Sputnik bug thread
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Posts: 109 from 2006/9/10
    Sputnik has made some great progress in the third beta, especially speed and stability have improved considerably.

    This thread aims to collect some of the remaining problems/bugs people are experiencing.

    I have made the following observation:
    When I click on a link of a page that is not fully loaded yet, Sputnik does not render the next page/picture properly, but outputs some text garbage, e.g. the header of a gif-file, etc.

    Not a bug, but a suggestion:
    Might it be possible to automatically remove the horizontal/vertical scrollbars when the page fits fully on the screen?
  • »10.08.07 - 09:09
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Framiga
    Posts: 363 from 2003/7/11
    From: Milan-Italy
    "When I click on a link of a page that is not fully loaded yet, Sputnik does not render the next page/picture properly, but outputs some text garbage, e.g. the header of a gif-file, etc."

    i got this ones yesterday as well but i think its only a matter of lack of optimization.

    Now my report:

    i can't login into my ADSL modem/router Netgear DG834GT configuration pages. (no problems with IB). UderID/Passw isn't implemented yet?

    I can't browse my ISP account pages (TelecomItalia) login required (i can with AWeb)

    Is word wrapping planned?
  • »10.08.07 - 09:28
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    pegasos-sigi2
    Posts: 265 from 2006/8/31
    And now me: If are lot of frames in a page, sputnik mediate afer a
    time.
    Not all pages woking with proxys. Any working with and other without
    proxy.
    Spreedy - The spreedsheet editor of MorphOS
    Calimero - Do you know about the new DTP Program for MorphOS ?
  • »10.08.07 - 09:50
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    matt3
    Posts: 387 from 2004/2/10
    Simply awesome improvements, I have replaced Ibrowse with Sputnik.

    1 bug and 1 user error:

    If you minimize the browser when its rendering a page it crashes.

    How do I start using the nice toolbars?

    Take care,

    Matt
  • »10.08.07 - 12:09
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    dIGIMAN
    Posts: 273 from 2005/11/7
    Quote:


    i can't login into my ADSL modem/router Netgear DG834GT configuration pages. (no problems with IB). UderID/Passw isn't implemented yet?




    Not over Userfeedback but it works(for me).
    Use this:

    http://username:password@rooteraddress
  • »10.08.07 - 12:26
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Framiga
    Posts: 363 from 2003/7/11
    From: Milan-Italy
    already tryed that. Do you own the same router?
  • »10.08.07 - 13:12
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    dIGIMAN
    Posts: 273 from 2005/11/7
    Quote:


    Framiga wrote:
    already tryed that. Do you own the same router?




    To bad, it work for all my machines in the lan, that require authentification like my settop box and so on.

    No, not the same. I am running dd wrt(firmware)
  • »10.08.07 - 13:27
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    marcik
    Posts: 268 from 2003/4/12
    From: Kielce/Krakow,...
    HTTP authentication is not finished in this version. It will be done
    in next one.
  • »10.08.07 - 14:32
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Framiga
    Posts: 363 from 2003/7/11
    From: Milan-Italy
    ok thanks Marcin. This explain why! :-)
  • »10.08.07 - 14:52
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    merko
    Posts: 328 from 2003/5/19
    Yeah, quite a big difference to last release.
    Too bad my internet bank uses frames which don't work.
    Also, there is still this very annoying page refresh problem. On many
    pages, the page will refresh, and because reloading and relayouting
    still takes lots of time, which means you can't read the page, it's
    almost impossible to actually read the page. One such example is
    http://www.dn.se
  • »10.08.07 - 20:04
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    merko
    Posts: 328 from 2003/5/19
    This one kills Sputnik:
    http://kartor.eniro.se
  • »10.08.07 - 21:06
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    koan
    Posts: 303 from 2005/11/21
    From: UK
    Sputnik b3 speed and layout is much better than b2, congratulations
    Marcik. I'm posting this now from Sputnik :)

    Some weirdness when text is wrapped in this textedit box while I am
    writing this post.

    Is it me, or is it not possible to change fonts ? I want to change to
    antialiased fonts.

    Thanks!
  • »11.08.07 - 08:16
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Kaczus
    Posts: 199 from 2003/9/6
    From: Poland / Lodz
    Krashan is responsible for fonts. I heard, that antyaliased fonts has
    low priority, but I think, he can add antyaliased fonts
    faster, if he get LCD monitor, because his old one is out of order.
    Now he use CRT and he has not good motivation to do it faster :)

    [ Edited by Kaczus on 2007/8/11 10:21 ]
    Kaczus/BlaBla & AUG-Lodz Happy Pegasos User
  • »11.08.07 - 08:36
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    koan
    Posts: 303 from 2005/11/21
    From: UK
    Quote:

    When I click a link of a page that is not fully loaded yet,
    Sputnik does not render the next page/picture


    This is also true if you click on the "Back" button too early.
  • »11.08.07 - 09:37
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Brumiga
    Posts: 219 from 2004/4/3
    From: France
    Hello guys,

    @Framiga, I own a netgear dg834 v2, I tried to access the router interface first by typing his adress, I got an authentification error. Then I tried by the method indicated by dIGIMAN and I did successfully access to the router interface.

    I tried to show some very big pictures in jpeg format from nasa and hubble sites but sputnik is absolutely very slow. He took more than 10 minutes to load and display a 27,6 mo picture when ibrowse loads and displays the same picture in 20 seconds...

    Brumiga

    [ Edited by Brumiga on 2007/8/11 13:37 ]
  • »11.08.07 - 13:36
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    koan
    Posts: 303 from 2005/11/21
    From: UK
    Quote:

    I heard, that antyaliased fonts has low priority


    Oh that's a shame. Web browsing is about reading documents and having beautiful fonts is one of the most important things to me. It's not chrome.
  • »12.08.07 - 02:06
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Motosampy
    Posts: 199 from 2004/8/14
    From: Järvenp&a...
    > This one kills Sputnik:
    > http://kartor.eniro.se

    and ofcourse the Finnish version too: kartat.eniro.fi

    The Sputnik and Sputnik Network task tasks are alive, but loading of these pages closes the browser window even if you have many tabs open...

    www.stiggy.com creates triple scrollbars and flickers alot
  • »12.08.07 - 07:02
    Profile
  • Moderator
    hooligan
    Posts: 1946 from 2003/2/23
    From: Lahti, Finland
    My local newssite www.ess.fi is showing all wrong. I dont think
    anything is rendered correctly :-)
    www.mikseri.net/hooligan <- Free music
  • »12.08.07 - 11:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Neko
    Posts: 301 from 2003/2/24
    From: Genesi
    Quote:


    When I click on a link of a page that is not fully loaded yet, Sputnik does not render the next page/picture properly, but outputs some text garbage, e.g. the header of a gif-file, etc.


    I find Firefox on Windows does this for me sometimes too. Eventually it realises what it is doing and renders it though. Sometimes if you stop a JPEG halfway through loading it, it prints the file into the browser, rather than rendering it too.
    Matt Sealey, Genesi USA, Inc.
    Developer Relations
    Product Development Analyst
  • »14.08.07 - 12:31
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    AmigaMancer
    Posts: 265 from 2005/8/25
    Wow, i can't believe that i'm able to view unicode websites with my Amiga.
    I have one problem: How do i get rid of the HUGE gap that occupies half of sputnik's window?
    http://img64.imageshack.us/my.php?image=sputnikio7.jpg
    Amiga 1200 user.
  • »15.08.07 - 20:03
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Framiga
    Posts: 363 from 2003/7/11
    From: Milan-Italy
    if you have installed the 3rd beta on top the older one, try to open the Sputnik Preferences and save

    Have you used the install script?
  • »15.08.07 - 20:11
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    AmigaMancer
    Posts: 265 from 2005/8/25
    Quote:

    if you have installed the 3rd beta on top the older one, try to open the Sputnik Preferences and save

    Yes, that fixed the problem.

    I found another bug while playing with the prefs though: When i click on the network tab, the prefs window suddenly disappears and refuses to appear again when i select "prefs.." from the menu. This problem happens with the network tab only.

    (PS: several other entries in the prefs window like "browsing" and "cookies" are completely empty. I suppose that they are not implemented yet, but because i'm not quite sure i'm reporting this anyway)

    [ Edited by AmigaMancer on 2007/8/15 22:37 ]
    Amiga 1200 user.
  • »15.08.07 - 21:06
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    AmigaMancer
    Posts: 265 from 2005/8/25
    Also:
    http://www.amiga.org/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=39708&forum=9

    If noone else confirms these 2 problems, i will start to suspect that something in my MOS installation is screwed up. :-)
    Amiga 1200 user.
  • »16.08.07 - 11:28
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    AndreasM
    Posts: 28 from 2003/11/28
    hello

    can anyone help me, please?

    i need very fast some (5-6) high quality screenshots from sputnik.

    when someone can help me, write a email to andreas@amigafuture.de please

    THANKS
    http://www.apc-tcp.de
    http://www.amigafuture.de
    http://www.digiboosterpro.de
    http://www.amiatlas.de
    http://cygnused.apc-tcp.de
    http://roadshow.apc-tcp.de
  • »19.08.07 - 16:47
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    Senex
    Posts: 497 from 2003/2/17
    From: Hannover / Ger...
    @Andreas

    E-mail will be sent in a few minutes.
  • »19.08.07 - 17:22
    Profile Visit Website