Shogo: MAD on MorphOS
  • Just looking around
    dark_knight
    Posts: 11 from 2012/8/12
    Hi all,
    Does anyone play Shogo on their machine? I've owned the Amiga version for 10 years, but have only just got sufficiently fast hardware to run it. However, attempting to launch it on my Mac Mini G4 (Morphos 3.1) machine only results in screen corruption. Is there a particular trick that people are using to convince it to run?
  • »12.08.12 - 13:41
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Goodman
    Posts: 73 from 2006/8/2
    Hi

    I've tried Shogo on my Pegasos 1 April2, I can lanch it, but it's not be able to set keyboard or mouse, for example you can't change weapons. Then can[t hear any sound:"Could not initialize sound. Please make sure you sound card is configured correctly." I set AHI sound.
    I have a problem with the sound card and I don't understand if the issue is hardware or software. I had open a post few deay ago... Ambient can't play CDs from a windows, but I can using VLC for example...
    Tried Payback too and I can't play the music CD while I can hear the sound game.
    In some old forum I had red to set disable movies and menu music to start Shogo, have you tried it?
  • »14.08.12 - 12:32
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    dark_knight
    Posts: 11 from 2012/8/12
    Hmm... I don't recall seeing a separate config icon, but I'll take another look at the weekend and report back.
  • »14.08.12 - 20:40
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    XDelusion
    Posts: 602 from 2010/10/27
    I think I used this:

    http://www.meta-morphos.org/download.php?op=mydown&did=553

    Oddly enough in the menu system, I could hear sound, but when I started the game, all sound cut out.

    I had last tested this on my eMac, but have not gotten around to it on my mini yet (too busy moving).

    Others said they had not issues at all with sound.

    What ever it is, I'd LOVE to see it resolved!
    "I hope life isn't a big joke, because I don't get it." - Jack Handey

    Registered MorphOS user, Amiga user, and Atari 8-bit user.
  • »15.08.12 - 17:51
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Jambalah
    Posts: 819 from 2008/3/30
    From: Roma, Italy
    Installed Shogo on Powermac and the ptoblem is the same: no sound and the error Goodman reported. No probs with the game itself that is playable and graphically ok but.. damn! No weapon selection, neither with keyboard nor mouse. I didn't have any launch problem but I tried the launcher update Xdelusion wrote with same results. I remember I had the same problem on Pegasos but I can't confirm since I deleted Shogo (not a big pain to install it again) and I don't remember. I can say Heretic II has the same problem of Payback (sounds ok, cd music not reprodeuced) and the strange thing is that on Pegasos I can't hear any sound... The same for Quake II (plays ok on Powermac). I'll take another look next days but I guess major problem (sounds, keyboard) are caused by the game that is too old (1998): everytime I exit from Shogo, I obtain error messages (AHI and something else illegal address) or a system crash.
    Pegasos II 1 ghz
    Powermac G4 Quicksilver with Sonnet Encore 1.8 ghz
    Powermac G4 MDD single 1.25 ghz, silenced for ears health...
    Powermac G5 dual 2.7 ghz I'll be back...
    Powermac G5 dual 2.0 ghz
    Powerbook G4 1.67 ghz 17
  • »15.08.12 - 20:57
    Profile
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    No idea about the sound, but anyway it needed luck to make them work properly even back then on OS3.x + WarpOS/Warp3D.
    Heretic2 and especially Shogo are really buggy in several areas...
  • »15.08.12 - 21:05
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11478 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > it needed luck to make them work properly even back then on OS3.x + WarpOS/Warp3D.

    However, Shogo worked quite well (including sound, cutscene audio was distorted though yet intelligible) on my Pegasos I with Radeon 9000 and MorphOS 1.4 :-) Problems with that game (non-working sound) emerged with upgrade to MorphOS 2.0, even without change of hardware.
  • »15.08.12 - 22:12
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11478 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I guess major problem (sounds, keyboard) are caused by the game that is too old (1998)

    The Amiga version of Shogo and thus the AmigaOS-related code (sound, keyboard) was released in 2001.
  • »15.08.12 - 22:20
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Jambalah
    Posts: 819 from 2008/3/30
    From: Roma, Italy
    @Andreas_Wolf:
    Right, I was thinking about the first release date of Shogo and not Amiga release =)

    Well, I tried to play Shogo after a fresh install on Pegasos II and the result is the same: error for sound card, no sounds and no music but here weapon selection is working at least and this allow to play the game, though without sounds it's not really enjoyable.....
    Then I tried on MorphOS 1.4.5 (yes, it's still in my hard disk :-D ) and after launched an application meditating stops everything. Tried with update and same result. Deleted Shogo and installed again via MorphOS 1.4.5 but nothing changed, with original launcher and with update.
    Pegasos II 1 ghz
    Powermac G4 Quicksilver with Sonnet Encore 1.8 ghz
    Powermac G4 MDD single 1.25 ghz, silenced for ears health...
    Powermac G5 dual 2.7 ghz I'll be back...
    Powermac G5 dual 2.0 ghz
    Powerbook G4 1.67 ghz 17
  • »16.08.12 - 13:06
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    transmorpher
    Posts: 8 from 2011/9/28
    I guess we've lost this game as well. I guess I'll have to stick to the Windows version for the moment.

    I notice that some of the source code was release several years ago, though it doesn't seem to have been taken up by anyone in the interim. I took a quick look at it but couldn't find anything related to the game engine itself.

    Edit: Alternatively, I notice that there's a Mac port as well.

    [ Edited by transmorpher 24.11.2012 - 13:49 ]
  • »24.11.12 - 12:36
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    Henes
    Posts: 505 from 2003/6/14
    I just tried and I can still start the Shogo demo, create a new game and quit without any crash with MorphOS 3.1 on my Pegasos2.
  • »24.11.12 - 12:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11478 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I notice that some of the source code was release several years ago, though
    > it doesn't seem to have been taken up by anyone in the interim. I took a
    > quick look at it but couldn't find anything related to the game engine itself.

    Exactly. This source code was released even before the Amiga port of Shogo was started.

    > Alternatively, I notice that there's a Mac port as well.

    Btw, this Mac port was done by the same company as the Amiga port (as well as the Linux port).
  • »24.11.12 - 17:27
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    eliot
    Posts: 554 from 2004/4/15
    If source code ist available, can sombody do a clean port of the game to MorphOs which
    will work with the amiga cd release?
    regards
    eliot
  • »25.12.15 - 16:49
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 548 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    The full source of Shogo was never released, just the gameplay logic. The LitTech engine remains closed source.
    This is just like television, only you can see much further.
  • »25.12.15 - 17:30
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    XDelusion
    Posts: 602 from 2010/10/27
    We can run this, but with no sound. It's the same as it always was, MorphOS is in dire need of it's own Nalle Puh/Puh Der Bear
    "I hope life isn't a big joke, because I don't get it." - Jack Handey

    Registered MorphOS user, Amiga user, and Atari 8-bit user.
  • »26.12.15 - 13:14
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 787 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    Quote:

    XDelusion wrote:
    We can run this, but with no sound. It's the same as it always was, MorphOS is in dire need of it's own Nalle Puh/Puh Der Bear


    Shogo has AHI support and it (Shogo) *did* work on MorphOS. Maybe AHI has been changed.

    [ Edited by KennyR 31.12.2015 - 19:42 ]
  • »31.12.15 - 18:41
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Elric
    Posts: 52 from 2003/4/3
    From: Bretagne Lorient
    Hello!

    I just made a try, on the Efika, with the demo for now (having to trick with usb cdrom reader or so to install the full game);
    It wasn't had sound, but now it's ok! :-)
    It seems that just setting the AHI unit ot "1" in Shogo Launcher makes it go forth! ;-)

    Now I have too, to find a way for using an usb joystick (mine is usless for now)...

    MorphOSian regards!
  • »31.12.15 - 23:59
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    sergius
    Posts: 39 from 2005/12/6
    It worked fine for me under MorphOS 1.4 + pegasos II + radeon 9250.

    You can see it at 7:45

    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WMfr1yLuhx8
  • »01.01.16 - 00:43
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    naTmeg
    Posts: 135 from 2004/2/8
    No adv, but shogo is currently 75% off at gog.com till 4.jan
  • »01.01.16 - 13:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    eliot
    Posts: 554 from 2004/4/15
    It's for Windows only, which do not own.
    Well, there aren't any patches for Shogo from Hyperion.
    Does it work on AS4?

    I couldn't install it on MorphOs (the registration
    stuff does not work).
    regards
    eliot
  • »01.01.16 - 13:46
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    naTmeg
    Posts: 135 from 2004/2/8
    @eliot: Yep, it's for win, but you need the same data-files on MorphOS too i guess. Dunno where to get the executable...
  • »01.01.16 - 13:52
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11478 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > there aren't any patches for Shogo from Hyperion.

    http://aminet.net/package/game/shoot/LauncherUpd
    http://www.amiga-news.de/en/news/AN-2001-05-00218-EN.html

    > Does it work on AS4?

    Only with software rendering, and of course only on CPUs the WarpOS wrapper is compatible with, i.e. G2, G3, G4 and PPC440EP.
  • »01.01.16 - 16:14
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11478 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > you need the same data-files on MorphOS too i guess. Dunno where to get the executable...

    Everybody who has the executable automatically has the required data files, unless there're illegal activities involved.
    And I seem to remember that the Windows version uses Smacker format for the videos while the Amiga version uses QuickTime.
  • »01.01.16 - 17:21
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 787 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    Quote:

    eliot wrote:
    It's for Windows only, which do not own.
    Well, there aren't any patches for Shogo from Hyperion.
    Does it work on AS4?

    I couldn't install it on MorphOs (the registration
    stuff does not work).


    As far as I remember, the installer on the CD release was broken and a patch needed to be downloaded before you could install the game. I don't have it any more I'm afraid. When I migrated to MOS I just used the existing install and everything worked except CDDA.

    Maybe someone should upload the files somewhere since if MUI4 theft is anything to go by, Hyperion don't care about piracy any more? :)
  • »03.01.16 - 19:49
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11478 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > As far as I remember, the installer on the CD release was broken and a patch
    > needed to be downloaded

    It was the launcher (see comment #22).

    > before you could install the game.

    The original launcher failed under certain circumstances (see link in comment #22).

    > Hyperion don't care about piracy any more?

    They do: http://eab.abime.net/showpost.php?p=1059297 ;-)
  • »03.01.16 - 21:36
    Profile