUID: 00000000-0000-0000-0000-000000000000
    >> CPU type PowerPC,G4
    milliseconds isn't unique.
    Output device screen not found.
    Output device screen not found.
    Trying cd:,mac_ppc32boot.img'...
    No valid state has been set by load or init-program

    0 >
    (qemu-system-ppc.exe:4328): Gtk-WARNING **: Could not load a pixbuf from /org/gt
    k/libgtk/theme/Adwaita/assets/bullet-symbolic.svg.
    This may indicate that pixbuf loaders or the mime database could not be found.

    Can anyone familiar with the topic write to me where the error is?


    I am getting the same error on Windows.

    The same files work correctly on Linux & macOS.
    Nothing hurts a project more than developers not taking the time to let their community know what is going on.
  • »16.07.18 - 15:29
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 74 from 2017/9/10
    guys in the video im using morphos installed on img.
    the installation took really small time is really quick.

    use a raw as the image file ... dont make it more bigger than 10GB

    for boot the img is simple just swap the cd,\mac_soandso\boot.img in
    hd,\boot.img in the command line.


    the freeze or better the idle is because the lan . i think morphos try to go online form very beginning and this make all idle. just add -device rtl8139 without any other lan options.

    PS: there is a somewasre a crysalis pack iso complete for mos 3.11 without go online for download the packages?
  • »16.07.18 - 15:53
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    dark_knight
    Posts: 11 from 2012/8/12
    Does it work in MOS 3.11? I recall reading that it had stopped working after the MOS 3.10 release.

    The latest version I can find is: https://www.warmup-asso.org/download.php?op=geninfo&did=1
  • »16.07.18 - 21:06
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 997 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    Tested and played around a bit on a E5-1650 3.6GHz Xeon box and even with such a high end CPU it gives me sub-Efika speeds. Meh, won't run again.


    These are the lame aksack.wav results on a 2.9GHz i7-4600M laptop.

    I'll test on my 7700k when I get a chance.

    qemulameaksack.png
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »17.07.18 - 09:26
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Intuition
    Posts: 997 from 2013/5/24
    From: Englistan
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    Sub-Efika speeds, emulated SM502 graphics.

    I'd be willing to bet that this could be done better on Power9.



    What results does the Efika get with lame aksack.wav?

    virtgpu support will eventually come and it'll pass through a Radeon card that will appear on the pci bus to MorphOS and use it's native drivers.

    QEMU-KVM doesn't work as yet so no running this on any PPC or Power9 without emulating it same as on x64 for now.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »17.07.18 - 09:30
    Profile