Can I make the partition Sythem larger with Morph?
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dirkzwager
    Posts: 23 from 2016/10/21
    Can I make the partition Sythem larger with Morph without having to format with HDconfig or is everything lost? I dare not play with this without knowing it, otherwise everything might be gone.
    I did a standard installation of Morphos 3.13 and Chrysalis.
    Now I have too little space when I start using UAE and a lot of extra's.

    Or does anyone know if this goes with Amiga os4.1? ( HDtoolbox )
    There is probably not much difference between Morph and Amigaos in this.
    Powerbook G4 1.67 and 17", Morphos 3.13
    Power Mac G5 2.3 DP
    Sam 460 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE
    Amiga 4000/040 and The Picasso 4 ( yes the 4 )
    Amiga 500 plus
  • »01.04.20 - 22:28
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 777 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    No, partitions cannot be resized on the fly on AmigaOS and MorphOS.
  • »01.04.20 - 22:41
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dirkzwager
    Posts: 23 from 2016/10/21
    Thanks for the anser.
    Than i make a clean insall.
    Now problem.
    Powerbook G4 1.67 and 17", Morphos 3.13
    Power Mac G5 2.3 DP
    Sam 460 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE
    Amiga 4000/040 and The Picasso 4 ( yes the 4 )
    Amiga 500 plus
  • »01.04.20 - 23:06
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2418 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Actually, you could, provided all contents after the paritition you've enlarged becomes lost - there's no way to move data (other than backing it up). Boot from CD, change the size in HDConfig, save partition layout, boot the CD again and run SFSDoctor. That ought to do the trick.
  • »01.04.20 - 23:07
    Profile Visit Website
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1762 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    dirkzwager wrote:
    Than i make a clean insall.

    If you still would like to keep your already installed system, backupping to some SFS (or other Amiga compatible filesystem) works too (external USB storage can be formatted to SFS etc). After backupping you can just boot from MorphOS CD, resize and format the needed partitions, and copy your backup back to the partitions. Use MirrorCopy if you have softlinks (SDK installed) or standard "Copy source:#? dest: ALL CLONE QUIET" in other cases.
  • »02.04.20 - 06:33
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dirkzwager
    Posts: 23 from 2016/10/21
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    Actually, you could, provided all contents after the paritition you've enlarged becomes lost - there's no way to move data (other than backing it up). Boot from CD, change the size in HDConfig, save partition layout, boot the CD again and run SFSDoctor. That ought to do the trick.


    Ok i will do that.
    Powerbook G4 1.67 and 17", Morphos 3.13
    Power Mac G5 2.3 DP
    Sam 460 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE
    Amiga 4000/040 and The Picasso 4 ( yes the 4 )
    Amiga 500 plus
  • »02.04.20 - 12:49
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    dirkzwager
    Posts: 23 from 2016/10/21
    Fixt, all working again.
    Powerbook G4 1.67 and 17", Morphos 3.13
    Power Mac G5 2.3 DP
    Sam 460 and AmigaOS 4.1 FE
    Amiga 4000/040 and The Picasso 4 ( yes the 4 )
    Amiga 500 plus
  • »02.04.20 - 13:49
    Profile