TORCS for MorphOS? Open Source Racing game
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Derringer
    Posts: 103 from 2008/8/4
    From: Budapest, Hung...
    +1 too
    MorphOS PowerBook G4 1,67GHz, 2GB Ram, 250GBHdd, ATI 9700/128MB
    Morphos G5 2,7GHz, 8GB Ram, 500GB Hdd, ATi Passive cooled 9800 PRO/128MB
  • »04.04.13 - 19:56
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 446 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    I think this settles the question ;-)
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »05.04.13 - 06:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    waldiamiga
    Posts: 52 from 2007/7/25
    From: Krakow, Poland
    I changed my mind. I would have played in DooM 3 :D

    MorphOS.pl
    PowerBook G4 1.67GHz|2GB DDR2|ATI Radeon 9700M 128MB|SSD 80GB|TFT 17"|MorphOS 3.10
    Core i7 Notebook|WinUAE 3.x/AmigaOS4.1x & Icaros Desktop 2.x
  • »06.04.13 - 15:29
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 446 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    Sure, if the R300 driver gets a shader compiler, and someone donates me a G5 machine :-P
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »06.04.13 - 17:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 446 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    I have uploaded a test version of Speed Dreams: http://bszili.morphos.me/speeddreams.html
    It has more detailed tracks and cars than TORCS, so don't really expect it to be very playable on a Mac Mini. A PowerBook will be a much more viable platform once the R300 driver is ready.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »09.04.13 - 19:06
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    pampers
    Posts: 1053 from 2009/2/26
    From: Tczew, Poland
    No joy in here (with data from windows version or from your site): 00:00:00.006 Error Could not start Speed Dreams : at least 1 of local/data/lib/bin dir is empty

    [ Edited by pampers 09.04.2013 - 23:33 ]
    MorphOS 3.x
  • »09.04.13 - 22:31
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 446 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    Just create an empty subdirectory called "lib". The libraries are statically linked, but the game still checks for the directory... darn! :-D

    edit: The above procedure is no longer necessary with the latest version. It'll create the directory if it doesn't exist.

    [ Edited by BSzili 10.04.2013 - 18:41 ]
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »09.04.13 - 22:42
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 446 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    I uploaded non-debug executables for both TORCS and Speed Dreams. These should be a bit faster, and much smaller. Please test them, and report any bugs you find. There aren't much work left with these ports.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »12.04.13 - 12:35
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    cip060
    Posts: 25 from 2010/7/30
    On my macmini 1:42 32 Vram and 512 megs of ram and the graphics clicks and 'very corrupt as ever?
    it takes 1 gig of ram and 64 megs of VRAM to make it go?
  • »13.04.13 - 12:31
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 446 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    Reduce the texture resolution in Options/OpenGL to 256.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »13.04.13 - 13:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 446 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    I forgot to disable the built-in profiler in the first release candidate. This resulted in some slowdown, due to the extra function calls in the main loop. It's recommended to download the latest version from TORCS and Speed Dreams.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »13.04.13 - 17:25
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    cip060
    Posts: 25 from 2010/7/30
    You can not change 2048 to put 256 no movement in the options; :-(
  • »13.04.13 - 18:08
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 446 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    This is odd... As a stopgap solution, you can open config/graph.xml in a text editor, and change the value of user texture sizelimit at the bottom. Does this bug happen in other parts of the menu, or just the texture size?
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »13.04.13 - 18:48
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    cip060
    Posts: 25 from 2010/7/30
    Hand putting 256 works OK!
    on certain features or hand shift with editor otherwise you activate the options
  • »13.04.13 - 19:00
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 446 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    I uploaded the final versions of TORCS and Speed Dreams to my website. The only difference from the last RC is the support of Xbox 360 controllers.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »30.05.13 - 14:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9745 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I don't found new version of SpeedDream :-(

    It's the last item under "Downloads" there:

    http://bszili.morphos.me/speeddreams.html
  • »30.05.13 - 17:16
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    weiseb
    Posts: 210 from 2003/3/29
    @BSzili
    I know "Return to the Roots" is next. But you did some AROS ports where I would love to see a Morphos Version as well. Like Frogatto or Freeciv 2.x. What do you think about that?
  • »30.05.13 - 18:20
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 446 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    @weiseb: A freeciv 2.x port should be trivial, I might do it as a bonus, if the bounty money exceeds €111 EUR :) Frogatto is a bit more difficult. In a nutshell, it has two modes of operation: one is slow as hell, the other consumes a lot of VRAM :P I'm not saying it's impossible, but it would require a lot of work, worthy of another bounty.

    @all: A neat bug slipped into my Speed Dreams release. Make sure to download the hq cars and tracks package, or the game will crash. I'd recommend getting them anyway, because the base data package only has one track, and a couple cars.
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »30.05.13 - 20:36
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    weiseb
    Posts: 210 from 2003/3/29
    @BSzili

    At least the Return to the Roots bounty is reached now :)

    Glad to hear you consider porting frogatto.
    I would chip in with a few bucks on that as well.
  • »01.06.13 - 07:59
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1723 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    I would chip in for a Frogatto port. I like that game (on AROS)!
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »13.07.13 - 17:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    defender
    Posts: 234 from 2011/4/24
    I took a google look at frogatto - it reminds me of Super Frog. If that is right i would gladly throw some Euros in for a bounty! :-o
    (It would be nice if it runs on my Powerbook)
    PowerMac 3.6 - Radeon 9000_64Mb - 1,5Gb Ram - SB Live - MorphOS 3.9
    CD32 - PowerBook 1,67GHz 1GB/100GB - MorphOS 3 reg. 1455
  • »13.07.13 - 19:06
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 446 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    The PowerBook sounds like a reasonable target. Actually a silent upgrade Mac Mini should be enough to run it too. The key thing is the VRAM here, because there's no way in hell I can get it to work with less than 64 Meg :-D
    I see the jimmies have been rustled.
  • »13.07.13 - 20:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1723 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    My have a R9600 with 128 meg VRAM så I'd be glad to test it. And later play it :-D
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »13.07.13 - 23:26
    Profile Visit Website