Hardware test
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    kickstart
    Posts: 223 from 2009/4/28
    From: Land of Santa
    Hi!

    I want to acquire a MorphOS license for my porwermac G5, its compatible with MorphOS but I want to be sure that hardware is in good shape before buy, any hardware test to run on MorphOS or any closer?

    Thank you and stay safe.

    [ Edited by kickstart 19.08.2020 - 23:05 ]
  • »18.08.20 - 22:12
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11055 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > any hardware test to run on MorphOS or any closer?

    I recommend to run the Apple Service Diagnostics (ASD). It's a CD-based, self-contained testing environment, so doesn't need any OS installed.
  • »18.08.20 - 22:53
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    takemehomegrandma
    Posts: 2648 from 2003/2/24
    Never heard of that. Can it be freely downloaded?
    MorphOS is Amiga done right! :-)
    MorphOS NG will be AROS done right! :-)
  • »19.08.20 - 16:04
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 62 from 2017/8/7
    If you have the original set of MacOS CDs for your G5 at hand, you can boot the test from that.
  • »19.08.20 - 17:41
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    kickstart
    Posts: 223 from 2009/4/28
    From: Land of Santa
    The problem (for me) is that there are several versions, I downloaded Apple Service Diagnostics 2.6.3 from https://archive.org/details/asd.2.6.3

    Hope that is the correct version for my hardware.
  • »19.08.20 - 22:10
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 902 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    What is your PowerMac G5 model specifically off the machine's labels?

    Is it a Dual Processor (DP), Dual Core (DC) or some other variant, as the ASD CDs do require the correct disc version to test the hardware.

    Having said that, if the machine is running OK, then almost certainly all the hardware is working as it should.

    If you have a Dual Processor PowerMac G5 then sometimes, and it has happened to me, that one of the CPUs can fail, but swapping the working CPU to the first slot can make a non-starting PowerMac ignore the failed CPU and start OK.

    Ideally you'd need to acquire a working CPU to replace the failed one, but you can manage with just the one working CPU with MorphOS, as it only uses one CPU anyway currently.
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »20.08.20 - 12:50
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    kickstart
    Posts: 223 from 2009/4/28
    From: Land of Santa
    @newsense

    Machine label serial number says in everymac:

    https://everymac.com/systems/apple/powermac_g5/specs/powermac_g5_2.3_dp.html

    Surprisingly I don't have any CDR at home to test Apple Service Diagnostic now.


    [ Edited by kickstart 20.08.2020 - 18:50 ]
  • »20.08.20 - 17:38
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 902 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    So, it seems you have the 2.3GHz Dual Processor PowerMac G5, which I also have, and seems to be problematic in that the CPU fails on these models from time to time.

    It is also difficult to locate a working replacement 2.3GHz CPU - but I wish you luck if you need to find a replacement CPU.

    Anyway, to check that hardware you'll need the Apple Service Diagnostic CD v2.5.8, which was the last PPC diagnostic CD that Apple produced, and is online from: the web archive - ASD 2.5.8.dmg.zip.

    You also need that CD to reset the fans (thermal recalibration) if you install a replacement CPU, and probably also if you swap over a working CPU into a dead CPU slot as a temporary measure, as the hardware realises you've changed the setup and will revert to "turbine" mode.

    Hope this helps.8-)

    [ Edited by NewSense 21.08.2020 - 01:48 ]
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »21.08.20 - 01:42
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    kickstart
    Posts: 223 from 2009/4/28
    From: Land of Santa
    @newsense

    This powermac runs fine with OSX, physically its in good condition just need to replace the internal battery (not leaked), with MorphOS runs fine too but I just want to do some hardware test before purchase a MorphOS license.

    Thank you for the ASD link.


    [ Edited by kickstart 21.08.2020 - 05:24 ]
  • »21.08.20 - 04:24
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    kickstart
    Posts: 223 from 2009/4/28
    From: Land of Santa
    Hi

    Cant boot ASD 2.5.8 from CD... im using a CDRW to boot but never boots, the same CDRW with a copy of MorphOS boot without problems.

    I burn dmg images with anyburn on windows 7, dont know if that program burn dmg format for boot.
  • »22.08.20 - 23:02
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 902 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    The Anyburn - DMG (Mac) burning option seems to be supported, which is specifically explained on the linked page, so as long as you follow the method stated it should create a working bootable .dmg disc.

    You should be able to burn a .dmg image to CD(-RW) with just your Mac, as it allows such files to be burned from the desktop, and as you say your PowerMac is working OK with OSX why don't you ...

    Burn your DMG (or ISO) File to disk (CDRW):

    Start Applications > Utilities > Disk Utility. ...
    Insert a blank CD or DVD disc into the Mac CD/DVD drive. ...
    Drag the .dmg file into the window.
    Select the file and then ...
    In the Burn Disc In: window, then click Burn

    Hope that should work for you.
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »23.08.20 - 00:28
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    kickstart
    Posts: 223 from 2009/4/28
    From: Land of Santa
    @newsense

    I dont have OSX installed, by the way Ill give it a try just for burn it.
  • »23.08.20 - 03:22
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 902 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    If you head back to wayback machine's website there's a copy of Mac OSX Tiger and Leopard on there that you can download if you need it. 8-D
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »23.08.20 - 04:08
    Profile