X1000 and A1222
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    amigadave
    Posts: 2793 from 2006/3/21
    From: Northern Calif...
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > [...] assuming that Polaris support will be released before or together with Tabor.

    https://amigaworld.net/modules/news/article.php?storyid=8282

    Interestingly, the X1000 doesn't support GCN4/Polaris cards (needs CFE update for this).

    "The CFE source code/development was done prior to us getting involved. We are working to obtain the source code so we can update it for modern graphics cards."
    https://amigaworld.net/modules/news/article.php?storyid=8282#99967


    I am a little concerned about future support for any OS on the X1000, but can't blame Trevor much, as he did suggest to me that I wait for the X5000, before, or at the time I ordered my X1000. I think that support for AmigaOS4.1FE and any later versions, is questionable on any hardware, considering the current state of affairs at Hyperion, and the continuing (mis)management of the development by the primary stock holder's past, present, and likely to continue future decisions.

    I don't expect to ever see MorphOS running on the X1000, but that doesn't stop me from hoping that one or two MorphOS Dev. Team members port 3.11, or some future version to the X1000 (perhaps as a bounty???), in the future.
    MorphOS - The best Next Gen Amiga choice.
  • »26.10.18 - 03:46
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11724 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> the X1000 doesn't support GCN4/Polaris cards (needs CFE update for this).

    > I am a little concerned about future support for any OS
    > on the X1000 [...]. I think that support for AmigaOS4.1FE
    > and any later versions, is questionable on any hardware

    Just to note that what I reported has nothing to do with any OS but is apparently a compatibility issue between board firmware and graphics cards. A-Eon seems willing to eliminate the issue by updating the firmware as soon as it is able to get hold of the source code. What I find strange though (and did so already 2 years ago when I reported first about it) is that a hardware company doesn't have the source code to the firmware for its own board.
  • »26.10.18 - 13:31
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11724 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    Update:

    >> 1080P resolutions are kind of expected by the general public.
    >> How well do you think an A1222 will do at this resolution?

    > In case you refer to video decoding:
    > The result depends on the UVD support of the OS. An OS with UVD support
    > like Linux will do fine even with a low-end GPU. An OS without UVD support
    > (as well as for the 2nd CPU core) will do badly even with a high-end GPU
    > as not supporting UVD means the CPU will have to do the H264 1080p
    > decoding which a single 1.2 GHz e500v2 core cannot do in realtime.

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?forum=55&topic_id=12184&start=239
  • »07.01.20 - 15:51
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11724 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    Update:

    > A-Eon seems willing to eliminate the issue by updating the firmware as soon as
    > it is able to get hold of the source code. What I find strange though […] is that a
    > hardware company doesn't have the source code to the firmware for its own board.

    "in 2012, A-EON Technology Ltd paid a Hyperion contractor for the last CFE update to fix support for the Voodoo graphics cards and a few minor issues. […] When then RX compatiblity issue was first identified I asked for the source code to be returned and updated and was told that the source code was lost. It later transpired that the source code was not actually lost despite what I was told at the time. All along the former Hyperion management had the source code and after some persuasion handed it over to the ExecSG team, not A-EON. So the next step is for A-EON to retrieve the source to the Amiga Developer server and complete the work within the Amiga Developer Team."
    https://www.amigans.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?post_id=129219#forumpost129219

    "The AmigaDeveloper Team do not have the CFE source code. If it is returned, we can take a look at updating it."
    https://www.amigans.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?post_id=132611#forumpost132611


    Edit: added another quote

    [ Edited by Andreas_Wolf 19.08.2022 - 23:47 ]
  • »26.05.22 - 22:33
    Profile
  • vox
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    vox
    Posts: 503 from 2003/11/24
    From: Belgrade
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    Update:

    > compatibility issue between board firmware and graphics cards.

    An X1000 owner managed to boot his machine with a GCN4/Polaris card by altering the content of CFE's STARTUP variable to bypass the grapics card initialization:

    https://os4welt-de.translate.goog/viewtopic.php?t=2639&_x_tr_sl=de&_x_tr_tl=en (automatic Google translation)


    Dirty hack, hard to do. CFE is a bitch. Hypex made a great guide, earned rakija ;)
    https://www.amigans.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=8999&start=20

    Anyway, sold my x1000 to Kas1e if it helps some future MOS ports and backports.
    In midst of this madness :) Kudos to kas1e, big up myself :)

    My adds to how CFE is awful

    USB boot

    My line is for fat16 stick. Copy amigaboot.of there.

    Cfe sees just upper two USBs and maps them to kbd and mouse only. Once it's passed and Linux or os4 boot USB can be anywhere

    But for cfe boot, unplug Mouse and put stick there. Stop CFE boot with f, and then type menu and take usb boot. Works.

    Drivers

    Audio yes Lyle did driver on os4 depot and comes in oS4.1fe

    Network
    Linux only. Driver on os4.1 times out. I have lan and WI Fi cards that work on os4.1. wanted to send, you said bare board. Still can and want

    Video
    Buy Radeon V4 and enhancer2

    No 3d and hw 2d in Linux, openGl broken


    CD Boot

    Addendum: following the Ubuntu Aeon paid Linux layout, you could make a bat file and make other CDs install But due to leecheng most recent files I recommend running netinstalls. I recommend Ubuntu 14 Lts with Mate, but aeon team made some moronix, phoenix. Good old deb understands the cfe pain and in the end of install will give you proper boot cfe line, you need to enter on your own. Good luck and may Linux be with you Serbian ppc penguin

    Cfe can boot from first and third sata

    CFE and FS

    Contrary to claims cfe cannot take kernel or amigaboot.of from anything but ffs and fat16. That is why instead of card one should make small file holder partition and point CFE to it, Linux style. Fat32 maybe. This is overly complicating but I believe Hypex did help with boot manager that came too late for vox. But should be defaulted. Thanks man!
    Enter


    SOFT RESET RADEON HD

    Explain to him gfx card issue on soft reset due to cfe and x86 combo BIOS. Uboot have some compatibility layer. All this was reported by Hypex and me in fora and nobody gives q fuck


    [ Edited by vox 16.10.2022 - 04:48 ]
    ------------------------------------------
    iMac G5 1GB with MorphOS and MacOS X
    A600 Plus from outer space (30% there)
    YT channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdHl_msNWHEVPf229h_gijQ
    Telegram Amiga group: https://t.me/amigaranchorelaxo
  • »16.10.22 - 02:45
    Profile
  • vox
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    vox
    Posts: 503 from 2003/11/24
    From: Belgrade
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:

    "[i]According to Solie, the problem here was that the sourcecode for the 'CFE' firmware used in that particular machine was lost - fortunately it was found again in the meantime. l[/url]


    Extremely trustful team, cant save firmware source at AEON.
    And like in incomplete Libre, everything is there, inn progress, and no results.

    Bad for communism, not worth mentioning in capitalism.

    Quote:

    I am a little concerned about future support for any OS on the X1000, but can't blame Trevor much, as he did suggest to me that I wait for the X5000, before, or at the time I ordered my X1000.
    I

    Damn it, why he did not warn me, and all x1000 customers? CFE was never advertised!



    [ Edited by vox 28.10.2022 - 19:26 ]
    ------------------------------------------
    iMac G5 1GB with MorphOS and MacOS X
    A600 Plus from outer space (30% there)
    YT channel https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdHl_msNWHEVPf229h_gijQ
    Telegram Amiga group: https://t.me/amigaranchorelaxo
  • »28.10.22 - 17:24
    Profile