SSD not recognized on G5
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1182 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Hello all,

    i've bought a SSD Kingston and after installation, HDConfig don't show it...

    Any idea ?

    Thanks

    [ Edité par Papiosaur 06.04.2019 - 12:30 ]
  • »06.04.19 - 11:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    cyfm
    Posts: 382 from 2003/4/11
    From: Germany
    Quote:

    Papiosaur schrieb:
    Hello all,

    i've bought a SSD Kingston and after installation, HDConfig don't show it...

    Any idea ?

    Thanks

    [ Edité par Papiosaur 06.04.2019 - 12:30 ]


    Some SSDs - especially recent SATA rev 3.0 ones - simply don't work because they are not recognized by the old G5 SATA h/w, sadly ...
    It is next to impossible to give any recommendation which SSDs work and which don't, though.
    I have both a Kingston SSD (HyperX series 120GB) which works just fine while another (more recent "A400" series one) doesn't work at all.
  • »06.04.19 - 12:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1182 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Formated and MorphOS installed via USB on G5 but not recognized on the SATA port...

    Maybe an update of the firmware exist and support the new SATA specifications?

    Maybe is possible to boot the SSD via SATA port on a PCI card ?

    [ Edité par Papiosaur 06.04.2019 - 16:16 ]
  • »06.04.19 - 15:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1126 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    Quote:

    Papiosaur wrote:
    i will try to format it on a PC and retry...

    This will not work.

    AFAIR, PowerMacs only support SATA-I connections. Unfortunately, some new disks will only work in either SATA-II or SATA-III mode and cannot downgrade to SATA-I mode, therefore they cannot be used with your PowerMac's onboard SATA ports.
  • »06.04.19 - 15:17
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1126 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    Quote:

    Papiosaur wrote:
    Maybe an update of the firmware exist and support the new SATA specifications?

    I am afraid this is not how this works. This is not merely a software issue.
  • »06.04.19 - 15:22
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 534 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    Quote:

    Papiosaur wrote:
    Hello all,

    i've bought a SSD Kingston and after installation, HDConfig don't show it...

    Any idea ?

    Thanks

    [ Edité par Papiosaur 06.04.2019 - 12:30 ]


    A SATA to IDE connector and connection into an IDE slot. Probably the only way you're going to get it to work.
  • »06.04.19 - 17:08
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10264 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > It is next to impossible to give any recommendation which SSDs
    > work and which don't

    This thread has some successfully tested recommendations, including SATA3 ones.
  • »06.04.19 - 18:40
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 259 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Some SSDs work fine if you just don't try to boot from them. ;-) Seems an OpenFirmware thing? So now I am booting the G5 from a DOM (Disk on Module) connected to the PATA port. Afterwards the SSD works fine from the G5s SATA. On another G5 I got the SSD on a SiL SATA controller via PCI, works equally fine on Linux as on Morphos (but you can't boot from it either).
    Talos II Secure Workstation. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »06.04.19 - 19:20
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 258 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    On my G5, I have an SSD and when I use it thoroughly (to compile), MorphOS crash (it freezes) frequently. While on the powerbook, I have no problem.

    I wonder if putting an SSD drive in the G5 (in SATA) is a good idea .....
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.10
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.10
    My MOS ports
  • »07.04.19 - 07:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 862 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    beworld wrote:
    On my G5, I have an SSD and when I use it thoroughly (to compile), MorphOS crash (it freezes) frequently. While on the powerbook, I have no problem.

    I wonder if putting an SSD drive in the G5 (in SATA) is a good idea .....


    I do have an SSD drive in my G5 (it's the Apple TS256A) and I have no problems with it.
  • »07.04.19 - 09:16
    Profile