Freepascal inclusive LCL for MorphOS
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/3/31
    Last WE I fixed some serious bugs inside freepascal library units for morphos, therefore now the Lazarus component library (LCL) can be compiled automatically every night by my server.

    It creates a ready-to-use package with Freepascal some tools, RTL, FCL, LCL and a short readme and place it to my webpage: FPC Experimental Release Packages

    If someone is interested in it, take it, try it.
    Please notice, the LCL is far from finished, still many bugs inside, some items will not work or just crash. But its alreay enough to make some simple application or games. Example sources for such little applications can be found at GitHub

    For more informations check my Blog
  • »06.03.16 - 15:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 243 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    Well done!
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.9
  • »06.03.16 - 17:57
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 236 from 2013/5/29
    Tried a few examples. Very good work!!
    PowerMac G5 and PowerBook G4 with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »06.03.16 - 19:52
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1023 from 2003/6/17
    very nice!!
  • »07.03.16 - 14:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 162 from 2012/4/28
    Thanks for your time developing this software!
    Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT 500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
    WinUAE + original OS 3.5&3.9
    Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 F.E.
    Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 + Update 6. K.O.
    MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.9
    PowerBook G4 1.65 + MorphOS 3.9
  • »12.03.16 - 18:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/3/31
    Youtube Video of working EdiSyn on MorphOS

    EdiSyn@MorphOS Video

    Sorry for the slow speed, recorded via VNC is there a screen recorder for MorphOS?

    some serious LCL bugs removed
    - layers for Buffer bitmap
    - size calculation
    - redrawing on resize
  • »16.03.16 - 20:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • pOS
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    pOS
    Posts: 191 from 2003/11/14
    From: Bavaria
    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=11159&forum=3
  • »16.03.16 - 20:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/3/31
    I created a virtual machine with cross compilers for Amiga, AROS and MorphOS and a working Lazarus able to compile LCL programs for all this platforms.

    download at Blog Entry (1.6 GB)

    Video showing how to use: (Create/Compile for Amiga, AROS and MorphOS)

    Video on Youtube
  • »20.04.16 - 17:17
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 135 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    Very cool ALB42, thank,

    i download your VM.

    But i can t install another language :-(
    "Could not install the full language support"

    i want French lol because my keybord is azerty not querty or it's possible to change just keyboard ?

    I want to test ^^

    Thanks you
    MacMini 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    My MOS ports
  • »21.04.16 - 18:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/3/31
    to be honest, I'm not an expert ;) but as far as I see, to install the language you have to start it with root permission so type in xterm

    sudo gnome-language-selector

    I'm not sure if you need, it you can just set your keyboard language with

    setxkbmap fr

    if you want to have it automatically for every bootup, just add it at end of

    /home/test/.profile

    I tried with ubuntu... but it was >20GB installation, so I changed to this smaller one, maybe later I try to use DSL again, its much smaller.

    I'm curious about any results/experience, good ..... or bad :P
  • »21.04.16 - 18:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 135 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    ok thanks, i test that.

    I compiled my first app with it lol.
    MacMini 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    My MOS ports
  • »21.04.16 - 19:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/3/31
    grats ;-)

    I added a little FAQ for this Release

    http://blog.alb42.de/virtual-lazarus/#faq
  • »21.04.16 - 20:19
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/3/31
    @beworld: did it work?
  • »23.04.16 - 11:48
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Blasterreal
    Posts: 31 from 2007/3/30
    Posible Ubuntu installation ? if posible please add guide
  • »23.04.16 - 19:00
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 135 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    @ALB42 yessssssss it work :-) thanks
    MacMini 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.9
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.9
    My MOS ports
  • »24.04.16 - 07:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 137 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Very interesting indeed! Thanks ALB42!
    PMac G5 11,2. PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. PBook G4 5,6. [MorphOS 3.9 / Gentoo Linux / Ubuntu MATE 16.10] 2 x A1200. ACA-1233/55, ACA1232/40, Indivision AGA Mk2, 4 GiB CF. [Amiga OS 3.9]
  • »24.04.16 - 12:21
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/3/31
    thanks for the feedback. Do not hesitate to report errors/problems you find. It's still very alpha and with your reports you can steer the direction of development ;)


    @Blasterreal: The installed linux is based on Ubuntu and I use personally Ubuntu at home. To install the complete package is not trivial I started a how to for AROS crossinstall.

    Manual for crossinstaller AROS

    for MorphOS will be rather the same. just "OS_TARGET=morphos CPU_TARGET=powerpc" instead "OS_TARGET=aros CPU_TARGET=i386" and you have to change the lazarus git brnach to lazarus-morphos

    But take care, the manual is not finished, only if you have a deeper understanding of Linux you should try.

    [ Edited by ALB42 25.04.2016 - 19:55 ]
  • »25.04.16 - 16:53
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/3/31
    New Virtual Lazarus crosscompiler setup for <u>all</u> Amiga systems.

    Changes:
    * FIX: Redraw problems on AmigaOS3
    * FIX: Size problems
    * FIX: Mouse event crashes
    * ADD: Support for AmigaOS4
    * CHG: Striped image from unneeded things, reduced download size

    For more informations check: http://blog.alb42.de/2016/05/16/virtual-lazarus-v2/
  • »16.05.16 - 19:17
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/3/31
    Playing with Images and Networking.

    https://youtu.be/8vlcMqOm62Q

    more at
    http://blog.alb42.de

    [ Edited by ALB42 21.05.2016 - 00:42 ]
  • »20.05.16 - 21:41
    Profile Visit Website
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 835 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    @ ALB42

    Looks neat.

    A few thoughts:

    1. The name is as cryptic as it gets :) How about "OpenMaps"?

    2. Having the statistics in a separate window is perfectly fine. But given that search functionality is most likely going to be used a lot, it is a pity that one has to open a separate window to access this part of the app. The search field could probably be put in the main toolbar if the form layout is streamlined: In popular map applications, it appears to be common these days that you enter either coordinates (lattitude and longitude (in this order) separated by comma or a slash) or the name of a place / an address in the very same input field, which would leave only the search results to be put outside the toolbar (overlaying right side of the map view?).
  • »21.05.16 - 09:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/3/31
    @ASiegel

    Thanks for your comments, but I'm not sure it will really become a (releaseable) program. In the end the most will use the Openstreetmap.org in Webbrowser, which I got as comment already: "Useless work, one can just use MorphOS Webbrowser".

    But for me it's more interrest in Image handling and networking/caching, (Networking I did before already with a torrent client for AROS from scratch) and to debug my LCL work.

    But also the program can be for use for me, for reading/showing/saving of KMZ and GPX waypoints and routes (recorded bicycle routes) would be more interresting for me than just plain search. So all this gui is more for debug. (the search input already accepts Lat. Lon. coordinates, separated by a space)

    And of course, and thats the only reason I publish the work here, to inspire people to use Lazarus/FreePascal to make programs for any Amiga-like-system, to show what is possible. Because, as it seems, I'm still the only one really using it.
  • »22.05.16 - 08:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 835 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    Quote:

    ALB42 wrote:
    @ASiegel

    Thanks for your comments, but I'm not sure it will really become a (releaseable) program. In the end the most will use the Openstreetmap.org in Webbrowser, which I got as comment already: "Useless work, one can just use MorphOS Webbrowser".

    All major desktop operating systems (i.e. Windows and MacOS) include dedicated map applications so I am sure someone is using them (I know I have). In terms of memory consumption (and startup time), I would assume your app is more efficient than a full-blown web browser.


    Quote:

    And of course, and thats the only reason I publish the work here, to inspire people to use Lazarus/FreePascal to make programs for any Amiga-like-system, to show what is possible. Because, as it seems, I'm still the only one really using it.

    Perhaps sharing sample code might inspire developer to play around with it more seriously.
  • »22.05.16 - 15:33
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/3/31
    Quote:

    ASiegel wrote:
    All major desktop operating systems (i.e. Windows and MacOS) include dedicated map applications so I am sure someone is using them (I know I have). In terms of memory consumption (and startup time), I would assume your app is more efficient than a full-blown web browser.


    This is how i came to this idea... Google earth... rather huge packet.


    Quote:

    Perhaps sharing sample code might inspire developer to play around with it more seriously.



    if you look into the first post you will find a GitHub Link to many testcode. Very simple just to show which elements are working already, but also full featured Games (ColorIt, Mines) or Applications (EdiSyn, ImageViewer).
  • »22.05.16 - 16:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/3/31
    Updated with Tracks and Waypoints, also the search relocated :-P

    http://blog.alb42.de/2016/05/22/uh-there-is-the-way/
  • »22.05.16 - 22:13
    Profile Visit Website