MorphOS SDK 3.14 and GCC9
  • MDW
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    MDW
    Posts: 451 from 2003/7/26
    From: Wroclaw/Poland
    Hello

    I use FlowStudio with GCC5. However after release MorphOS 3.13 I decided to download new SDK (3.14) and switch to GCC9. Unfortunately when I try to compile my project with GCC9 I have message:

    Code:
    ### Build Start ###
    make: Entering directory `/Files/MDW/dev/MyProject'
    mkdir: missing operand
    Try 'mkdir --help' for more information.
    make: *** [MKDIR_RELEASE] Error 1
    make: Leaving directory `/Files/MDW/dev/MyProject'
    ### Build End ###


    If I switch to GCC8, everything is ok, project is compiled and linked with success, executable file is ok.

    Where is the problem? Makefile generated by FlowStudio uses mkdir but... it looks ok. Why if I use GCC8 everything is ok?

    I noticed, if I set in Project Setings "g++-8", next to cycle gadget I see (shaded) "ppc-morphos-g++-8". If I set "g++-5", I see "ppc-morphos-g++-5", etc... However if I set "g++-9", the shaded label is empty.
    It is strange because I have GG:bin/ppc-morphos-g++-9.
  • »08.02.20 - 18:49
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 105 from 2019/11/1
    Your have to use only gcc and g++ command binary in flow studio
  • »08.02.20 - 20:36
    Profile Visit Website
  • MDW
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    MDW
    Posts: 451 from 2003/7/26
    From: Wroclaw/Poland
    Quote:

    Flash wrote:
    Your have to use only gcc and g++ command binary in flow studio

    Will gcc-9 be used if I set in project settings gcc and g++?

    I am not sure because in GG:bin/ I see:
    ppc-morphos-gcc <link to ppc-morphos-gcc-2.95.3>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-2.95.3 <file>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-4 <link to ppc-morphos-gcc-4.4.5>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-4.4.5 <file>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-5 <file>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-7 <file>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-8 <file>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-9 <file>

    ppc-morphos-g++ also is link to ppc-morphos-g++-2.95.3

    So gcc and g++ probably use gcc-2.95.3, not gcc-9.
  • »09.02.20 - 11:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 502 from 2013/5/29
    type in a shell "gcc -v" and see to what version gcc is refered
    MorphOS: PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini.
    Classic: Amiga 1200/060 - A500 PiStorm
  • »09.02.20 - 13:47
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Flash
    Posts: 105 from 2019/11/1
    Quote:

    MDW wrote:
    Quote:

    Flash wrote:
    Your have to use only gcc and g++ command binary in flow studio

    Will gcc-9 be used if I set in project settings gcc and g++?

    I am not sure because in GG:bin/ I see:
    ppc-morphos-gcc <link to ppc-morphos-gcc-2.95.3>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-2.95.3 <file>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-4 <link to ppc-morphos-gcc-4.4.5>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-4.4.5 <file>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-5 <file>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-7 <file>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-8 <file>
    ppc-morphos-gcc-9 <file>

    ppc-morphos-g++ also is link to ppc-morphos-g++-2.95.3

    So gcc and g++ probably use gcc-2.95.3, not gcc-9.


    Gcc —version, under mos 3.12 or better should be v9
  • »09.02.20 - 14:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2971 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Err, you've just hit a bug in Flow. It'll probably work OK if you re-create the project.

    On a side note, I do NOT recommend using 'gcc' in your makefiles, etc. Always best to use the full name. Saves problems if you want to cross-compile your project or target different archs explicitly.
  • »09.02.20 - 17:35
    Profile Visit Website
  • MDW
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    MDW
    Posts: 451 from 2003/7/26
    From: Wroclaw/Poland
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    Err, you've just hit a bug in Flow. It'll probably work OK if you re-create the project.

    Hehe. Ok, I will recreate project. However I probably have to keep gcc8 because my code is not ready for gcc9. :) And I have strange message "unrecognized option '-MP'". I am not sure if gcc9 allows to force C++ standard (e.g. -std=c++11). This version of gcc works strange for me. :)

    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    On a side note, I do NOT recommend using 'gcc' in your makefiles, etc. Always best to use the full name. Saves problems if you want to cross-compile your project or target different archs explicitly.

    Ok, I will specify version of gcc/g++ in each project. :)

    [ Edited by MDW 09.02.2020 - 19:33 ]
  • »09.02.20 - 19:15
    Profile Visit Website
  • MDW
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    MDW
    Posts: 451 from 2003/7/26
    From: Wroclaw/Poland
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    Err, you've just hit a bug in Flow. It'll probably work OK if you re-create the project.

    If I create new empty project, and select "gcc-9" and "g++-9" (in "Project Settings"), full name of gcc version also is not visible next to cycle button. So re-creating project doesn't help.
  • »21.02.20 - 22:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • IKE
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    IKE
    Posts: 146 from 2009/11/7
    From: Southern CA
    I am encountering the same mkdir issue as mentioned above whether it is a new or existing project and across various compiler selections.

    IKE
    IKE

    MacMini G4 1.5Ghz/PowerBook G4 1.67Ghz/PowerMac G5 2.0Ghz DP 7,2 Radeon 9650/256MB

    Join the conversation @ r/morphos
  • »26.02.20 - 20:18
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    Nadir
    Posts: 157 from 2003/3/17
    Quote:

    MDW wrote:
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    Err, you've just hit a bug in Flow. It'll probably work OK if you re-create the project.

    If I create new empty project, and select "gcc-9" and "g++-9" (in "Project Settings"), full name of gcc version also is not visible next to cycle button. So re-creating project doesn't help.


    Hi,

    Yes, that's a confirmed bug in the latest FlowStudio release. I'm sorry but you will have to either pick the gcc option or set the compiler name manually to ppc-morphos-gcc-9. This has been fixed in the meanwhile but you will have to wait for the next MorphOS release for the update.
  • »27.02.20 - 10:55
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    connor
    Posts: 570 from 2007/7/29
    You could update the SDK and include the fixed FlowStudio. Then people don't have to wait for the next MOS release.
  • »27.02.20 - 11:21
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2971 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    An SDK update is mostly ready. We might include a Flow Studio update in it for sure.

    The only problem is that the machine I use to build the SDK is currently unusable - crashes when compiling :| I've replaced the PSU, the box passes ASD tests just fine and still... Guess either the mobo or CPU are faulty. I'll look into the SDK as soon as I can secure a new G5.
  • »27.02.20 - 13:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    Nadir
    Posts: 157 from 2003/3/17
    Quote:

    connor wrote:
    You could update the SDK and include the fixed FlowStudio. Then people don't have to wait for the next MOS release.


    Well, let's see. To be honest, I don't really see the need for an emergency bugfix when one can just set the compiler manually in the string gadget for the time being.
  • »27.02.20 - 13:49
    Profile
  • IKE
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    IKE
    Posts: 146 from 2009/11/7
    From: Southern CA
    Thanks for the clarification

    IKE
    IKE

    MacMini G4 1.5Ghz/PowerBook G4 1.67Ghz/PowerMac G5 2.0Ghz DP 7,2 Radeon 9650/256MB

    Join the conversation @ r/morphos
  • »27.02.20 - 15:25
    Profile Visit Website
  • MDW
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    MDW
    Posts: 451 from 2003/7/26
    From: Wroclaw/Poland
    Quote:

    Nadir wrote:
    Yes, that's a confirmed bug in the latest FlowStudio release. I'm sorry but you will have to either pick the gcc option or set the compiler name manually to ppc-morphos-gcc-9. This has been fixed in the meanwhile but you will have to wait for the next MorphOS release for the update.

    No problem. If I know that update fixes the issue, I can wait. Thank you for support! Flow Studio rules! 😃👍
  • »27.02.20 - 15:53
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 78 from 2020/5/1
    I have the latest SDK and still get the MKDIR error. What's the workaround until it's fixed?
  • »12.05.20 - 21:31
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 502 from 2013/5/29
    You can use Custom compiler and type gcc. It will use gcc 9.
    MorphOS: PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini.
    Classic: Amiga 1200/060 - A500 PiStorm
  • »12.05.20 - 21:38
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 78 from 2020/5/1
    Quote:

    tolkien wrote:
    You can use Custom compiler and type gcc. It will use gcc 9.


    Still the same (from the first post, but exactly the same problem):
    ### Build Start ###
    make: Entering directory `/Files/MDW/dev/MyProject'
    mkdir: missing operand
    Try 'mkdir --help' for more information.
    make: *** [MKDIR_RELEASE] Error 1
    make: Leaving directory `/Files/MDW/dev/MyProject'
    ### Build End ###

    What's the operand that mkdir is missing?
  • »12.05.20 - 21:51
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 502 from 2013/5/29
    and what about with: ppc-morphos-gcc-9 ?
    I using it without problema.
    MorphOS: PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini.
    Classic: Amiga 1200/060 - A500 PiStorm
  • »13.05.20 - 20:17
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 78 from 2020/5/1
    Quote:

    tolkien wrote:
    and what about with: ppc-morphos-gcc-9 ?
    I using it without problema.


    Still the same. (Flags, Include paths and Definitions are empty.)

    Compiling from console is of course working fine.
  • »13.05.20 - 23:03
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 779 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    Just for the record
    Code:
    > ppc-morphos-gcc --version
    2.95.3
    > gcc --version
    gcc (GCC/MorphOS) 9.3.0
    Copyright (C) 2019 Free Software Foundation, Inc.
    This is free software; see the source for copying conditions. There is NO
    warranty; not even for MERCHANTABILITY or FITNESS FOR A PARTICULAR PURPOSE.

    FlowStudio was using the first one
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W · iMac G5 12,1 17", MorphOS 3.18
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.18
  • »06.11.20 - 16:05
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2794 from 2006/3/21
    From: Northern Calif...
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    An SDK update is mostly ready. We might include a Flow Studio update in it for sure.

    The only problem is that the machine I use to build the SDK is currently unusable - crashes when compiling :| I've replaced the PSU, the box passes ASD tests just fine and still... Guess either the mobo or CPU are faulty. I'll look into the SDK as soon as I can secure a new G5.


    I don't know if you have already replaced your G5 yet, but I have a spare Dual 2.7GHz G5 I could donate, if needed. Are you still in Canada, or back across the "Pond"? Shipping to Europe would be too expensive, but to Canada, it wouldn't be prohibitive.

    [ Edited by amigadave 06.11.2020 - 12:30 ]
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »06.11.20 - 21:29
    Profile