[Mac mini]: Ethernet Port not working
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    noob,
    Quote:

    Has anyone experience with an usb -> RJ45 adapter? Does it work?


    Posting this using a Belkin USB 10/100 Ethernet adapter model F5D5050.

    It uses the Pegasus.class, which needs to be enabled in USB prefs. Happy to walk you through it once you get the adapter.

    (PS It may be beating a dead horse, but have you examined the Mac mini ethernet port for any obvious bent contacts or fluff?)
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »01.11.12 - 00:35
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    noob
    Posts: 24 from 2012/10/17
    From: germany
    boot_wb,
    Quote:

    Posting this using a Belkin USB 10/100 Ethernet adapter model F5D5050.

    It uses the Pegasus.class, which needs to be enabled in USB prefs. Happy to walk you through it once you get the adapter.


    boot_wb, you are the man(does this really sound cool in english? for me as a german it does)!!! :-)

    I ordered an adapter yesterday. It's not the Belkin, but I hope it will work...

    boot_wb,
    Quote:

    PS It may be beating a dead horse, but have you examined the Mac mini ethernet port for any obvious bent contacts or fluff?)


    The testing will go on. Thank you very, very much!!!
    Mac mini G4 Silent-Upgrade - MorphOS 3.2 registered
  • »01.11.12 - 15:51
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    Quote:

    boot_wb, you are the man(does this really sound cool in english? for me as a german it does)!!!

    Aw, shucks. :blush
    The forums are a good place to ask questions; most people are pretty helpful - it's a good community.

    Quote:

    I ordered an adapter yesterday. It's not the Belkin, but I hope it will work...


    It will depend on the chipset used in the adapter. The Belkin one uses the pegasus chipset, and is pretty cheap (and considered a reliable brand). I believe there are other chipsets supported (Davicom, ASIX, Moschip MCS7830, possibly others through ethwrap) but I don't have a list of supported makes/models (perhaps Andreas_Wolf will be kind enough to supply a link. :-)

    Quote:

    The testing will go on. Thank you very, very much!!!

    You're welcome, I hope it magically starts working again.
    (fwiw it seems as if the system still recognises the onboard ethernet chip, so it's probably just a mechanical/connectivity failure, or passive component burnt out. The resulting good news is that it shouldn't affect your registration key (which is tied to the onboard ethernet MAC address).)

    Gruß


    Rich
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »01.11.12 - 18:14
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11207 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > The Belkin one uses the pegasus chipset [...]. I believe there are other chipsets
    > supported (Davicom, ASIX, Moschip MCS7830, possibly others through ethwrap)
    > but I don't have a list of supported makes/models (perhaps Andreas_Wolf will
    > be kind enough to supply a link.

    At your service:

    http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/Platforms/AROS_USB_support#USB_.E2.86.92_ethernet_convertor


    This list is for AROS but should be valid for MorphOS as well, I think.
  • »01.11.12 - 18:38
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    caver99
    Posts: 131 from 2012/6/14
    on a pc download and burn ubuntu for mac and see if the network works on it as its free and only uses a cd.
    Powermac quicksilver Dual 1ghz Dual Boot Morph OS 3.7 and OS X 10.5.8
    PS3 x5
    Xbox 360 x 6
    Wii x 3
    PSP x 3
    DS x 3
    Custom Gaming Rig
    :-o
  • »02.11.12 - 14:13
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    ZOURIS
    Posts: 5 from 2012/10/31
    Ok, I have another idea;)

    I got in my job many Dell and lenovo laptop who present some problems with ethernet chips.
    The problem is as follow: under certain conditions the network card is blinking, but there is just no link to the active component behing the network link (router/switch)...So as you seems to experience right now.

    I found a workaround: go into BIOS, desactivate the network card, reboot. Then go to BIOS again reactivate the network card. For dell computers, I also have to uninstall the network driver by hand, and at second reboot time, the driver just reinstalls itself alone.

    I tourns out that each time, this was a working workaround. For Lenovo computers, I found that if there is not enough electricity, the network card is just broking (end shutting down the computer doesn't resolve the issue obviously). So I have replaced all netgear switches we can find in meeting rooms by proper cisco switches, and there is just no more problems.

    So now, the problem is: How would you desactivate the network card on a macmini, then reactivate, although I have one, I do not plug my hands on it too often to know the right way to do it (if any).
  • »04.11.12 - 07:36
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 579 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    you could reset pram, check some OF docs
  • »04.11.12 - 12:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    noob
    Posts: 24 from 2012/10/17
    From: germany
    You guys are all so nice! So many people are trying to help me. Seems that the MOS Community is very good.

    boot_wb,
    Quote:

    You're welcome, I hope it magically starts working again.


    It really did, but just for about two hours. I disassembled the mini again and removed the wifi-adapter. After reasambling it magically worked again. So I believed that I found a solution. The network settings were switched back to dhcp at this time. But after two hours I lost the connection again. Now everything is like before. When it was working the router led was blinking more than now.

    Andreas_Wolf,
    Quote:


    At your service:

    http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/Platforms/AROS_USB_support#USB_.E2.86.92_ethernet_convertor

    This list is for AROS but should be valid MorphOS as well, I think.


    Thank you very much for that, Andreas. I found a Belkin F5D5050 in the uk. And as it is working for boot_wb I ordered it. I am awaiting the delivery the next days. And I have ordered a USB-Ethernet-Adapter with Asix chipset. Just to make sure everything will work fine. I am addicted to MOS, just want to have the internet working. No matter what I have to do. ;-)

    ZOURIS,
    Quote:

    I found a workaround: go into BIOS, desactivate the network card, reboot. Then go to BIOS again reactivate the network card. For dell computers, I also have to uninstall the network driver by hand, and at second reboot time, the driver just reinstalls itself alone.


    ZOURIS I thank you so much. I had the same thing years ago with a windows computer. That workaround worked for me too, in these days. Until the ethernet port (it was onboard) past away. But as I understood until now there is no bios on the mac mini for disabling the port!?

    But now comes zukow:
    zukow,
    Quote:

    you could reset pram, check some OF docs


    Great, zukow. The pram reset is easy to do. And you can be sure that it worked when MOS says you are back in the 90s. But the ethernet port was not affected by that. Did it about 20 times up to now.

    OK guys, I am waiting for my usb-ethernet-adapters. I am sure that we will bring back my mini online with that. Thank you all so much. Great OS, great users!!! :-)
    Mac mini G4 Silent-Upgrade - MorphOS 3.2 registered
  • »06.11.12 - 18:04
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    ZOURIS
    Posts: 5 from 2012/10/31
    You're Welcome.

    Believe me or not, I just installed the latest mophos version yesterday (haven't fired up the macmini for a long time), then....no network, although there is some activity since the link is up.

    So I started to suspect a poor quality of the ethernet chip/connector.

    So I just have plugged an autoconfig switch to my router (an old netgear), then plugged to the macmini....nothing better.

    Then I configured a cisco switch to replace the netgear and....no problem so far.

    Maybe, if the signal is not powered enough the macmini just cannot make the link to work properly...and a cisco was a solution for me.

    Although it's far less exansive to add a network card than buy a cisco switch;) - That was just because I had that in stock;)

    If you had a chance to test the network with a good switch (don't buy one just to please me), I'll be interested to know if it solved the problem....taht may ba also a resistor who is in bad state, but that was funny to sudently have the exact same problem as you:!:!
  • »07.11.12 - 15:03
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    noob
    Posts: 24 from 2012/10/17
    From: germany
    ZOURIS,
    Quote:

    Believe me or not...

    I believe. ;-)

    I wish I had a cisco, too. Very nice that you had success! :-)

    Ok guys, the Belkin F5D5050 arrived. What have I to do to enable it?
    Mac mini G4 Silent-Upgrade - MorphOS 3.2 registered
  • »10.11.12 - 13:23
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    Hi Noob,

    Boot into MorphOS and go to USB settings (right click on desktop, Settings>System choose 'USB' in the preferences panel).
    In USB preferences choose 'classes' in the left hand pane.

    There should now be a list of USB classes available, with some buttons below.
    In the 'class library' field (above the buttons) enter MOSSYS:Classes/USB/ (if it isn't already present).
    Press the 'Dir scan' button.*

    In USB preferences choose 'devices' in the left hand pane.
    Plug in your USB ethernet dongle. It should now show up in 'Devices' and automatically bind to the correct class (Pegasus.class in this case).**

    Press 'Save' to exit the USB prefs and return to the main prefs panel.

    Now go to the Network settings. Assuming all went well, your USB ethernet dongle should now be available as 'Eth1', and can be configured in the same way outlined earlier in the thread.

    Please let us know how it goes.



    Rich

    * (This is the only time you should have to do this - all classes will be available from now on. I'm not sure why all classes aren't available by default to be honest).
    ** (although If you've forced a binding to a different class, this will need releasing before it will automatically bind to Pegasus.class.)

    [ Edited by boot_wb 10.11.2012 - 16:44 ]
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »10.11.12 - 14:15
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    noob
    Posts: 24 from 2012/10/17
    From: germany
    boot_wb,
    Quote:

    Please let us know how it goes.


    Thank you so much. I went step by step through your instructions. But I think I still have a configuration problem.

    Under devices I know have the "USB to LAN Converter". Bindings = pegasus class, but under class there is a question mark (white on blue).

    And when I doubleclick the device there is another information:

    Num = 0/0
    Name = interface 0
    Class = exclamation mark (whitw on red) (None)
    Sub = 0
    Proto = 0
    EPs = 3
    Binding = None

    Is this correct? I don't get a connection.

    btw: Is it correct that I can't even ping localhost (127.0.0.1) under MOS, as this is possible under windows??

    [ Editiert durch noob 10.11.2012 - 21:42 ]
    Mac mini G4 Silent-Upgrade - MorphOS 3.2 registered
  • »10.11.12 - 18:55
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    noob,
    Quote:


    Thank you so much. I went step by step through your instructions. But I think I still have a configuration problem.

    Under devices I know have the "USB to LAN Converter". Bindings = pegasus class, but under class there is a question mark (white on blue).

    And when I doubleclick the device there is another information:

    Num = 0/0
    Name = interface 0
    Class = exclamation mark (whitw on red) (None)
    Sub = 0
    Proto = 0
    EPs = 3
    Binding = None

    Is this correct? I don't get a connection.


    The same question mark & information is displayed on mine, but it is working ok.
    In the Network settings, you may want to disable eth0 (the sungem device) by unchecking the box.

    I would also recommend setting a static IP address for the eth1, at least whilst you get it working. It just rules out the possibility of DHCP being the problem.

    Quote:

    btw: Is it correct that I can't even ping localhost (127.0.0.1) under MOS, as this is possible under windows??



    No, that's weird. In Network settings, there should now be 3 entries: eth0 (sungem), eth1 (pegasus) and loopback (internal). Ensure that both eth1 and loopback are enabled (check the boxes).

    [ Edited by boot_wb 11.11.2012 - 01:27 ]
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »10.11.12 - 23:52
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    noob
    Posts: 24 from 2012/10/17
    From: germany
    boot_wb,
    Quote:

    No, that's weird. In Network settings, there should now be 3 entries: eth0 (sungem), eth1 (pegasus) and loopback (internal). Ensure that both eth1 and loopback are enabled (check the boxes).


    boot_wb you are such a nice person. What would I do without your help. :-P

    I slowly get the feeling that I am too stupid to handle MOS. I like this OS so much but it seems to me that you must be a specialist to handle it. There is something totally weird with my system.

    I overlooked the following post.
    caver99,
    Quote:

    on a pc download and burn ubuntu for mac and see if the network works on it as its free and only uses a cd.


    @caver99: I am sorry for overlooking it. Thank you very much.

    I tried this last night. And allthough I could not make the "Lubuntu" (I think this is the PowerPC Ubuntu?) LIVE CD boot properly something very interesting happened during my experiments.

    I looked into my router configuration:
    1. the mac mini was displayed as client (hostname: lubuntu) connected to the mac mini etthernet port.
    2. the mac mini was displayed as a client (hostname: lubuntu) connected to the Belkin

    Than I tried again with MOS Boot CD:
    1. connected to mac mini ethernet port -> no client dispayed in router configuration
    2. connected to Belkin -> no client displayed in router configuration

    The same happens with my installed MOS version.

    Strange things to happen:
    1. I can not ping localhost, allthough the loopback is enabled and localhost is defined in the host prefs.
    2. With the Belkin I tried both ways (dhcp and static ip) but the router does not notice any connection. I deactivated the sungem_eth.device.

    Oh man, feeling really stupid at this point and I don't know how to go on. Does anyone have an idea?
    Mac mini G4 Silent-Upgrade - MorphOS 3.2 registered
  • »11.11.12 - 11:27
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    noob
    Posts: 24 from 2012/10/17
    From: germany
    Hey Andreas, vielen lieben Dank!

    I tried version 12.04. Just downloading the 12.10. I hope this will work properly for me so that I can give you guys more information.
    Mac mini G4 Silent-Upgrade - MorphOS 3.2 registered
  • »11.11.12 - 12:05
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    noob,
    Quote:

    boot_wb,
    boot_wb you are such a nice person. What would I do without your help.

    I slowly get the feeling that I am too stupid to handle MOS. I like this OS so much but it seems to me that you must be a specialist to handle it. There is something totally weird with my system.


    So far my well-intentioned help has not solved the problem, unfortunately. :-)

    In nearly all cases, MorphOS works fine out-of-the-box, in which case you'd be happily enjoying your system with no specialist knowledge required.
    It really shouldn't require any level of expertise to use the system, but diagnosing and solving a problem online can be a bit of a task.

    Quote:

    I tried this last night. And allthough I could not make the "Lubuntu" (I think this is the PowerPC Ubuntu?) LIVE CD boot properly something very interesting happened during my experiments.

    I looked into my router configuration:
    1. the mac mini was displayed as client (hostname: lubuntu) connected to the mac mini etthernet port.
    2. the mac mini was displayed as a client (hostname: lubuntu) connected to the Belkin

    That shows at least that the hardware is working OK.

    Quote:

    Than I tried again with MOS Boot CD:
    1. connected to mac mini ethernet port -> no client dispayed in router configuration
    2. connected to Belkin -> no client displayed in router configuration



    I find with my router (Netgear) that the MorphOS machines show up as 'connnected devices', but the host names are not shown.
    Are you able to ping localhost when booting from the CD? (PS - forgot to ask, did you also try 'ping 127.0.0.1' as well as 'ping localhost'?)

    Quote:

    The same happens with my installed MOS version.

    Strange things to happen:
    1. I can not ping localhost, allthough the loopback is enabled and localhost is defined in the host prefs.
    2. With the Belkin I tried both ways (dhcp and static ip) but the router does not notice any connection. I deactivated the sungem_eth.device.

    Oh man, feeling really stupid at this point and I don't know how to go on. Does anyone have an idea?

    At this point, I would suggest:
    1) Forget about the Belkin and concentrate testing using the built-in ethernet port (just to keep things simple since it's obviously not a hardware problem).
    2) Test using either the MorphOS boot CD, or on a fresh installation (just to rule out any configuration problem).

    One other thought: do you have access to another router just to rule out the possibility of something weird going on with that particular model?
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »11.11.12 - 12:33
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    noob
    Posts: 24 from 2012/10/17
    From: germany
    Total despair @ this point. :-(

    I have tried to boot the Lubuntu Live CD v12.10 without luck (same problems as with v12.04).

    Then I tried to reinstall MOS. The installation is in progress for hours and I get error messages (can't access volume)! Oh god, what a mess!!!

    I see to possible reasons. Drive defective? Controller defective? And maybe this is the answer to all questions (including network)...

    Or the hole mac mini is defective???

    Installation finished. System crashes starting owb. End of dreams.

    btw: The ethernet port is working. Right now I am using the modified download fonts owb script and the connection works. LOL

    [ Editiert durch noob 11.11.2012 - 18:52 ]
    Mac mini G4 Silent-Upgrade - MorphOS 3.2 registered
  • »11.11.12 - 16:34
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    Installation should normally take around 5-10 minutes, so something is going wrong there.

    One thought: How big are your partitions? (especially system partition)
    If larger than 128GB, then there are limitations as to which filesystems can be used.



    [ Edited by boot_wb 11.11.2012 - 18:16 ]
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »11.11.12 - 17:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    SKOLMAN_MWS
    Posts: 107 from 2006/10/24
    @noob

    Me internet works only up to MorphOS 2.7

    http://www.morphos-team.net/morphos-2.7.iso

    Internet on MorphOS 3.0 and 3.1 does not work.

    Efika and Mac mini.
    _
  • »12.11.12 - 06:35
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    nemesiswar
    Posts: 37 from 2012/11/12
    Hi (First post)
    Im having a similar problem that my network connection dosent work either... well sometimes it does?
    When i received my Mac mini 2 weeks ago and installed MorphOS it didnt work but 3 days later it worked (Slow internet) now this week it havent worked again.
    The thing is my wife had a simillar problem awhile back with her macbook (White late 209) the network worked fine on hers tho but the internet connection didnt work every other day but somehow it fixed itself.

    EDIT: Today its working who knows about tomorrow?

    [ Edited by nemesiswar 13.11.2012 - 17:00 ]
    Power Mac G5 2,0 Ghz registred
    IBook G4 1,2 Ghz registered
    Mac mini G4 1,5 Ghz unregistred
    Power Mac G5 Quad awaiting support
  • »12.11.12 - 17:16
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    noob
    Posts: 24 from 2012/10/17
    From: germany
    Hey guys,

    my mac mini is working again flawlessly!

    It was the HARDDISK! I am so happy!

    Thank you all so much!!!

    :-)
    Mac mini G4 Silent-Upgrade - MorphOS 3.2 registered
  • »21.11.12 - 17:32
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    boot_wb
    Posts: 874 from 2007/4/9
    From: Kingston upon ...
    Great news! Glad you found the root of the problems. :pint:
    www.hullchimneyservices.co.uk

    UI: Powerbook 5,6 (1.67GHz, 128MB VRam): OS3.1, OSX 10.5.8
    HTPC: Mac Mini G4 (1,5GHz, 64MB VRam): OS3.1 (ZVNC)
    Audiophile: Efika 5200b (SB Audigy): OS3.1 (VNC + Virtual Monitor)

    Windows free since 2011!
  • »21.11.12 - 17:41
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    noob
    Posts: 24 from 2012/10/17
    From: germany
    Hey boot_wb,

    I never thought that the ethernet problems could result from a defective harddisk!? Even my Netgear WINCE2001 wireless adapter is working now.

    I hope there will be no further hardware problems. Can't live without MOS anymore...
    Mac mini G4 Silent-Upgrade - MorphOS 3.2 registered
  • »21.11.12 - 18:07
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 20 from 2017/3/16
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > The Belkin one uses the pegasus chipset [...]. I believe there are other chipsets
    > supported (Davicom, ASIX, Moschip MCS7830, possibly others through ethwrap)
    > but I don't have a list of supported makes/models (perhaps Andreas_Wolf will
    > be kind enough to supply a link.

    At your service:

    http://en.wikibooks.org/wiki/Aros/Platforms/AROS_USB_support#USB_.E2.86.92_ethernet_convertor


    This list is for AROS but should be valid for MorphOS as well, I think.


    ---

    Thank you for your suggestions. I guess that the chipset on my wlan usb dongle is not supported. They sent me a minidisc with the dongle, with appropriate drivers for windows, but I don't see how to coax morphos into using the driver.
  • »19.04.17 - 01:17
    Profile