Mac Mini G4 adventuring
  • esc
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    esc
    Posts: 125 from 2013/5/28
    Hey guys,

    I just impulse bought a Mac Mini G4 - the 1.50ghz with the 64mb Radeon card.

    Anyway, I'm going to take it apart and upgrade the hard drive, RAM, replace the coin battery cell, and then plan to configure it for triple boot - OSX/MorphOS/Gentoo.

    I also plan to do some fun experiments in each of the OSes. I'm considering blogging this, if people think it'd be useful, but don't want to invest the time if nobody cares. Let me know if you think this would be of interest.

    Thanks!
  • »15.05.18 - 01:56
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Debaser
    Posts: 149 from 2005/7/12
    From: Syracuse, NY, USA
    Nice one in getting a 64mb Radeon mac mini - nice machines for Morphos. Good luck on your upgrades and yeah... I'd read your blog posts about it - go for it and have fun.
  • »15.05.18 - 02:05
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2504 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Shastina,...
    Quote:

    esc wrote:
    Hey guys,

    I just impulse bought a Mac Mini G4 - the 1.50ghz with the 64mb Radeon card.

    Anyway, I'm going to take it apart and upgrade the hard drive, RAM, replace the coin battery cell, and then plan to configure it for triple boot - OSX/MorphOS/Gentoo.

    I also plan to do some fun experiments in each of the OSes. I'm considering blogging this, if people think it'd be useful, but don't want to invest the time if nobody cares. Let me know if you think this would be of interest.

    Thanks!


    Your blog will probably be more interesting to AmigaOS4 users who are curious about getting a cheap system to run MorphOS on, than it will be for long time MorphOS users that have been visiting MorphZone for several years, so make sure you also mention your blog on other forums, where the AmigaOS4 users hang out most of the time.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »15.05.18 - 02:54
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    geit
    Posts: 915 from 2004/9/23
    Yeah, the Mac Mini G4 was the first supported MorphOS Mac System and most people got these right away. Later on the "market" got more spread with PowerBooks or PowerMacs.
  • »15.05.18 - 11:04
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Debaser
    Posts: 149 from 2005/7/12
    From: Syracuse, NY, USA
    Now a G4 Cube on the other hand.... :) :)
  • »16.05.18 - 23:48
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9932 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > G4 Cube is compatible ?

    Yes, it is, see http://www.morphos-team.net/hardware, but with limitations ("Lacks support for the bundled USB audio hardware.").
  • »17.05.18 - 09:57
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 825 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Papiosaur wrote:
    Hi Debaser,

    G4 Cube is compatible ?




    From what I know it's "silently" compatible. MorphOS will run on it, but the network card is not supported, so you have to work offline (and cannot register the machine).
  • »17.05.18 - 10:40
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    Henes
    Posts: 496 from 2003/6/14
    "Devs/Networks/SunGEM
    [...]
    Fixed network setup on PowerMac5,1 (Cube)"

    Extract from http://www.morphos-team.net/releasenotes/3.4

    So, Cube's network hardware is also "silently" compatible ;-)
  • »18.05.18 - 10:00
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 9932 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Cube's network hardware is [...] compatible

    What about Cube's USB audio hardware? Has it become compatible with MorphOS 3.10? (I know it's still stated to be incompatible on the MorphOS website, as mentioned above, but this may be an oversight.)
  • »18.05.18 - 12:15
    Profile
  • esc
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    esc
    Posts: 125 from 2013/5/28
    Haha looks like cube is more interesting than mini, so I’ll skip blogging in that case. :)

    FWIW, I’ve got OS X 10.5.8 dual booting with MorphOS 3.10 so far. Gentoo installation is ongoing. Last night I found an updated stage3 tarball as well as updated kernel for the Mac mini g4 specifically, with more modern gcc (among other things). I changed the desktop profile and ran the emerge deep newuse world (not exact command, paraphrasing) and it’s been building overnight. We’ll see how it goes!
  • »18.05.18 - 16:25
    Profile
  • esc
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    esc
    Posts: 125 from 2013/5/28
    Quick update if anyone is interested -

    Holy crap getting from 0 to 1 with gentoo took some effort, but now I have a fast booting and fast compiling (for a G4!) basic GNU/linux powerpc mac. Pretty cool.

    Networking works, the kernel is rather new, nothing is broken, 'dmesg' doesn't throw any huge red flags. Kernel configuration was a pain, but so far so good. The hardest part was figuring out yaboot.

    Now, onward to configure xorg!
  • »20.05.18 - 10:17
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 223 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Congrats! Yes, yaboot really is the source of endless pain.. :-(
    PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] A1200. ACA-1233/55, Indivision AGA Mk2, 4 GiB CF. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »20.05.18 - 12:33
    Profile
  • esc
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    esc
    Posts: 125 from 2013/5/28
    In case anyone cares, I finally got xorg working. FINALLY. :D

    I had some issues with the radeon framebuffer and somehow or another got a reliable desktop experience. This was tough...required some hard reboots. I also had to add a custom boot parameter in yaboot (can't remember off the top of my head). I believe it simply turned off KMS.

    In any case, things are moving forward. I'm opting for a simple openbox desktop experience to keep things lightweight.

    Once I get gentoo looking and feeling the way that I want, I'll try configuring grub2...because I'm a special kind of masochist, I suppose.
  • »21.05.18 - 18:29
    Profile
  • esc
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    esc
    Posts: 125 from 2013/5/28
    Gentoo has a lot of packages without the 'ppc' keyword that do build and function as expected on the ppc architecture. As I discover these, I'm filing bugs to get the keyword added.

    Is anyone interested in running linux on their G4 Mac Mini? Right now, booted into a full desktop, I'm only consuming ~70mb of RAM. Very nice. :)
  • »22.05.18 - 17:26
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    igracki
    Posts: 292 from 2003/2/25
    From: Berlin
    Hi esc,

    would it be possible to use an MacMini with a "corrupt" gfx chip (some gfx glitches), install linux on it with no desktop just a terminal, setup a cross compiler and some other packages (samba, ssh) to use it remotely w/o monitor/keyboard/mouse as a cross building system?
  • »22.05.18 - 18:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • esc
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    esc
    Posts: 125 from 2013/5/28
    Yep! Should be totally possible. You can just use fbdev, as far as I know. If you can boot a gentoo ppc livecd, you should be good to go.
  • »22.05.18 - 18:50
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 223 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    @Igracki: Yes. Works very well via ssh or even VNC. Most of the time the graphics glitches only occur if you run X on the card - console only is no problem.
    PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] A1200. ACA-1233/55, Indivision AGA Mk2, 4 GiB CF. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »22.05.18 - 19:49
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 223 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    @esc: I would not do a Gentoo keyword request (link) for any package you don't find keyworded for ppc/ppc64, only for the ones you really run on your system. Getting packages into the architectures testing phase "~ppc" (link) is not a big problem most of the time. Getting and maintaining them into stable "ppc" status can be quite a maintainance burden for devs. ;-) But filing bugs if a package already in ~ppc or ppc does not build or fails some tests on your machine is always a good idea!

    Also I am very interested in your grub2 efforts! yaboot has been giving me headaches for a long time...
    PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] A1200. ACA-1233/55, Indivision AGA Mk2, 4 GiB CF. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »22.05.18 - 20:08
    Profile
  • esc
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    esc
    Posts: 125 from 2013/5/28
    Yeah, I noticed that the bugs I filed to get the 'ppc' keyword added were amended to add '~ppc' - this now makes total sense. FWIW I was filing bugs per the gentoo ppc wiki page, which suggests to do so if you can build and use a package that was untested on this arch, so...just trying to provide a bit of signal. :)

    Thanks!
  • »22.05.18 - 21:03
    Profile
  • esc
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    esc
    Posts: 125 from 2013/5/28
    After several days of mucking around with use flags trying to get Firefox to build, I finally got it working. So now I have a fully fledged Linux desktop on my Mac mini. I just need to theme it and install things like decent fonts and icons. This has been very satisfying :)
  • »24.05.18 - 16:12
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 235 from 2012/4/28
    Quote:

    esc escribió:
    Hey guys,

    I just impulse bought a Mac Mini G4 - the 1.50ghz with the 64mb Radeon card.

    Anyway, I'm going to take it apart and upgrade the hard drive, RAM, replace the coin battery cell, and then plan to configure it for triple boot - OSX/MorphOS/Gentoo.

    I also plan to do some fun experiments in each of the OSes. I'm considering blogging this, if people think it'd be useful, but don't want to invest the time if nobody cares. Let me know if you think this would be of interest.

    Thanks!


    Stop with change the hard drive, I did with my first Mac Mini G4 I upgraded to SSD and the Mac Mini took the crazy because the Mac boot sometime doesn't recognize the hard disk, and I have change the drive to start the computer, the other upgrades like button cell and RAM work fine, but he hard disk not.
    Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT 500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
    WinUAE + original OS 3.5&3.9
    Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 F.E.
    Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 + Update 6.
    MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.11
    PowerBook G4 1.65 + MorphOS 3.11
  • »27.05.18 - 11:30
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 1778 from 2003/2/24
    So you bought a crappy SSD....

    Had 2 MacMini over the time, both had an SSD, never had such problems.
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »27.05.18 - 13:34
    Profile
  • esc
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    esc
    Posts: 125 from 2013/5/28
    Yeah, my hard drive is fine, survived multiple reboots among three operating systems.
  • »27.05.18 - 16:51
    Profile