Earth 2140
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Charvel
    Posts: 97 from 2007/2/15
    Hi I cant get Earth 2140 to run on my Pegasos 1.
    It complains about "sound initialization error. Channels in use?"
    Anyone got this game to run under MorphOS?
  • »03.04.08 - 12:53
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 620 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    Have you http://aminet.net/driver/audio/eaudio.device.lha installed ?
  • »03.04.08 - 13:15
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Charvel
    Posts: 97 from 2007/2/15
    Thanks! That solved the soundpart =)

    Now it is complaining about screenmode.
    "Unable to open a usable 640x480x64 screenmode."
    "the availible 640x480x16 screenmode are not in bigendian RGB16 pixelformat".

    Anyone have a clue?
  • »03.04.08 - 13:46
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Charvel
    Posts: 97 from 2007/2/15
    Aha, thanks!
    i will try that.
  • »03.04.08 - 16:43
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Charvel
    Posts: 97 from 2007/2/15
    I give up......
    i belive I have searched through the whole web for the patch.
    it doesnt exist on pagans homepage anymore.

    If anyone got it....pleeease email it to me =)
    Charvel@home.se

    //Peter
  • »04.04.08 - 05:32
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11717 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > it was available by requesting it with e-mail from authors.

    Sure? I think it was (is?) available by requesting it via email from the publisher (epic, now RuneSoft).

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=998&forum=3#7111
    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=1048&forum=10#7465
  • »04.04.08 - 22:57
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Charvel
    Posts: 97 from 2007/2/15
    Got it!
    Now it runs :)
  • »05.04.08 - 10:26
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cego
    Posts: 671 from 2006/5/28
    From: Germany
    Earth 2140 crashes on my PowerBook G4. That happened also a few years ago on my old machine. The strange thing is, it happens when i'm moving water units.
    Pegasos II G4 @1.0GHz, 1GB DDR Ram, Radeon 9200Pro, 160GB+500GB HD, MorphOS 3.13, AmigaOS4.1 FE, MacOS X Panther 10.3.9, Debian 8
  • »30.03.15 - 18:28
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    eliot
    Posts: 560 from 2004/4/15
    Quote:

    Charvel wrote:
    Aha, thanks!
    i will try that.



    Where do get it from?
    I am also interested in running Earth on MorphOs.
    regards
    eliot
  • »31.03.15 - 06:09
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 703 from 2011/11/30
    Cego, which army's side are you playing with and in which level does the crash occur?
    I 've installed it and tried only some of the first few stages which are fine on a PMAC G$ with 9800Pro.
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »31.03.15 - 17:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cego
    Posts: 671 from 2006/5/28
    From: Germany
    it happend at mission 7 with the brown army. i also remember that it also happened with the blue side in mission 6 or 7 a few years back.
    Pegasos II G4 @1.0GHz, 1GB DDR Ram, Radeon 9200Pro, 160GB+500GB HD, MorphOS 3.13, AmigaOS4.1 FE, MacOS X Panther 10.3.9, Debian 8
  • »31.03.15 - 17:29
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cego
    Posts: 671 from 2006/5/28
    From: Germany
    okay, it seems that this error only occurs with the 68k version of earth. i've been playing the ppc version and there were no crashes at all.
    Pegasos II G4 @1.0GHz, 1GB DDR Ram, Radeon 9200Pro, 160GB+500GB HD, MorphOS 3.13, AmigaOS4.1 FE, MacOS X Panther 10.3.9, Debian 8
  • »01.04.15 - 19:01
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Zetec-s
    Posts: 188 from 2008/7/10
    From: Cheshire, UK
    Sorry to dig up an old thread but does anyone know where I can get or have they the AHI patch for this?

    I have a boxed copy of the original Amiga conversion, which I've had for years but never actually ever used.

    Are Runesoft even still in business? The last news on their website is from 2019.
    PowerMac G5 Quad 2.5Ghz/2GB MorphOS 3.17 Registered
    Powerbook 1.67Ghz/1.5GB MorphOS 3.17 Registered
    MacMini 1.5Ghz/1GB MorphOS 3.17 Registered
    Efika 5200B 400Mhz/128MB MorphOS 2.3 Registered
  • »20.01.22 - 23:19
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    NewSense
    Posts: 1283 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    Is this the file you are trying to locate? Earth 2140 WarpOS/PPC/CDDA patch
    MacMini 1.5GHz,64MB VRAM, PowerBooks A1138/9 (Model 5,8/9),PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP), iMac A1145 2.1GHz 20", all with MorphOS v3.17,Airport,Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL,MiniMax,Firewire/USB2 & MacOSX 10.4/5.
  • »20.01.22 - 23:53
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Zetec-s
    Posts: 188 from 2008/7/10
    From: Cheshire, UK
    Quote:

    NewSense wrote:
    Is this the file you are trying to locate? Earth 2140 WarpOS/PPC/CDDA patch


    Thanks but afraid not. The one which I’m looking for patches the sound to AHI.
    PowerMac G5 Quad 2.5Ghz/2GB MorphOS 3.17 Registered
    Powerbook 1.67Ghz/1.5GB MorphOS 3.17 Registered
    MacMini 1.5Ghz/1GB MorphOS 3.17 Registered
    Efika 5200B 400Mhz/128MB MorphOS 2.3 Registered
  • »21.01.22 - 07:46
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 833 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    Quote:

    Zetec-s wrote:
    Sorry to dig up an old thread but does anyone know where I can get or have they the AHI patch for this?

    I have a boxed copy of the original Amiga conversion, which I've had for years but never actually ever used.

    Are Runesoft even still in business? The last news on their website is from 2019.


    It was Epic Interactive who did the Amiga port. They still exist and are now Topware, but it's exceptionally unlikely they'll know anything any more.

    The AHI patch to get the game to run on MorphOS was never official anywhere. I last saw the exe being passed around on IRC. I don't have it any more, unfortunately - it was almost 20 years ago.

    Your best bet is that someone who has it on their HD spots this and sends it to you, or even puts it up online for everyone.
  • »22.01.22 - 22:00
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Zetec-s
    Posts: 188 from 2008/7/10
    From: Cheshire, UK
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:


    Actually, some nice guy just found it for me. Enjoy.
    http://www.ementec.de/software/E2140ahi.lha

    (It came from here so is legit.)


    Thank you, really appreciated.
    PowerMac G5 Quad 2.5Ghz/2GB MorphOS 3.17 Registered
    Powerbook 1.67Ghz/1.5GB MorphOS 3.17 Registered
    MacMini 1.5Ghz/1GB MorphOS 3.17 Registered
    Efika 5200B 400Mhz/128MB MorphOS 2.3 Registered
  • »22.01.22 - 23:52
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    emeck
    Posts: 157 from 2014/7/15
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:


    Actually, some nice guy just found it for me. Enjoy.
    http://www.ementec.de/software/E2140ahi.lha

    (It came from here so is legit.)


    What is this for? I have a working Earth with the aminet patch and it works (HDD installation and ISO mounted).

    Launching this exe gives me a black screen and nothing more.
    PowerBook 5.2 MorphOS 3.15
    PowerBook 5.8 MorphOS 3.15
    Amiga 1200 BPPC/BVision AOS4.1 FE
  • »23.01.22 - 07:50
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 833 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    Quote:

    emeck wrote:
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:


    Actually, some nice guy just found it for me. Enjoy.
    http://www.ementec.de/software/E2140ahi.lha

    (It came from here so is legit.)


    What is this for? I have a working Earth with the aminet patch and it works (HDD installation and ISO mounted).

    Launching this exe gives me a black screen and nothing more.


    It's the 68k AHI build. Back in the day, this is the only way I could get the game to run on MorphOS/Pegasos, though it does mention in the thread that there's an incompatibility with the videos which might require files to be renamed.

    It isn't meant for OS4, if that's what you're trying it on.

    [ Edited by KennyR 23.01.2022 - 09:42 ]
  • »23.01.22 - 09:41
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    emeck
    Posts: 157 from 2014/7/15
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:

    It's the 68k AHI build. Back in the day, this is the only way I could get the game to run on MorphOS/Pegasos, though it does mention in the thread that there's an incompatibility with the videos which might require files to be renamed.

    It isn't meant for OS4, if that's what you're trying it on.

    No, runs on my PowerBook 5,8 and MOS 3.15, and it was the same on my PB5,2 with older versions of MOS. Don't remember needing the AHI patched exec.

    Maybe it was for older MOS versions before I got my first MOS system?
    PowerBook 5.2 MorphOS 3.15
    PowerBook 5.8 MorphOS 3.15
    Amiga 1200 BPPC/BVision AOS4.1 FE
  • »23.01.22 - 10:56
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 833 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    Quote:

    emeck wrote:
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:

    It's the 68k AHI build. Back in the day, this is the only way I could get the game to run on MorphOS/Pegasos, though it does mention in the thread that there's an incompatibility with the videos which might require files to be renamed.

    It isn't meant for OS4, if that's what you're trying it on.

    No, runs on my PowerBook 5,8 and MOS 3.15, and it was the same on my PB5,2 with older versions of MOS. Don't remember needing the AHI patched exec.

    Maybe it was for older MOS versions before I got my first MOS system?


    Maybe, but I think it's more likely that it was patched again at a later date. This AHI version is from 2003 - check the version on your exe.

    As far as I remember, original CD I got had WarpOS and 68k versions that punched straight through to Paula (which would not work on any version of MorphOS, on any machine), and used cdplayer.library for CDDA which barely worked even at the time. It doesn't crash on MorphOS, but doesn't play CD music either.

    However there was also a mission pack cd with an updated exe as well.

    Hard for me to remember. I never really played the game on MorphOS, though I had gotten it to run. It had ran on my PPC Amiga well enough, and it wasn't all that great. The low res and limited scrollfield are very old fashioned, and like Napalm and a hundred other C&C clones, it had a difficulty curve that usually gave you three easy levels and then the next nearly impossible. Bought it on GoG for next to nothing years ago, but it had aged too badly to be worth a replay - much like Knights and Merchants.
  • »23.01.22 - 11:26
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11717 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> Are Runesoft even still in business? The last news
    >> on their website is from 2019.

    > It was Epic Interactive who did the Amiga port.

    No, Pagan Games did the Amiga port and had it published through Epic/e.p.i.c.

    > They still exist and are now Topware

    No, Epic/e.p.i.c. became Runesoft in 2005 (see also comment #8) and still are. As far as I can see, there's no connection with TopWare apart from TopWare being the publisher of the original PC release of Earth 2140.
  • »23.01.22 - 13:05
    Profile