Flow Development and MorphOS SDK
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 544 from 2012/4/28
    I want make something with Flow Development Studio and MorphOS SDK but I don't know as to configure Flow with the SDK examples, is there any help to configure it?
    I open the example blankers wavey.c and when I try to test it only I got the error no input files.
    I used the Borland Turbo C++ and I like from this the easy to run the projects, this is possible with Flow Development Studio and how?
  • »05.06.18 - 16:29
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    pegasos-sigi2
    Posts: 265 from 2006/8/31
    It's easy:

    Drag'n Drop any examples on Flow Studio and click on the "hammer" symbol to "MAKE" the binary.

    I try it. It works and is fast.

    [ Edited by pegasos-sigi2 05.06.2018 - 18:55 ]
    Spreedy - The spreedsheet editor of MorphOS
    Calimero - Do you know about the new DTP Program for MorphOS ?
  • »05.06.18 - 16:54
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 544 from 2012/4/28
    Quote:

    pegasos-sigi2 escribió:
    It's easy:

    Drag'n Drop any examples on Flow Studio and click on the "hammer" symbol to "MAKE" the binary.

    I try it. It works and is fast.

    [ Edited by pegasos-sigi2 05.06.2018 - 18:55 ]


    I drag and drop the SDK examples, I saw that Flow Studio makes the binaries if there is the Makefile join the c files, without this file Flow Studio doesn't make the binaries but these binaries don't work.
    If I test other c files or I make the typical HelloWorld how I do it?
    Also I open the lua examples and the Flow ask me the makefile, always it is necessary?
    And someone example to see run any demo or little thing with Flow because the examples of SDK doesn't work binaries.

    Thank you for your help.
  • »06.06.18 - 16:17
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 523 from 2013/5/29
    Every C project needs a makefile to compile the sources. If it is not available then you can create one.
    Lua is a script languaje "like" arexx.
    You should read about C and makefiles first.

    Pd.
    If you create a new project in Flow and add the sources to the project the makefile is created automatically.

    [ Editado por tolkien 06.06.2018 - 21:14 ]
    MorphOS: PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini.
    Classic: Amiga 1200/060 - A500 PiStorm
  • »06.06.18 - 19:12
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    asrael22
    Posts: 404 from 2014/6/11
    From: Germany
    For a „one file“ project you don‘t necessarily need a makefile.
    Some editors support this and you can run c files out of the box for rapid prototyping or just trying out some code.


    Manfred
  • »07.06.18 - 06:05
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 544 from 2012/4/28
    I have much doubts, I tested the typical Hello world,
    #include <proto/dos.h>

    int main(void)
    {
      Printf("Hola Mundo!\n");
      return 0;
    }
    I saved the file as Hola.c, but if I touch the hammer button, in the Build Output shows No targets specified and no makefile found.
    If I touch the run button open a error window with this: Please select a project in the workspace, I make a new WorkSapce project and it makes a makefile with many information when other makefiles only have a few text lines.

    Its so difficult make a c program with Flow Studio or there are some tricks to make it run c projects?
  • »07.06.18 - 17:48
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    Nadir
    Posts: 162 from 2003/3/17
    Quote:

    Templario wrote:

    Its so difficult make a c program with Flow Studio or there are some tricks to make it run c projects?


    Hi,

    Thanks for testing Flow Studio. Unfortunately we do not yet have any tutorials or videos explaining this stuff in an easy way but in general it should not be very difficult and mostly in line with how this works in other IDEs.

    1) It is correct that Flow Studio needs a project. Just create a simple one and then add your hello.c file to it.
    2) Press the hammer and wait until it's ready building.
    3) Press the blue arrow to run your project. Your printf message will pop up in a new window in case you started Flow Studio from Ambient and if it was started from a shell, you will see the output there.

    That should be it really!

    The Makefile looks complex because it is quite generic and contains a whole framework for managing also large and complex projects including many different options. However, the idea here is that you basically *never* need to open it. Just let Flow Studio do its work and focus on writing code and add the source files to your project.

    I hope this helps but do not hesitate to ask again otherwise.

    Best,

    Nicholai (I'm the author of Flow Studio)
  • »07.06.18 - 18:50
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1110 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    Slightly OT but is there any chance that Flow Studio would get back ported to 68k?

    It's really good and I'd love to use it when not at home but taking carrying one laptop around with me is enough, can't carry the Powerbook too. I thought I'd ask as the likelihood of being able to use MorphOS itself in QEMU is pretty much zero.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.15

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »07.06.18 - 20:08
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    Nadir
    Posts: 162 from 2003/3/17
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    Slightly OT but is there any chance that Flow Studio would get back ported to 68k?

    It's really good and I'd love to use it when not at home but taking carrying one laptop around with me is enough, can't carry the Powerbook too. I thought I'd ask as the likelihood of being able to use MorphOS itself in QEMU is pretty much zero.


    No, that's very unlikely - not least because it would mean porting also whole bunch of dependencies, including MUI5 (the real one). I have to admit I have some sympathy for the proposition though as I sometimes wish I did have FlowStudio on my macbook ;-)
  • »07.06.18 - 20:24
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1110 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    Quote:

    Nadir wrote:
    Quote:

    Intuition wrote:
    Slightly OT but is there any chance that Flow Studio would get back ported to 68k?

    It's really good and I'd love to use it when not at home but taking carrying one laptop around with me is enough, can't carry the Powerbook too. I thought I'd ask as the likelihood of being able to use MorphOS itself in QEMU is pretty much zero.


    No, that's very unlikely - not least because it would mean porting also whole bunch of dependencies, including MUI5 (the real one). I have to admit I have some sympathy for the proposition though as I sometimes wish I did have FlowStudio on my macbook ;-)



    hehe :)

    Pretty please can we have MorphOS on QEMU then? ;)
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.15

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »07.06.18 - 20:34
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Zylesea
    Posts: 2057 from 2003/6/4
    Quote:

    Nadir schrieb:





    Hi Nicholas, slightly OT, too: I heard you have put some work into FlowStudio to support also the Hollywod language. Let me encourage you to proceed with Hollywood suppot for FlowStudio. With Cubic/GoldED not supporting UTF codesets is rather a dead end and FlowStudio looks pretty great. And since I am rather too lazy|stupid|#? for C++ I would be very glad to become a happy Hollywood FlowStudio user.
    --
    http://via.bckrs.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
    ...and Matthias , my friend - RIP
  • »07.06.18 - 21:33
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    pegasos-sigi2
    Posts: 265 from 2006/8/31
    @Nadir:

    There is a little problem with Flowstudio: I did't use the projekts and the generic makefiles from Flowstudio.
    I use my own make files. But if i create a new project, Flowstudio did't recognize my makefile.
    That's bad, because why it is'nt possible to switch to own makefiles ?
    Spreedy - The spreedsheet editor of MorphOS
    Calimero - Do you know about the new DTP Program for MorphOS ?
  • »08.06.18 - 11:38
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    igracki
    Posts: 416 from 2003/2/24
    From: Berlin
    There is a checkmark in the project settings if you want to use own makefiles!
  • »08.06.18 - 12:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    geit
    Posts: 1049 from 2004/9/23
    But in most cases it is easier and more useful to create a project with a makefile and just add the source files to it.

    So you can benefit from all the features FlowStudio provides and the makefile will automagically get all future features and options.

    All FlowStudio really lacks right now is proper out of the box locale/catalogs support. Those rules need to be added manually using the project settings.

    No need to edit a file by hand anymore.
  • »08.06.18 - 16:10
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 544 from 2012/4/28
    Thank you for your help, but I don't get run my Hola.c I tryed several ways but only I got the message from Build Output:
    ppc-morphos-gcc-5: fatal error: no input files.

    Flow Studio looks a good program to programming but for the people that use the IDEs as Hollywood IDE(Windows) or the Microsoft programming enviroments even the old MS-DOS Turbo C o Turbo Pascal with all in one, test and editor is very difficult use your program or the previous Scrible, perhaps a good solution is make a SDK pack with Flow Studio the c libraries, examples, etc.
  • »08.06.18 - 17:45
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 523 from 2013/5/29
    I think you need to learn the basics about compiling C code, makefiles etc etc.

    Its really easy to run a simple Hello World example.
    MorphOS: PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini.
    Classic: Amiga 1200/060 - A500 PiStorm
  • »08.06.18 - 18:33
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    Nadir
    Posts: 162 from 2003/3/17
    Quote:

    Zylesea wrote:

    Hi Nicholas, slightly OT, too: I heard you have put some work into FlowStudio to support also the Hollywod language. Let me encourage you to proceed with Hollywood suppot for FlowStudio.




    The author of Hollywood kindly offered me a license so that I could look into adding support for it. This is still on my todo list but unfortunately I didn’t have the time to do anything about it for MorphOS 3.10/3.11. The issue is that neither me or anyone else from the team is using Hollywood so it takes some effort to just get acquainted to it.

    I do intend to at least add lexing support similar to what is currently offered for AmigaE. Beyond that, I think it would have to wait for a time when FlowStudio offers a more complete plugin system and someone else can implement a module.

    Best,

    Nicholai
  • »09.06.18 - 17:44
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 544 from 2012/4/28
    Quote:

    igracki escribió:
    I made a small video how to create a new project in FlowStudio, click there:
    Youtube, how to create a new project in FlowStudio


    Thank you for your heklp and video, incredible the code:
    #include <proto/dos.h>
    int main(void)
    {
      Printf("Hola Mundo!\n");
      return 0;
    }

    It doesn't work, I got thus error message Hola.c:7:1: error: stray '240' in program
  • »09.06.18 - 19:20
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2323 from 2003/2/24
    Did you c&p that from some website?

    Seems that you have a non-displayble character messing things up.

    Just delete all whitespace in that line (and add it as spaces/tabs) and all should be fine.
  • »09.06.18 - 20:08
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    igracki
    Posts: 416 from 2003/2/24
    From: Berlin
    Well, that was your code;)
    And yes, your example code had alt-space instead of space characters, so just replace them, and all will be fine!
  • »09.06.18 - 22:19
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 544 from 2012/4/28
    Thanks for your help, I copy the code and this alt-space doesn't see.
  • »10.06.18 - 10:03
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    Nadir
    Posts: 162 from 2003/3/17
    Quote:

    Templario wrote:
    Thanks for your help, I copy the code and this alt-space doesn't see.


    This is a quite common problem when you copy and paste source code from a browser into (any) programming editor. I will see if I can make those spaces display in the style of a control code so that the mistake can be spotted more easily.
  • »10.06.18 - 11:58
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 544 from 2012/4/28
    Quote:

    Nadir escribió:
    Quote:

    Templario wrote:
    Thanks for your help, I copy the code and this alt-space doesn't see.


    This is a quite common problem when you copy and paste source code from a browser into (any) programming editor. I will see if I can make those spaces display in the style of a control code so that the mistake can be spotted more easily.




    Many thanks to all for your help, yes the copy and paste for browsers although this be OWB gives this problem.
    Other big question more C examples compatibles with MorphOS?
    The Turbo C and ANSI C are compatibles?

    I leave the C programming 20 years ago and need relearn step to step.

    [ Editado por Templario 10.06.2018 - 23:05 ]
  • »10.06.18 - 20:55
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 803 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    Quote:

    Intuition schrieb:
    Pretty please can we have MorphOS on QEMU then? ;)

    This is not allowed, please read the MorphOS licence in RegTool.
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W · iMac G5 12,1 17", MorphOS 3.18
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.18
  • »11.06.18 - 13:08
    Profile