Some SDK commands to MorphOS ISO ?
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 2364 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Hello,

    it will be possible to integrate some SDK commands to MorphOS ISO for next release please?

    I speak about command like sed, sh, curl, date and many others.

    I think many of this commands are very usefull in MorphOS without install SDK necessary.

    For example, i have adapted a script sh to show moon phase picture from NASA on Ambient desktop and this script use these commands.

    Or maybe i can integrate these commands in my archive?
  • »05.04.25 - 12:26
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 3190 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Most of those commands require full HOME and GG setups, so it's not just about bundling them with the ISO. It's not practical to separate them from the SDK since they won't work out of the box.
  • »05.04.25 - 18:29
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 3190 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    One more thing: do NOT use bash scripts for anything interacting with stuff outside of GG. This is unsafe and will lead to problems. Never call things like rxmcd from an sh script. You should not distribute sh scripts that aim to work without a full SDK install and that call non-ixemul binaries.

    Use AmigaDOS scripts or AREXX instead.
  • »05.04.25 - 18:51
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 3190 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    It's entirely possible that a script working with gg:bin/lua doesn't work with luax. lua is 5.3 while luax is Lua 5.1 compatible and those have some subtle differences.

    Hard to say more since you did not share the actual error.
  • »06.04.25 - 00:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 819 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    Normal because of https://library.morph.zone/Getting_Started_with_Lua#Modules
    bad design IMHO

    🟦 Lua 5.2 features
    Introduced _ENV for environment handling (replaces setfenv).
    Added goto statement.
    New bit32 library for bitwise ops.
    Custom metamethods: __pairs, __ipairs.
    coroutine.yield() allowed across pcall, etc.
    module() deprecated.
    Package loaders → renamed to searchers.

    🟧 Lua 5.3 features
    Integer & float types (separate, native).
    Native bitwise operators: &, |, ~, <<, >>, etc.
    bit32 deprecated.
    UTF-8 support (utf8 lib).
    New functions: string.pack/unpack, table.move().
    Binary (0b1010) & hex float (0x1.3p-4) literals.
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W · iMac G5 12,1 17", MorphOS 3.18
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.18
  • »06.04.25 - 00:50
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    jPV
    Posts: 2140 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    Papiosaur wrote:
    The script work fine with GG:bin/lua and don't work with MOSSYS:c/luax... normal ?


    Did you load the needed modules with the require() function in your script? The built-in Lua implementation (LuaX) in MorphOS is even more lightweight and uses less resources than a "standard" Lua distribution.

    The built-in version doesn't load all available modules for nothing every time you run a script but it just loads those that are actually required. It's designed more Amiga-like in that regard than the standard mainstream implementations, like the ported one in SDK.

    If your script is relatively simple, I'd guess that this is the issue that you didn't note. Please read the linked tutorial from the Library for more information.


    [ Edited by jPV 06.04.2025 - 12:25 ]
  • »06.04.25 - 10:23
    Profile Visit Website