PowerMac G5 Quad Core
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Flash
    Posts: 36 from 2019/11/1
    Sadly under Linux Ubuntu I was not able to use powerful x1900gt.
    It outputs still from nvidia 6600.
    II installed also Radeon drivers but ..no luck!
  • »15.11.20 - 22:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11157 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I also don't really understand why it is so difficult to put a generic
    > picture on the screen when the gfx card family is supported but the
    > specific device is not. Isn't there a SVGA kindof signal all cards can do?

    MorphOS doesn't support VESA BIOS Extensions if that's what you mean. Furthermore, MorphOS uses a whitelist of PCI IDs, so a GPU with a non-whitelisted PCI ID doesn't work even if the graphics driver is compatible with it.
  • »15.11.20 - 22:46
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11157 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > So it seems the X1900 XT is better left with PC-BIOS
    > when you also want to run Linux?

    Yes, see comment #29 (also here and there).
  • »15.11.20 - 23:10
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 399 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    Flash schrieb:
    Sadly under Linux Ubuntu I was not able to use powerful x1900gt. [...] It outputs still from nvidia 6600.

    Ah I see... That's no surprise given what outdated kernel & software stack the last PPC Ubuntu used. I run Gentoo & Void Linux on the G5 (guess kernel 5.4.x or 5.5.x at that time?) and the X1900 XT worked, but only with Xorg fbdev framebuffer driver. Besides being blazingly lould as I already mentioned.
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.14 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »15.11.20 - 23:16
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 95 from 2019/5/9
    Quote:

    Flash wrote:
    Sadly under Linux Ubuntu I was not able to use powerful x1900gt.
    It outputs still from nvidia 6600.
    II installed also Radeon drivers but ..no luck!


    Do you have custom xorg.conf? I use Debian Sid with two graphics cards, and I had to write own config, because automatic have wrong BusID in Device section.

    I can send it to you, if you want, but my card configuration is different than yours.
    - 1st x16 slot X1900-G5ed: used for MOS,OSX and disabled for linux
    - 3rd x8 slot HD6570: used for linux.

    [ Edited by sailor 16.11.2020 - 09:54 ]
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »16.11.20 - 08:53
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Flash
    Posts: 36 from 2019/11/1
    oh yeah please send me cfg file and i'll try to adapt it for my case, tnx!
  • »16.11.20 - 10:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 95 from 2019/5/9
    Here is my config:
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor1"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Card1"
    Driver "radeon"
    BusID "PCI:6@1:0:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen1"
    Device "Card1"
    Monitor "Monitor1"
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1920x1080_75.00"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Search your cards with "lspci":
    Code:
    0000:00:0b.0 PCI bridge: Apple Inc. CPC945 PCIe Bridge
    0000:0a:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] R580+ [Radeon X1950 XTX]
    0001:00:00.0 Host bridge: Apple Inc. U4 HT Bridge
    0001:00:01.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5780 [HT2000] PCI-X bridge (rev a3)
    0001:00:02.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5780 [HT2000] PCI-X bridge (rev a3)
    0001:00:03.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5780 [HT2000] PCI-Express Bridge (rev a3)
    0001:00:04.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5780 [HT2000] PCI-Express Bridge (rev a3)
    0001:00:05.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5780 [HT2000] PCI-Express Bridge (rev a3)
    0001:00:06.0 PCI bridge: Broadcom BCM5780 [HT2000] PCI-Express Bridge (rev a3)
    0001:00:07.0 PCI bridge: Apple Inc. Shasta PCI Bridge
    0001:00:08.0 PCI bridge: Apple Inc. Shasta PCI Bridge
    0001:00:09.0 PCI bridge: Apple Inc. Shasta PCI Bridge
    0001:01:07.0 Unassigned class [ff00]: Apple Inc. Shasta Mac I/O
    0001:01:0b.0 USB controller: NEC Corporation OHCI USB Controller (rev 43)
    0001:01:0b.1 USB controller: NEC Corporation OHCI USB Controller (rev 43)
    0001:01:0b.2 USB controller: NEC Corporation uPD72010x USB 2.0 Controller (rev 04)
    0001:03:0c.0 IDE interface: Broadcom K2 SATA
    0001:03:0d.0 Unassigned class [ff00]: Apple Inc. Shasta IDE
    0001:03:0e.0 FireWire (IEEE 1394): Apple Inc. Shasta Firewire
    0001:05:04.0 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Inc. and subsidiaries NetXtreme BCM5780 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 03)
    0001:05:04.1 Ethernet controller: Broadcom Inc. and subsidiaries NetXtreme BCM5780 Gigabit Ethernet (rev 03)
    0001:06:00.0 VGA compatible controller: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Turks PRO [Radeon HD 6570/7570/8550]
    0001:06:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Turks HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6500/6600 / 6700M Series]
    0001:08:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168/8411 PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet Controller (rev 15)
    0001:09:00.0 SCSI storage controller: Marvell Technology Group Ltd. 88SX7042 PCI-e 4-port SATA-II (rev 02)


    my cards are at these addresses:
    0000:0a:00.0 - Radeon X1950 G5
    0001:06:00.0 - Radeon HD 6570

    if you have the same adresses and x1900gt at first x16 slot, for you work something like this:
    Code:
    Section "Monitor"
    Identifier "Monitor0"
    EndSection

    Section "Device"
    Identifier "Card0"
    Driver "radeon"
    BusID "PCI:a@0:0:0"
    EndSection

    Section "Screen"
    Identifier "Screen0"
    Device "Card0"
    Monitor "Monitor0"
    SubSection "Display"
    Depth 24
    Modes "1920x1080_75.00"
    EndSubSection
    EndSection

    Change resolution according your monitor. And don't use amdgpu but radeon driver.

    [ Edited by sailor 17.11.2020 - 16:01 ]
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »17.11.20 - 14:57
    Profile