dynamite working on MOS?
  • Visitor
  • Hi, i just registered because i have a problem running dynamite on MorphOS.

    First time i tried it asked for identify.library v13 so i downloaded the 68k version v37 (is there a native MOS version?) and put it into my sys:libs folder. Now when i try to start dynamite i get an error like "Unable to create MUI application". SnoopDOS tells me that dynamite can't find libs.catalog (fails)?!?

    I'm using Morphos 3.5.1 on a Powermac MDD, 1,25 GByte of RAM and a Radeon 9000 with 64MByte VRAM.

    I'm fairly new to MorphOS and haven't been in contact with something Amiga-like since 2002. I hope someone can help me out with that. :-)
  • »23.05.14 - 12:55
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 747 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    I'm guessing, but you may be missing a MUI .mcc somewhere.

    Confirm you have:

    BetterBalance.mcc
    BetterString.mcc
    BetterString.mcp
    Busy.mcc
    Busy.mcp
    HotkeyString.mcc
    Lamp.mcc
    Lamp.mcp
    NBalance.mcc
    NBitmap.mcc
    NFloattest.mcc
    NList.mcc
    NListtree.mcc
    NListtree.mcp
    NListview.mcc
    NListviews.mcp

    You'll also need guigfx.library and render.library. I don't know if these are still packaged with MOS (they were needed by MysticView), so if you don't have them get them from aminet.

    On my UAE image of Workbench, guigfx.library 20.0 (26.04.2003) and render.library 30.0 (24 May 99) were needed to get ANR and DynAMIte to run, but as I say MorphOS may still come with better versions packaged.
  • »17.04.20 - 00:49
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1645 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Dynamite works still on MorphOS. And when checking the MUI classes, check first if you have them already in SYS:MorphOS/Classes/MUI/ and only install if you don't have them there. And of course the 3rd party classes go into SYS:Classes/MUI then, not there with the provided system files. guigfx and render libraries are provided by default too, so no need to check them.
  • »17.04.20 - 06:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    eliot
    Posts: 511 from 2004/4/15
    Oh yes, dynamite is great!
    I love this game.
    Is there any Linux Server?
    I can host a server for online Gaming then.

    BTW It runs perfectly here.

    [ Edited by eliot 18.04.2020 - 11:53 ]
    regards
    eliot
  • »18.04.20 - 07:54
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 747 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    DynAMIte was written in AmigaE, so there's not much chance of porting the server to other platforms even without a GUI.
  • »18.04.20 - 12:00
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 335 from 2013/5/29
    Perhaps a guiless version of the server could be ported to windows with PortablE?
    Dynamite is a nice game.
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »18.04.20 - 15:13
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2706 from 2006/3/21
    From: Lake Arrowhead...
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    Just FYI, there's now a similar game with support for online matches for MorphOS and other operating systems:

    http://www.goldencode.de
    http://www.goldencode.eu

    (requires the data from the commercial game release)


    Was this FYI for the original poster, or a late April Fools joke on the rest of us (since the thread was started about 6 years ago, your answer is just a little late, I think)
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »18.04.20 - 17:22
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 747 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    Answered for the sake of anyone else having problems with DynAMIte on MorphOS, as I missed the original thread. Hopefully google will lead them here.

    Andreas really needs to cut out the thread necromancy though and get a hobby.
  • »18.04.20 - 20:20
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10974 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Was this FYI for the original poster

    It was FYI with the 'Y' meaning the plural pronoun, i.e. for everybody interested in online/networking games similar to dynAMIte, especially if they cannot get it to work for whatever reason.

    > or a late April Fools joke

    It would be missing some sort of punchline then :-)

    > since the thread was started about 6 years ago,
    > your answer is just a little late, I think

    This doesn't matter much, I think, because I couldn't help him with his dynAMIte issue anyway, and the online/networking feature was added to Atomic Bomberman just recently.
  • »18.04.20 - 21:37
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10974 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Answered for the sake of anyone else having problems with DynAMIte
    > on MorphOS, as I missed the original thread. Hopefully google will lead
    > them here. Andreas really needs to cut out the thread necromancy though

    Your helpful answer wouldn't be in this thread if it wasn't for my thread necromancy, would it? :-) Anybody who was led here before by Google in search for help left none the wiser.
  • »18.04.20 - 21:40
    Profile