A-EON AmigaOne X5000/20 works great with MorphOS!
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    xeno74
    Posts: 29 from 2020/6/8
    Quote:

    Fogg_80 schrieb:
    Quote:

    Hedeon wrote:
    How does it run on the X5000/40?


    @xeno
    Have you an answer!!??




    I think it works on the X5000/40 but I haven't tried it yet. I need another graphics card for MorphOS on the X5000/40.
  • »07.12.20 - 13:42
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Fogg_80
    Posts: 44 from 2007/11/12
    From: Foggia, south ...
    Unfortunately on my X5040 Uboot don’t support MorphOS. Is Uboot the problem!!!???
    Stile Ubuntu
    Sorry for my bad english.
  • »07.12.20 - 14:15
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    takemehomegrandma
    Posts: 2697 from 2003/2/24
    What’s the version of your Uboot?
    MorphOS is Amiga done right! :-)
    MorphOS NG will be AROS done right! :-)
  • »07.12.20 - 16:02
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    xeno74
    Posts: 29 from 2020/6/8
    Hi All,

    Happy New Year 2021! Many thanks for the great update! I was able to update to MorphOS 3.15 on my AmigaOne X5000/20 today. I will test the new version in the next days.

    Screenshot: f0ce19ed8e6d8239cf7b2953b4403dba.png

    A-EON AmigaOne X5000 Update Instructions

    You will need a 500MB or larger USB disk

    Prepare the USB Disk

    Copy the image to a USB disk

    Linux Instructions

    With your system powered on, insert a USB disk that is at least 500MB into a USB port
    Determine the /dev path to your USB disk using one of the below methods:
    - In a terminal as su or sudo, enter "fdisk -l"
    - In a terminal as su or sudo, enter "parted -l"
    - Check the GParted menu in the upper-right corner

    These instructions assume the /dev path to your USB disk is /dev/sdz; however, your actual /dev path is likely to be different - use the actual /dev path to your USB disk

    In a terminal as su or sudo, enter the below command:

    Code:
    dd if=/path/to/morphos-3.15-hybrid.hdimg of=/dev/sdz


    where "/dev/sdz" is the /dev path to your USB disk

    NOTE: Do not attempt to copy the image to a specific partition - you need to enter the /dev path to the disk, not to a partition (use "/dev/sdz", not "/dev/sdz2")

    Mac Instructions

    With your system powered on, insert a USB disk that is at least 500MB into a USB port

    Open the Terminal app in Applications > Utilities
    Determine the /dev path to your USB disk by entering the below command:

    Code:
    diskutil list


    These instructions assume the /dev path to your USB disk is /dev/disk9; however, your actual /dev path is likely to be different - use the actual /dev path to your USB disk

    Enter the below command:

    Code:
    dd if=/path/to/morphos-3.15-hybrid.hdimg of=/dev/disk9


    where "/dev/disk9" is the /dev path to your USB disk

    Windows Instructions

    With your system powered on, insert a USB disk that is at least 500MB into a USB port.
    Download "USB Image Tool" from alexpage.de

    Open USB Image Tool

    On the left panel, select your USB disk
    Click the "Restore" button and select the MorphOS disk image


    Boot to MorphOS

    Begin with your A-EON AmigaOne X5000 system powered down and insert the USB disk into a USB port - remove any other USB disks that are plugged in.

    Power on your system and press ESC when the boot animation starts to load the U-Boot menu.

    Choose "Command Line" from the U-Boot menu

    Type the following commands:

    Code:
    usb reset

    Code:
    bootmorphos


    After selecting the language and keymap please select "Installation ..."

    Choose "Update Installation"

    Choose the MorphOS volume and the button "Update".

    After that please shutdown MorphOS (Ambient - Shutdown... - Shutdown) and remove the MorphOS USB stick.

    Please start the AmigaOne X5000 and the new MorphOS 3.15 will boot automatically.

    Cheers,
    Christian

    [ Editiert durch xeno74 02.01.2021 - 11:57 ]
  • »02.01.21 - 11:39
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 314 from 2003/7/26
    From: Chicago, IL
    Has dual booting been resolved for the AmigaOne X5000/20 yet? I want to use MorphOS and AmigaOS 4.1 on my X5000 with a modern GPU that supports most features.
    DiscreetFX
    Making your
    Digital Films
    More Effective!
  • »17.02.21 - 23:47
    Profile Visit Website
  • esc
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    esc
    Posts: 150 from 2013/5/28
    The triumvirate of OSes that can run on the X5000 (OS4.1FE, MorphOS, linux) still lack a fully featured common GPU implementation.
  • »18.02.21 - 09:32
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 183 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    Quote:

    esc wrote:
    The triumvirate of OSes that can run on the X5000 (OS4.1FE, MorphOS, linux) still lack a fully featured common GPU implementation.


    And will lack in the future.
    Is theoretically possible, that MorphOS and AmigaOs will have support for the same more modern cards, but I think linux will never have it.
    There is a bug in amdgpu PPC big-endian version, and new improvements focuses on little-endian.

    But who knows, maybe I'm wrong and someone will be dealing with decades old things from which he has no profit, except joy ;-)
    AmigaOS: Pegasos II, Sam440ep-flex, Micro A1-C, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »18.02.21 - 11:52
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 657 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    @sailor
    Are you talking about this?
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W · iMac G5 12,1 17"
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.15
  • »18.02.21 - 20:03
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 314 from 2003/7/26
    From: Chicago, IL
    Personally I’m not interested in running Linux on the X5000. I have plenty of other machines I can run Linux on. It would be really nice to dual boot MorphOS and AmigaOS 4.1 on the X5000 with a newish GPU. Or even better the architecture shift solution finally arrives for MorphOS. I understand OS development is hard work, so I guess good things come to those who wait.
    DiscreetFX
    Making your
    Digital Films
    More Effective!
  • »19.02.21 - 05:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    sailor
    Posts: 183 from 2019/5/9
    From: Central Bohemi...
    Quote:

    polluks wrote:
    @sailor
    Are you talking about this?


    I dont know exactly - I know that Nvidia Nouveau have problem with kernel page size, custom kernel with 4kb page is needed on big-endian. I was playing with this when I had FX4500 inside my Quad.
    Regarding the amdgpu I know only that it doesn't works on big-endian ;-), thus we must use radeon, i.e. we are limited to northern island and lower cards.
    AmigaOS: Pegasos II, Sam440ep-flex, Micro A1-C, AmigaOneX1000
    MorphOS: Pegasos II, Powerbook G4, iMac G5, Powermac G5 Quad
  • »19.02.21 - 08:07
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11438 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > we are limited to northern island and lower cards.

    It's more complicated than that because the actual GPU microarchitecture line doesn't run along the graphics card family line. The Northern Islands (HD6000) family of cards also contains such with TeraScale 3 GPU (HD69x0) that isn't really supported by MorphOS. Likewise, the Southern Islands (HD7000) family of cards also contains such with TeraScale 2 GPU (HD7670 and below), which are supported by MorphOS. Even higher-numbered cards such as HD8000 family up to HD8490, and Sea Islands (Rx 200) family up to R5 235 have supported TeraScale 2 GPU.
    Btw, there's some ambiguity whether the names "Evergreen", "Northern Islands", "Southern Islands" etc. denote graphics cards families (HD5000, HD6000, HD7000 etc.) or GPU microarchitecture generations (TeraScale 2, TeraScale 3, GCN1 etc.). As you can see I assume the former, but even if assuming the latter, MorphOS support would be limited to Evergreen, not Northern Islands.
  • »19.02.21 - 10:46
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    Piru
    Posts: 503 from 2003/2/24
    From: finland, the l...
    Generally I think it is a better solution to get a setup that can run MorphOS right now than to wait for some support that may or may not arrive.

    Of course this is something that users with specific setups don't want to hear, and of course it is inconvenient if you can't have best of the both (or multiple) worlds easily in your system.

    We really need to focus on things that give most benefit for all users, not just some rather small subset of users of one particular system/setup. We also look at the registration numbers of specific models to see where the focus should be put. Before anyone asks, yes, we do understand that lacking driver support might not encourage registrations.

    Please don't read too much into this comment. It is not an official statement of any kind, just a friendly reminder that while some things would be great to have (from your point of view), it still might not happen anytime soon, if at all. You could be waiting for a very long time (if not forever).
  • »20.02.21 - 15:52
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    walkero
    Posts: 70 from 2006/3/1
    Hello guys,
    I am trying to boot on my X5000/40 MorphOS using a USB, but it stacks after bootmorphos and doesn't load at all.

    The last printed messages are:
    Trying to load "bootcyrusplus.img" from "SDH0:"...
    Loaded "bootcyrusplus.img" from "SDH0:", booting...

    After that stays on uboot grey screen without proceeding.

    Tested 4 different sticks but no luck with any of them. I also tried with no hard disk plugged in.

    In case the Gfx cards I tried on my machine are not supported, would I see something after that step, for example black screen or grumbled graphics? I tested an HD770, R9 280X and a Gigabyte GV-R725XOC-2GI.

    Any recommendation?
  • »08.06.21 - 19:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2491 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Not sure what HD770 is but it does not sound like you have a supported graphics card.
  • »08.06.21 - 21:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    walkero
    Posts: 70 from 2006/3/1
    @jacadcaps
    Thank you so much for your reply. I will try to find a compatible card and proceed with that. Does anyone have any card to recommend as the best choice?
  • »09.06.21 - 16:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11438 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Does anyone have any card to recommend as the best choice?

    Just for MorphOS? Or do you want to run other operating systems also?
  • »09.06.21 - 19:41
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    walkero
    Posts: 70 from 2006/3/1
    @Andreas_Wolf
    Just for MorphOS...
  • »09.06.21 - 23:30
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11438 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Just for MorphOS...

    Then it's the one mentioned there (or rather the one mentioned 5 comments later).
  • »10.06.21 - 00:18
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    walkero
    Posts: 70 from 2006/3/1
    Thank you so much Andreas. Will look for one of these cards. Probably for the X1950XT.
  • »10.06.21 - 00:23
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Primax
    Posts: 30 from 2021/7/2
    Quote:

    zukow schrieb:
    @Skateman

    The best card for X5000 with MorphOS is X1950XT. It supports 3d, overlay, 2d acceleration. it is quite cheap but powerfull. It is also supported by AmigaOs4.x although without 3d.


    I am currently trying to replace my Radeon HD5450 by the X1950 XT, at least for testing purpose because the card is too big for regular usage.
    The question: Do I have to manually change something in the options of MorphOS because after having booted the X5000, the Boing Ball appears, then the MOrphOS boot loader starts and then a black screen appears saying: Wrong screen resolution, set it to 1920x1080@60Hz.
    But I cannot do anything..

    Any hints?

    @walkero
    Have you already found and installed a XT? Any experiences?
    AmigaOne X5000 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon HD 5450 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition / MorphOS 3.15
    Amiga1200 / Blizzard 1230 IV / 128 MB RAM / AmigaOS 3.9
  • »26.07.21 - 05:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 19 from 2018/4/2
    I had the same issue when i ahve changed my GPU, the only way to solve is booting on the DVD and make a new install
    or maybe change manually the screen prefs afiter booting on the DVD.

    first try the boot on the dvd or the usb

    Regards
  • »30.07.21 - 13:40
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Primax
    Posts: 30 from 2021/7/2
    @gordini21

    Thank you very much for the hint!
    Yes, I could boot with the help of the USB-Stick.

    But I do not know what to do then...
    Because: In Prefs/Screens the correct graphics card is set (X1650Pro).
    Do I have to copy this prefs? Is this X1650 configuration only saved for/on the USB-Stick?

    The only strange issue: In prefs/monitors a wrong monitor (31kHZ) is set. But also if I enter there the correct values of my monitor, save and then try to boot with the SSD disk, I get the 'wrong screen resolution' message....
    AmigaOne X5000 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon HD 5450 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition / MorphOS 3.15
    Amiga1200 / Blizzard 1230 IV / 128 MB RAM / AmigaOS 3.9
  • »30.07.21 - 19:53
    Profile Visit Website
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1796 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    Primax wrote:
    @gordini21

    Thank you very much for the hint!
    Yes, I could boot with the help of the USB-Stick.

    But I do not know what to do then...
    Because: In Prefs/Screens the correct graphics card is set (X1650Pro).
    Do I have to copy this prefs? Is this X1650 configuration only saved for/on the USB-Stick?

    The only strange issue: In prefs/monitors a wrong monitor (31kHZ) is set. But also if I enter there the correct values of my monitor, save and then try to boot with the SSD disk, I get the 'wrong screen resolution' message....

    It's good that it works when booted from the USB stick, then you can get it to work from the installed system too.

    Withouth thinking this too well now, I'd have couple quick suggestions. You could remove (or rename to different name to be revertable) the System:Prefs/Env-Archive/MUI/screens.txt file. This defines which resolution and monitor Ambient and other screens are trying to open. And if this doesn't help, try the same with the System:Prefs/Env-Archive/sys/PublicScreens.prefs file.

    I think that if these files are missing, MorphOS tries to use something that it finds for defaults and it should work as booted from the installation media. These are probably created only after user has manually saved some related settings...

    EDIT:
    And of course you could try to boot MorphOS into some default resolution instead to a saved one. Press the CTRL key during the startup to get it forced to the 1024x768@75Hz VESA mode, or press the Shift key or LMB to get into the early startup boot menu where you can select between some other modes.

    [ Edited by jPV 31.07.2021 - 10:42 ]
  • »31.07.21 - 08:28
    Profile Visit Website