Opus 5
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    DoctorMorbius_FP
    Posts: 315 from 2004/2/14
    From: Naples - Italy
    Quote:

    kas1e wrote:
    @All

    And there is those morphos only bugs about which i say (and on which i point our itix few times already);

    https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/bugs/1/
    https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/bugs/2/
    https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/bugs/11/

    And that one maybe easy maybe not:

    https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/bugs/34/


    So, once those 4 bugs will be fixed, mos version (probably) will be ready.

    In meantime, everyone can help us with this way:

    - go on dopus5.org
    - download http://dopus5.org/downloads/nightly/Dopus5_92_dev_mos_debug.lha
    - unpack it, and try to run (from icon, from shell, etc, any way) and use it.
    - any bugs you found report here https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/bugs/ , or , here, i will repost them to bug-repo page.

    Also, you may try to download os3 version: http://dopus5.org/downloads/nightly/Dopus5_92_dev_os3_debug.lha , and alos try it on morphos.




    Well, I downloaded Dopus5_92_dev_mos_debug.lha (Build date: 20.09.2015) and tested it.

    #https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/bugs/1/
    morphos: filetype.module crashes

    OK. It seems that the fyletype module now works correctly.

    https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/bugs/11/
    #11 morphos: crash in configopus.module when in "Settings/Environment" you choice Palette

    OK. I'm able to use Palette.

    https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/bugs/34/
    #34 morphos: when running dopus5 from shell then "mixer" binary automatically runs too.

    OK. The "mixer" program does not appear.

    https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/bugs/2/
    #2 morphos: ftp.module didn't works at all


    NO! The FTP module still does not work. When I open the default FTP button bank, the "Address Book" and "Connect" button do not react to mouse clicks. Only the "Edit config" button works. Furthermore, if I try to edit the button bank and select a button, MorphOS "Log server" window opens and signals:
       Type   !
       Name   dopus_button_editor
       Category   LineF
    And of course the editing locks up.

    -----

    Let me signal a "forever" standing bug in all DOpus Amiga versions, that was corrected in DOpus 6 (PC version) and following. When one copies all the contents of a directory tree, file dates are cloned, but directory dates are the current creation dates. Several years ago I wrote an ARexx routine that runs just after the copy is ended and clones all the original directory dates, so for me the problem is solved. Anyway, inserting something similar in DOpus "copy" code would be fine...
    Powered by PegasosII-G4, MacMini, PowerMac MDD.
  • »21.09.15 - 00:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    kas1e
    Posts: 46 from 2005/10/31
    @DoctorMorbius_FP
    Is there any other problems arise except of ftp.module ? I mean, all other parts works as expected now ? (i can't test myself mos version at moment).

    As for copy bug, if you can and have time for , plz, signup on SF, and report all bugs and feature requests here:

    bugs: https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/bugs/?source=navbar
    feature requests: https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/featurerequests/?source=navbar

    Of course i can (and will) report it mysel there, but will be better if you can do that directly.

    @Ikka
    Btw, there is also another necessary moment with morphos version : ambient's icons looks as "PNG" images, and not like real icons. As well as os4 icons didn't shows correctly too. I made a feature request about it there year ago: https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/featurerequests/19/

    On os4 and aros BSZili add USE_DRAWICONSTATE flag to the makefiles, which enable necessary additional code to make new icons works, but when i do the same for morphos, i have no luck: os4 icons still looks wrong (while on os4/aros same icons with USE_DRAWICONTATE looks ok), and png ones still shows as png. Probably, can be also fixed more or less easy to make USE_DRAWICONSTATE code work. Or maybe need add some png-related code in, or maybe morphos version should be suppled with some png plugin or something.. Check plz https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/featurerequests/19/ for more details and screenshots.

    [ Edited by kas1e 21.09.2015 - 09:03 ]
  • »21.09.15 - 09:57
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1514 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    I try to look at ftp.module today.

    USE_DRAWICONSTATE is probably using H&P icon.library extensions? They are not supported in MorphOS and if you are using 3.5/3.9 it does not know about PNG or OS4 icons.

    I can add PNG and OS4 icon support to DOpus5 using z.library. I have to look where and how it can be added... this would make it possible use those icons in OS3 builds, too. It seems there is zlib.library available... or just link against zlib. But I will see what I can do about it.
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »21.09.15 - 15:29
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    kas1e
    Posts: 46 from 2005/10/31
    @Itix
    Quote:


    USE_DRAWICONSTATE is probably using H&P icon.library extensions?



    I do not know to be honest. BSzili added that code to make os4 and aros native icons works, it is used only in one file in the programm itself: Program/backdrop_render.c and in 2 modules where also icons can be shown: configopus/filetype_editor.c and icon/icon.c and code itself small enough.


    Quote:


    I can add PNG and OS4 icon support to DOpus5 using z.library. I have to look where and how it can be added... this would make it possible use those icons in OS3 builds, too. It seems there is zlib.library available... or just link against zlib. But I will see what I can do about it.



    Probably will be best to link agaist zlib (later we can make short version of zlib, with only necessary functions, so to reduce size of additional code on linking), to avoid any 3d party deps. And add it for begining for morphos only , via #ifdef __MORPHOS__ , so if it will works, we can later reuse it for everything else. Maybe also make it like -DUSE_ZLIB_FOR_ICONS or something.

    And probably places where that need to be added the same where we have ifdefs for USE_DRAWICONSTATE for now


    [ Edited by kas1e 22.09.2015 - 08:47 ]
  • »22.09.15 - 09:42
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    kas1e
    Posts: 46 from 2005/10/31
    dbl post

    [ Edited by kas1e 22.09.2015 - 11:30 ]
  • »22.09.15 - 12:23
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    kas1e
    Posts: 46 from 2005/10/31
    @ikka
    And btw, you also broke os4 builds with last commits:

    Quote:


    filetype.c:40:2: warning: #warning Should not be here - Disabled - Remove eventually.
    filetype.c:92:2: warning: #warning this should be replaced with SimpleRequest
    filetype.c: In function <˜finder_build_cache>:
    filetype.c:1147: error: <˜callbase> undeclared (first use in this function)
    filetype.c:1147: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
    filetype.c:1147: error: for each function it appears in.)
    filetype.c: In function <˜finder>:
    filetype.c:1280: error: <callbase> undeclared (first use in this function)
    filetype.c: In function <˜creator>:
    filetype.c:2805: error: <˜callbase> undeclared (first use in this function)
    make[2]: *** [filetype.o] Error 1
    make[1]: *** [filetype] Error 2
    make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/dopus5/trunk/source/Modules'




    It is "fixed morphos crosscalls" in the rev 1104, where you add REFCALL everywhere.

    Probably same problem will be with rev1105 where few REFCALLs added in ftp.module.

    [ Edited by kas1e 22.09.2015 - 11:28 ]
  • »22.09.15 - 12:24
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1514 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    Okay I check it today.

    Yesteday I looked at icon stuff and there is no easy way to load PNG icons internally. I maybe can get it working in MorphOS using standard icon.library but OS3 support would require rewriting some icon handling code...
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »22.09.15 - 14:49
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    kas1e
    Posts: 46 from 2005/10/31
    @Itix
    Imho will be enough for now to make it works for morphos, and if it will be just icon.library that will be even better (no 3d party deps). Later someone else always may add necessary code for os3.
  • »22.09.15 - 15:46
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1514 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    I fixed OS4 build but I dont know if this fix breaks something else... the macro looks odd. If you look at my commit you see what I changed there.

    I have got PNG icons working in DOpus5. Filetype editor was not fixed yet and at the moment I have no plans to fix it any further.
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »22.09.15 - 20:06
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    kas1e
    Posts: 46 from 2005/10/31
    @Ikka
    Forced rebuild of nightlys on rev.1112, and seems all is ok (at least os4 version builds fine again), as well as morphos,aros and os3 versions. Can't test myself through if os4 build works now after REFCALL change , and how morphos version show png icons, but probabaly all should be ok :) Will that code shows aos4 icons as well ? Or we can just mixx DRAWICONSTATE and new png-code to see them on mos ?

    Quote:


    Filetype editor was not fixed yet



    You mean icons in the filetype editor window ? If so, i can later add same kind of code later. Not big deal.

    Latest thing probably are fixing of ftp bugs about which said above and mos version is ready ?:)

    [ Edited by kas1e 22.09.2015 - 19:56 ]
  • »22.09.15 - 20:54
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1514 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    It only supports PNG icons. I am using some undocumented parts of Ambient to get PNG bitmap from icons and it is no way clean method. I should write custom icon loader... maybe I do that, maybe I dont :)

    I found a bug from ftp.module. There was a bug in ARexx handling what fixed crash in MorphOS but I still could not get that thing to connect. It doesnt crash here anymore, though.
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »22.09.15 - 21:15
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    DoctorMorbius_FP
    Posts: 315 from 2004/2/14
    From: Naples - Italy
    Quote:

    kas1e wrote:
    @DoctorMorbius_FP
    Is there any other problems arise except of ftp.module ? I mean, all other parts works as expected now ? (i can't test myself mos version at moment).


    Unfortunately now I have not enough free time for a deep check. Anyway DOpus 5.92 [MorphOS version] worked fine in my initial tests (except the FTP module), so I was encouraged and adopted it for everyday use: I will report bugs as soon as I encounter them.

    Quote:

    kas1e wrote:
    As for copy bug, if you can and have time for , plz, signup on SF, and report all bugs and feature requests here:

    bugs: https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/bugs/?source=navbar
    feature requests: https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/featurerequests/?source=navbar

    Of course i can (and will) report it mysel there, but will be better if you can do that directly.


    As I said above I have few time now, but next week I will try to do such a report.

    Quote:

    itix wrote:
    It only supports PNG icons. I am using some undocumented parts of Ambient to get PNG bitmap from icons and it is no way clean method. I should write custom icon loader... maybe I do that, maybe I dont :)

    I found a bug from ftp.module. There was a bug in ARexx handling what fixed crash in MorphOS but I still could not get that thing to connect. It doesnt crash here anymore, though.


    Icons
    Wow! MorphOS PNG icons can be seen in Dopus5_92_dev_mos_debug.lha (Build date: 22.09.2015). However this is true only for disk icons, other icons are still displayed as 4-color icons (iconified DOpus listers, YAM icon, and others) or as the usual standard "PNG" images (OWB, ImageFX loader, and others) just like they were displayed by the original DOpus 5.82.

    FTP
    Yes, it does not crashes and partially operates now. I can open the Address Book, by I'm still unable to connect: pressing the "Connect" button has no effect either in the "FTP Buttons" bank or in the "Address Book" window.

    Filetypes
    I imported my entire filetype collection from DOpus 5.82 and all those custom filetypes work fine without changes. I have not tested yet the filetype editor.

    -----

    @itix
    You are doing a great job! Thank you very much.


    [ Edited by DoctorMorbius_FP 23.09.2015 - 14:25 ]
    Powered by PegasosII-G4, MacMini, PowerMac MDD.
  • »23.09.15 - 14:19
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1514 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    I admit I only checked that drive icons appear correctly and didnt care to check any further ;) I try to locate this code today. Problem is not how they are displayed but how they are loaded...

    The connect button in addressbook actually does something, I can see it from logs, but I dont understand why it gets nowhere. Unfortunately I dont have much motivation to inspect this.
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »23.09.15 - 15:32
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1514 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    Hmm... it works here. I cant upload screenshot anywhere but I get all PNG icons displayed here. It looks very weird, though :)

    Oh, one thing. I found out that clicking drive icons do nothing. I get a requester to enter command arguments.

    FYI: icon.module is buggy and crashes with PNG icons. Fixed today.

    [ Edited by itix 23.09.2015 - 18:58 ]
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »23.09.15 - 17:38
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    kas1e
    Posts: 46 from 2005/10/31
    @Ikka
    Quote:


    The connect button in addressbook actually does something, I can see it from logs, but I dont understand why it gets nowhere. Unfortunately I dont have much motivation to inspect this.



    You can do it ! :) Just one bug to go for making morphos releases :)
  • »23.09.15 - 19:42
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1514 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    Unfortunately I have no idea why it hangs. There is no crash, it just goes nowhere. It would be so much easier to debug if it crashed :-)
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »23.09.15 - 21:01
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    kas1e
    Posts: 46 from 2005/10/31
    @ikka
    Maybe old good bunch of printfs around all functions in connections code parts?
  • »23.09.15 - 21:32
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    DoctorMorbius_FP
    Posts: 315 from 2004/2/14
    From: Naples - Italy
    @kas1e and @itix

    Found another bug in Dopus5_92_dev_mos_debug.lha (Build date: 28.09.2015).

    Button Bank Editor
    When this option is selected (right clicking on the border of any button bank, then choosing "Edit"), the main window of the "Button Bank Editor" shows up regularly, then when I click on a button of the button bank to edit its functions, the "Button Editor" window opens but is locked.

    At the same time the "Log Server" of MorphOS opens its window and the usual line appears:
       Type   !
       Name   dopus_button_editor
       Category   LineF

    After closing the "Log Server" window I see that [1] DOpus listers and menus are still
    working; [2] the gadgets in the "Button Bank Editor" window seem to work (but
    the window does not close by clicking on "Save" or "Use" or "Cancel"); [3] the
    "Button Editor" window is still locked and can't be closed.


    [ Edited by DoctorMorbius_FP 28.09.2015 - 20:44 ]
    Powered by PegasosII-G4, MacMini, PowerMac MDD.
  • »28.09.15 - 20:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    kas1e
    Posts: 46 from 2005/10/31
    @DoctorMorbius
    I create a bug report about copy-bug you mention, and maybe i explain it wrong, and not how you mean it, but xenic just answer is it not a bug, but feature of amigados, to quote:

    Quote:


    That's not a Dopus bug, it's an AmigaDOS feature. Whenever a file is added, removed or changed in a directory, the directory date is set to the date of the latest change. If you change any files in a directory that have had the dates set by your ARexx script, the directory date will be changed by AmigaDOS anyway.



    If you want to discuss it futher: https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/bugs/56/
  • »14.10.15 - 13:55
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    DoctorMorbius_FP
    Posts: 315 from 2004/2/14
    From: Naples - Italy
    Quote:

    kas1e wrote:
    @DoctorMorbius
    I create a bug report about copy-bug you mention, and maybe i explain it wrong, and not how you mean it, but xenic just answer is it not a bug, but feature of amigados, to quote:
    ...
    If you want to discuss it futher: https://sourceforge.net/p/dopus5allamigas/bugs/56/


    xenic misunderstood what I asked for...
    So I posted on sourceforge a more detailed explanation of the problem.


    [ Edited by DoctorMorbius_FP 14.10.2015 - 21:55 ]
    Powered by PegasosII-G4, MacMini, PowerMac MDD.
  • »14.10.15 - 21:54
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    kas1e
    Posts: 46 from 2005/10/31
    @DoctorMorbius_FP
    Xenic probably add what you ask for: when new opion - Environment/Copy Settings/DateStamp is set, then Dopus5 will copy directory dates in addition to file dates. Check plz latest build, and if everything ok, we can close that BZ.

    [ Edited by kas1e 16.11.2015 - 14:28 ]
  • »16.11.15 - 14:26
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    kas1e
    Posts: 46 from 2005/10/31
    @All
    Is anyone there willing to test latest morphos build of dopus5_92 ? Want to make another release, and this time with native morphos version as Ikka seems fix few years ago all morphos bugs. Through i not sure about ftp.module in morphos version if was fixed till end.

    Anyway, if anyone have time/interest, plz, check this out:
    http://dopus5.amigaworld.de/downloads/nightly/Dopus5_92_dev_mos_debug.lha

    And report bugs you find, thanks !
  • »07.05.19 - 16:57
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1496 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    FTP module still crashes... I tried to replace it with the original 68k one, but didn't help. Here's a log anyway: ftp.txt

    With a quick test there seems to be a bunch of problems with icons at least.

    - Only PNG icons seem to work, but even original Amiga icons fail now (original icon format, newicons, and glowicons all fail to show up), not to talk about newer icons MorphOS has... new iconless default icons and SVG icons fail too.
    - There is no placeholder icon for the icons that fail, you don't get anything but emptiness where the icons should be.
    - Selected icons get an ugly blue rectangle over them.
    - Icons seem to overlap each other even though they're not snapshotted.
    - The last but not the least... if you try to save icon information for these non working icons (if you have edited tooltypes, or just try to resave), icons get broken! They get noticeably smaller by filesize and don't work anymore in Ambient or in the old DOpus either.

    Here's a screenshot showing the situation: Screen01.png

    For comparison, here's a snapshot from the original DOpus 5.82: Screen03.png
    There the non supported icons get the placeholder icon, icons don't overlap each other, and original Amiga icons do work.

    And one other thing, which is also issue on the original DOpus, but which would be nice to get fixed. If you don't have backdropped main window, it doesn't refresh it properly. It mostly disappears if you try to resize it, or if you move a window over it, it erases the window borders. Here's a screenshot: Screen02.png
  • »09.05.19 - 17:09
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 558 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    I'm guessing the icon issue is not easily fixable. AFAIR, DOpus expects data from icon.library in a format different to that which MorphOS icon.library supplies.

    Probably what will have to be done (if it hasn't already), is something like removing all icon.library calls and replacing with code to manually decode PNG, newicon, Amiga icons and glow icons and pass them in a format that DOpus is compatible with.

    Or, probably a lot more work, to completely re-write DOpus icon handling so it can handle whatever MorphOS icon.library is throwing at it.

    Been a really, really long time since I talked to MorphOS devs about DOpus so my knowledge may be very out of date.
  • »09.05.19 - 20:17
    Profile