No ethernet support on Quad G5 ?
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1623 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Hello,

    i would like to test internet on Quad G5 via Ethernet port but seems not be supported.

    Maybe i could participate to test any drivers ?

    It will be possible MorphOS support in future version an "usb to ethernet port" to have internet connection ?
  • »10.01.21 - 13:47
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2681 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    If you're talking about a PCIE G5, then there is no driver. You need a Realtek PCIE card OR the Wifi card for this model.
  • »10.01.21 - 14:00
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1623 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Thanks a lot jacadcaps and cyfm fot your answers !

    I have bought a TP-Link TG-3468 with Realtek chip for 12 euros.

    @jacadcaps : i have already Wifi work on it but i prefer ethernet connection :-)
  • »10.01.21 - 15:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 93 from 2019/11/1
    Does built in eth ports are the unique parts to be unsupported or there are other parts too.
    I have a Realtek pcie eth and Wi-Fi pcie wireless adapter with atheros card inside.
    Both runs every well on g5.
    Can I register and buy a new mos license for this or I have to wait for official g5 quad support?
  • »10.01.21 - 16:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 469 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    You can already register and buy one like for all other 'unsupported' PCIe G5. ;-)
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.17 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.1]
  • »10.01.21 - 16:58
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1623 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Thanks Andreas_Wolf ;-)

    Arg i have receive TP-Link TG-3468 but seem it not a Realtek chip...

    I have bought this one :

    TP-Link-TG-3468-Express-Gigabit-Ethernet

    It should be reconize automaticaly by MorphOS or i must launch a driver ? if yes what driver i must launch please ?

    Maybe it will be nice for next version of MorphOS, in MorphOS Network prefs requester open by default directly SYS:MorphOS/Devs/Networks/ drawer to select the driver. Novice didn't know where to search ;-)

    And possibility to remove a Network device (with a bad configuration)

    If you have a link to a ethernet Pcie Realtek work fine i take ;-)

    [ Edité par Papiosaur 12.01.2021 - 10:19 ]

    [ Edité par Papiosaur 12.01.2021 - 11:59 ]
  • »12.01.21 - 10:19
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 620 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    You haven't read my thread about running MorphOS on unsupported G5 PCIE? Have you? :)
    I post there a link to gallery with supported hardware where you can see: photo of nic-gx1
  • »12.01.21 - 11:06
    Profile Visit Website