Floppy disk on Pegasos2
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 75 from 2019/11/1
    I'd like to use disk drive on pegasos 2, so I downloaded trackdisk.lha from aminet, but it does not work at least under mos 3.15
    I recompiled also sources with very latest sdk, same issue floppy isn't recognized.

    Any way to resolve? ..I already know amiga floppies can't be used, due hardware limitations, but this is not a issue for me.
  • »13.03.21 - 18:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    analogkid
    Posts: 619 from 2004/11/3
    From: near myself
    Sorry, no solution for that issue. But maybe an USB Floppy drive could be useful.
  • »13.03.21 - 19:04
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Norbi
    Posts: 99 from 2004/6/19
    What fdd cable? twist?
    How is the ds0 or ds1 jumper set?
    What happens when you run a mountlist?
    Fdd does not have diskette autodetection.
    Did you read the documentation?
  • »13.03.21 - 19:12
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Norbi
    Posts: 99 from 2004/6/19
    Yes.
    Fdd usb is working fine.
  • »13.03.21 - 19:14
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 602 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    Sonic made trackdisk.device for Pegasos

    https://sourceforge.net/projects/unmorphos/files/Pegasos%20trackdisk.device/trackdisk.device%2041.3/

    and you can also use LS120. Zips, Syquests also work (with SCSI controller, i didnt check with ide).
  • »13.03.21 - 21:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 75 from 2019/11/1
    Yeah I used trackdisk.device from Sonic and downloaded also fat95 from aminet to use fat filesystem.

    here is my mountlist as suggested by Sonic in trackdisk readme

    /* MS0: fat95 PC file system for floppy #0 */
    /* $VER: fat95 file system 3.06 (08-Aug-2002) by Torsten Jager */

    FileSystem = l:fat95
    Device = trackdisk.device
    Unit = 0 /* change drive number here */
    Flags = 0
    LowCyl = 0
    HighCyl = 79
    Surfaces = 2 /* bootblock values have priority over these */
    BlocksPerTrack = 18
    Buffers = 20
    BufMemType = 1
    BootPri = 0
    Stacksize = 4096
    Priority = 5
    GlobVec = -1
    DosType = 0x46415400

    MS0; device is not mounted, on startup mos ask me to assign/mount the device.
  • »13.03.21 - 23:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 665 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    @Flash
    At least you can use the built-in FAT...
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W · iMac G5 12,1 17"
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.15
  • »13.03.21 - 23:31
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 75 from 2019/11/1
    How can I do? Floppies are fat so it’s ok for me
  • »13.03.21 - 23:34
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 75 from 2019/11/1
    I found also an old thread on morphzone, same results..
    Is there peg2 owner to have internal floppy working?
  • »14.03.21 - 08:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 903 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Yes, floppy works on my Peg2 (MOS 3.15) fine!
    You have to use trackdisk.device V41.4 (built 19.8.2010) and mountlist above. If change floppy you need diskchange-command for Ambient to recognize. Only high-density-floppies supported!
    If you dont find trackdisk.device 41.4 send me your mail via PM.
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »14.03.21 - 09:11
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 75 from 2019/11/1
    Thanks a lot, you have pm.
    It could be very useful spread solution on morphzone if any other is or will be interested ;-)
  • »14.03.21 - 10:14
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 185 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    I have this in backup - it works for me fine years ago: trackdisk.device 41.3(2007-20-08)
    Unfortunatelly I don't know with what MOS version I used it.

    Because I stoped to use FDs many years ago, I remove FD drive from case when I upgraded my Pegasos 2.
    AmigaOS: Pegasos II, Sam440ep-flex, Micro A1-C, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »14.03.21 - 10:50
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 75 from 2019/11/1
    It seems do not work, amigaharry2 have written about a newer version 41.4 of trackdisk.device built 19/8/2010
  • »14.03.21 - 12:58
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 903 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    You have PM!
    Unfortunately I don't know where to download that newer device - can only send it directly to anyone interessted.....

    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 14.03.2021 - 19:05 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »14.03.21 - 19:03
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 75 from 2019/11/1
    Thank you very much, I received you mail and tested new trackdisk on my peg2.
    Sadly it does not work! :-(
    Really I don't know why, it should have been an easy task and I followed all steps, checked all 10 times.
    On startup MS0: device seems to be mounted but when I try to access it I got a requester to assign, mount, retry, etc..

    I noticed on mountlist filesystem is set to "FileSystem = l:fat95", do I have to download fat95 archive from Aminet?

    Under Linux at least floppy led goes on and starts reading tracks, soon later system crashes and I have to reset machine via hardware reset.

    My Peg2 board is latest rev b5 with 2gb ram - MOS 3.15
    Do I have to check something in smartfirmware?
  • »14.03.21 - 22:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 903 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Yes you have to download FAT-filesystem. I thought you have that installed allready.....
    There is nothing to do in OF.

    For testing: Take a new floppy and try to format it.
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »14.03.21 - 22:53
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11444 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> do I have to download fat95 archive from Aminet?

    > Yes you have to download FAT-filesystem.

    Isn't the FAT handler MorphOS comes with to be preferred, or doesn't that work with trackdisk.device?
  • »15.03.21 - 02:08
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 75 from 2019/11/1
    Fat95 from aminet does not work, at least for me.
    It’s all 68k asm code native os3 binary, I don’t know if it’s compatible with mos.
    Any others repo to download fat handler for mos.?
    Does mos have some internal handler I can use for fat filesystem?
  • »15.03.21 - 07:07
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 903 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    68K-versions works well on MorphOS (MOS has a built-in run-time 68K-compiler). There seems to be another issue.
    I use (68K) fat95 3.11 form 10.08.2003 by Thorsten Jager.

    Check following:

    After booting system insert a disk. Then type in a shell

    diskchange MS0: (notice: MS0 not MSO!!)

    Can you see now flashing the busy-LED from the floppydrive? If yes,device works and MS0: is mounted.

    If not:

    What happens when starting MS0-mountlist manually by typing in a shell mount DEVS:Dosdrivers/MS0 ? If message MS0: Allready mounted appears, then mountlist works. If not, you should look for propper setting tooltypes in MS0-icon! Have you set anything to MS0-icon, as I wrote you in PM (as shown in picture)?
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »15.03.21 - 08:01
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    cyfm
    Posts: 447 from 2003/4/11
    From: Germany
    Actually, the MorphOS provided FAT Filesystem should work with floppies as well, even though it uses FAT12 there afair. This sounds like a bug in the MorphOS FAT FS, there should be no need to use another filesystem for FAT formatted floppy discs.
  • »15.03.21 - 10:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 602 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    MorphOS fat Filesystem works with USB Floppy drive for sure.
  • »15.03.21 - 11:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 75 from 2019/11/1
    Ok thanks LL four your interest.
    what's the name of MOS filesystem?
    What I have to replace in following mountlist line? FileSystem = l:fat95

    ..Why me and Amigaharry2 got different results?
  • »15.03.21 - 12:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 903 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    For old MSDOS floppydisks you may/can only use l:fat95 (as I do), or MOS-built-in FATFileSystem (which I never tried till yet). If you wan't use it, mountlist should be changed to:

    Filesystem=FAT (hope that's the right name.....)
    and
    DosType=0x4d534400

    Nevertheless I have to ask: Do you really use a HD-floppydisk? DD-floppies are not supported by trackdisk.device!
    Have you done,what I wrote above? Did you see the buzzy-LED, when executing Diskchange-command?
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »15.03.21 - 13:56
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 75 from 2019/11/1
    Tried all you suggestions.
    I have only HD floppy on diskchange ms0: drive led never light on.
    As last hope I want replace floppy drive with another spare one (samsung), I want to change also floppy cable.
    Maybe tomorrow I'll be able to report you results.
    Thanks to all involved.
  • »15.03.21 - 21:13
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 781 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    I used to use Catweasel Mk.3 for accessing floppies of all kinds - FAT, FFS, HD, DD, etc. (Not DiskSpare unfortunately - never could get that to work. Hardware-banging driver.)

    It worked quite well, except that there was something up with either OpenPCI, the driver, or the FFS2 filesystem that locked the machine every so often on mount, which meant I couldn't put the mount file in DEVS:.

    I never even tried to connect up the internal floppy at the time. I was told it just wasn't supported because time was best spent on something else. And to be honest, it was true. I never got much use out of the CW3 except to load old floppies which I'm sure these days I can find on the internet in DMS or ADF.
  • »20.03.21 - 19:50
    Profile