Problem with an external CD/DVD Drive
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1487 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Hello,

    i have bought an external CD/DVD Drive USB but Jalapeno see it as source (many entries for same drive in fact) but i can't choose any destination and impossible to write an ISO.

    It's possible to read MorphOS CD.

    Any idea ?

    Thanks ;-)

    [ Edité par Papiosaur 07.05.2021 - 22:00 ]

    [ Edité par Papiosaur 08.06.2021 - 14:32 ]
  • »07.05.21 - 20:58
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 314 from 2003/7/26
    From: Chicago, IL
    I had the same issue a few months ago and gave up.
    DiscreetFX
    Making your
    Digital Films
    More Effective!
  • »08.05.21 - 00:36
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    NewSense
    Posts: 1149 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    Does anyone know what program(s)/libraries/device(s) controls the CD/DVD aspects within Ambient/MorphOS? :-?

    The MorphOS CD/DVD control of external devices (USB) for such "burning" functionality, and sometimes other intrinsic features (audio CDs), that should be able to be modified through settings/preferences, actually seems to be confined to an internal CD/DVD drive so these capabilities are incapable of being utilised currently, and ideally needs addressing . . . or at least that's how it seems to me.
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »08.05.21 - 05:26
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    NewSense
    Posts: 1149 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    Why do you have the same device, the Matsushita (Panasonic) UJ-835E listed 11 times in the settings of Jalapeno?

    Isn't once enough/sufficient, or is Jalapeno adding the drive automatically into settings? If not, then I'd delete the duplicate entries as they seem to be serving no purpose.

    If the GWA-4165B DVD/CDRW drive is on the internal IDE channel, then I would have thought it would write/read DVD-R/W and CD-R/W discs, but it seems to be set as Slave (IDE-2)!

    Having said that, you seem to still have the UJ-835E set as the default "burner" (Default Disc Copy Source) drive - were you aware of that too?
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »08.05.21 - 06:54
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1487 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    "Why do you have the same device, the Matsushita (Panasonic) UJ-835E listed 11 times in the settings of Jalapeno?"

    >I would like to know :-) It's the "bug"

    "Having said that, you seem to still have the UJ-835E set as the default "burner" (Default Disc Copy Source) drive - were you aware of that too?"

    >Yes, Jalapeno has put it automaticaly in "Source". About string "Default Disk Copy Source" for me it's the source not the "Destination" (Writer).

    "Isn't once enough/sufficient, or is Jalapeno adding the drive automatically into settings? If not, then I'd delete the duplicate entries as they seem to be serving no purpose."

    >Yes, Jalapeno add automaticaly it in the settings.

    "If the GWA-4165B DVD/CDRW drive is on the internal IDE channel, then I would have thought it would write/read DVD-R/W and CD-R/W discs, but it seems to be set as Slave (IDE-2)!"

    >I have 2 SATA Harddrive ("first way" reconnize as IDE) and the internal DVD Drive is on the "second way" IDE.


    [ Edité par Papiosaur 08.05.2021 - 08:24 ]
  • »08.05.21 - 07:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 895 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    You may try direct programms of jalapeno in Mossys:Data/Jalapeno.

    MOSSYS:Data/Jalapeno/cdrecord -scanbus gives yo the device-indentifaication for your CD-Writer.

    Gives something like that:

    Bus 0 - usbscsi.device
    Bus 1 - sbp2.device
    Bus 2 - ide.device
    Bus 3 - 2nd.ide.device
    scsibus0:
    0,0,0 0) 'SONY ' 'CD-RW MPD-AP20U' '1.0a' Removable CD-ROM
    0,1,0 1) 'SONY ' 'MEMORYSTICK MPD ' '1.0a' Removable Disk
    0,2,0 2) *
    0,3,0 3) *
    0,4,0 4) *
    0,5,0 5) *
    0,6,0 6) *
    0,7,0 7) *
    scsibus2:
    2,0,0 200) 'ATA-HD' 'WDC WD5000AZRX-0' '' Disk
    2,1,0 201) 'ATA-HD' 'WDC WD5000AZRX-0' '' Disk
    2,2,0 202) *
    2,3,0 203) *
    2,4,0 204) *
    2,5,0 205) *
    2,6,0 206) *
    2,7,0 207) *
    scsibus3:
    3,0,0 300) 'PIONEER ' 'DVD-RW DVR-109 ' 'A912' Removable CD-ROM
    3,1,0 301) 'ATA-HD' 'SanDisk SDCFB-51' '' Disk
    3,2,0 302) *
    3,3,0 303) *
    3,4,0 304) *
    3,5,0 305) *
    3,6,0 306) *
    3,7,0 307) *

    First entry is a USB-CDRW. ( dev=0,0,0 )

    Now you may use cdrecord to burn something on that device. See cdrecord -help for otions.
    To make a ISO use mkisofs
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »08.05.21 - 08:46
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1487 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Question : is it possible to boot MorphOCD via external drive and install MorphOS please ?

    I have tried to push Alt at startup, i see MorphOS CD and a usb logo under the icon, i select it then white screen...

    Thanks!


    [ Edité par Papiosaur 10.05.2021 - 21:44 ]
  • »10.05.21 - 20:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 895 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    No, Mac won't recognize it in Boot-Menue, because its on the USB-port, which is'nt supported (officially) to boot.
    Mac can (official) only boot from SATA, IDE, FIREWIRE or Network.
    But it can be possible by calling USB-port directly in OF (like booting from as stick). I'm not sure, whether CD-filesystem is also recognized if CD-Drive is on USB and not on IDE-port......

    Pegasos: Not possible - USB (filesystem on USB) not supported.
    Efika: Should work(?), but I never got it working. Maybe a problem with my USB-CD-Drive.

    Others: Don't know!



    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 08.06.2021 - 20:11 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »08.06.21 - 19:10
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 895 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    I'm not sure if FireWire supports CD too! I know it works for harddisks.
    Please serach about that, before you buy a FW-CD-Drive.
    The best way to boot ist from internal CD or HD. Or, if it's not a too old Mac, from USB-stick (only direktly from OF-console)
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »09.06.21 - 07:20
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 895 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Yes, tested it now - works on G4-PB. If your Mac creates the UD-Device during runtime it's easy. You can check it in OF with command dev-alias
    Connect CD-Drive to USB, then turn on or reboot and goto OF-console.
    A device named ud should be shown. If it's ok, content of CD can be shown with dir ud:,\
    There is no way to boot automaticaly - you have to call propper boot.img for your Mac manually.

    Type

    boot ud:,\mac_ppc32\boot.img BD=CD0

    If you have a G5, then use mac_ppc64 instead of mac_ppc32.

    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 09.06.2021 - 13:37 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »09.06.21 - 12:35
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    cyfm
    Posts: 447 from 2003/4/11
    From: Germany
    Quote:

    Amigaharry2 schrieb:
    Yes, tested it now - works on G4-PB. If your Mac creates the UD-Device during runtime it's easy. You can check it in OF with command dev-alias
    Connect CD-Drive to USB, then turn on or reboot and goto OF-console.
    A device named ud should be shown. If it's ok, content of CD can be shown with dir ud:,\
    There is no way to boot automaticaly - you have to call propper boot.img for your Mac manually.

    Type

    boot ud:,\mac_ppc32\boot.img BD=CD0

    If you have a G5, then use mac_ppc64 instead of mac_ppc32.


    Actually, with the very latest 3.15 HDimg written as raw data to a USB stick, you should be able to set the boot-device to ud:,\\:tbxi to boot directly from it.
    At least that is how I boot a MorphOS install image on my PBook5,8.
    Unfortunately, there are a few more pitfalls with USB, so results may vary. At least I'm pretty sure that you don't need to enter OF-console each time once you found a compatible USB stick and reconfigured the boot-device in OF.
    It also works on a PMacG5 and/or iMacG5 as the script included with the HDimg automatically selects the correct boot.img.
  • »09.06.21 - 12:41
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 895 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Quote:

    cyfm schrieb:

    Actually, with the very latest 3.15 HDimg written as raw data to a USB stick, you should be able to set the boot-device to ud:,\\:tbxi to boot directly from it.
    At least that is how I boot a MorphOS install image on my PBook5,8.
    Unfortunately, there are a few more pitfalls with USB, so results may vary. At least I'm pretty sure that you don't need to enter OF-console each time once you found a compatible USB stick and reconfigured the boot-device in OF.
    It also works on a PMacG5 and/or iMacG5 as the script included with the HDimg automatically selects the correct boot.img.



    Very interessting! Tried that in the past and it won't work (but with older versions of MOS). So I did it with a boot-menue and created a bootable USB-stick (or USB-HD) and called boot.img there directly, which also works flawless.
    But useing the raw-data of the ISO and let do the Mac the rest, is the quickest way! I've to test this too......
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »09.06.21 - 17:44
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11438 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Very interessting!

    Indeed. While cyfm described this method a couple of times in the depths of the MorphZone forum, I think it deserves a more prominent place.
  • »09.06.21 - 21:41
    Profile