How to get MorphOS SDK working in Cubic IDE *Help*
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    D4Ni3L3
    Posts: 26 from 2013/12/12
    From: Mailand - Italien
    Hello guys!

    I seriously need to get the MorphOS SDK working with my Cubic Ide.

    Which one of these should be installed first?

    Do I need to do some changes into directories or assigns?

    Please let me know,

    I already got lost making several installations and now I formatted the HD again.

    I would like to have a Cubic IDE with GCC 2.95.3 to compile my stuffs.


    Help me please.....

    D4Ni3L3

    Some hints step by step would be very appreciated since I am new to all this!


    [ Edited by D4Ni3L3 21.01.2014 - 23:52 ]
  • »22.01.14 - 00:51
    Profile
  • IKE
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    IKE
    Posts: 117 from 2009/11/7
    From: Southern CA
    I can't answer your questions specifically, because I don't have the latest SDK integrated into Cubic IDE...however, what I did was first install the SDK, then I installed Cubic and then commented out all of the assigns related to the old SDK (that is included with Cubic).

    My user startup looks like this:

    ;BEGIN cubic
    assign >nil: cubic: "Work:Cubic IDE"
    assign >nil: add fonts: cubic:ide/etc/fonts
    assign >nil: add c: cubic:ide/etc/c
    assign >nil: add libs: cubic:ide/etc/libs
    assign >nil: golded: cubic:ide/editor
    mount <>nil: pipecon: from cubic:ide/etc/devs/mountlist
    ;END cubic

    Everything else is commented out and I just use the latest SDK from the command line. I hope you get a good answer that is step by step because I wouldn't mind having the latest SDK integrated into Cubic as well.

    IKE
    IKE

    MacMini G4 1.5Ghz/PowerBook G4 1.67Ghz/PowerMac G5 2.0Ghz DP 7,2 Radeon 9650/256MB

    Join the conversation @ r/morphos
  • »22.01.14 - 02:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    D4Ni3L3
    Posts: 26 from 2013/12/12
    From: Mailand - Italien
    It would be great having a guide for MorphOs like this next one that someone made for Amiga Os 4.x SDK

    http://www.amigans.net/modules/AMS/article.php?storyid=30

    [ Edited by D4Ni3L3 22.01.2014 - 04:56 ]
  • »22.01.14 - 05:55
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1516 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    To use MorphOS SDK you should not rename, reassing or move anything in your SDK. If something need to be changed you edit your Cubic IDE configuration.
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »22.01.14 - 07:42
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2055 from 2003/2/24
    Still carry my old Cubic install from pre MorphOS-2.0 days around and as far as calling make and source-code coloring goes it just works (after assigning "devkits:" some random place).
    Even looking up names works partly (everything in a inlcude file is o.k. stuff that points to an autodoc fails) but thst probraly just a minor configuration error.

    ->
    - install Cubic including the old MorphOS-SDK found on the CD
    - disable that old SDK by removing all thinks "devkits:" from user-startup
    - install current SDK
    - change settings for C++ dictionary

    Or just use Scribble ;)
  • »22.01.14 - 08:40
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    MaaG
    Posts: 86 from 2003/7/22
    From: Pilzno, Poland
    Quote:

    Kronos wrote:
    Still carry my old Cubic install from pre MorphOS-2.0 days around and as far as calling make and source-code coloring goes it just works (after assigning "devkits:" some random place).



    I work on CubicIDE with MorphOS SDK.
    To work you need 2 steps:
    1. add new compiler mode /eg. gcc-mos/
    2. fix gcc start/stop script in cubicide...

    .. and have a fun with morphos native sdk ;)
  • »22.01.14 - 09:00
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    D4Ni3L3
    Posts: 26 from 2013/12/12
    From: Mailand - Italien
    Any help to perform a complete step-by-step installation?

    1) Which one of these enviroment need to be installed first? Cubic Ide or Morph OS SDK?

    I see that folders/directories are not exactly the same...

    Cubic Ide for example is installed in Work:Cubic IDE drawer while the MorphOs SDK pretend to be installed into a drawer called Developer.

    2) Do I need to copy or replace any drawer belonging to Cubic Ide with MorphOS drawers , the contrary or what?

    3) Do I need to edit some assigns?



    Please ... gimme one hand ....

    PS: I do not understand why Cubic Ide during the installation ask you to install various release of gcc and vbcc to but at the end it seems only to install and create VBCC folders. Where are the GGC ones?


    [ Edited by D4Ni3L3 22.01.2014 - 12:16 ]
  • »22.01.14 - 12:15
    Profile
  • IKE
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    IKE
    Posts: 117 from 2009/11/7
    From: Southern CA
    @D4Ni3L3

    I did a little more checking on this and have somewhat of a partial fix**....if you follow these steps:

    Select "Change Compiler -> Configure compiler"

    1.) Specify the compiler installation path:
    YourDrive:Development/GG

    2.) Specify the assign associated with the compiler folder, if any:
    gg:

    3.) If a scipt needs...
    (you can leave this blank)

    4.) If a script needs to de-activate...
    (you can leave this blank)

    5.) Specify the program that typically is used to 'make'...
    bin:make -f%makefile %target

    6.) Specify the command line for compiling...
    gcc $(shell gccprefs) -c -o %obj %src

    7.) Specify the command line for compiling a C++...
    g++ $(shell gccprefs) -c -o %obj %src

    8.) Specify the command line to be used for linking...
    gcc %objs $(shell gccprefs) -o %exe

    9.) Specify the command line to be used for linking a list of C++...
    g++ %objs $(shell gccprefs) -o %exe

    10.) Specify the stack size...
    set as necessary...

    11.) Specify the command line for debugging...
    (you can leave this blank)

    12.) Specify the command line for debugging...
    (you can leave this blank)

    13.) Specify where the includes are located...
    "gg:include gg:os-include:"

    14.) Specify what operating systems...
    morphos

    15.) Specify what operating systems can run the EXECUTABLES...
    morphos

    You can now put a project under control of any ordinary make file...when you select "Make" from the project just set it as "bin:make" and point it at your makefile. Cubic IDE will create a 'project.options' with the file in 'etc'.

    I also had to add this to the "s:user-startup":

    ;BEGIN devkits
    assign devkits: "gg:bin/"
    ;END devkits

    You can switch the compiler that is used (as normal) with the 'gccselect' program in the MorphOS SDK. Programs will compile and run from with inside Cubic IDE with the updated SDK and the compiler you have selected.

    **Two things of note, 'Project Options' are not available and it does NOT create the default Makefile.

    IKE
    IKE

    MacMini G4 1.5Ghz/PowerBook G4 1.67Ghz/PowerMac G5 2.0Ghz DP 7,2 Radeon 9650/256MB

    Join the conversation @ r/morphos
  • »17.02.14 - 22:19
    Profile Visit Website
  • MH2
  • Just looking around
    MH2
    Posts: 7 from 2014/2/13
    From: Gällivare -Sw...
    Hello!
    I am the person who has done the C/C++ Add-on 5.1 installer for Cubic IDE (http://www.softwareandcircuits.com/division/amiga/products/cubic/sdk.html). And I have now an Powerbook G4 (1.67 MHZ) with MoprhOS runing. I just now looking at the installer code of the script, and will ( i hope) make an another update, so the lates SDK for AmigaOS and MorphOS can be easy installed.

    But i have too know how too unpack the .pack file on an MacOS Mawericks

    I tried this: tar -x --xz -f /Desktop/MorphOS_2014/CUBIC_IDE_DEMO_2014/SDK-KITS/morphossdk/sdk.pack

    But i gett an error for every file like this: Can't create 'Development/GG/bin/rcs2log'
  • »19.02.14 - 21:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 687 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    You may try xaduntar and look at snoopium...
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W · iMac G5 12,1 17", MorphOS 3.16
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.16
  • »19.02.14 - 21:59
    Profile
  • MH2
  • Just looking around
    MH2
    Posts: 7 from 2014/2/13
    From: Gällivare -Sw...
    I found an solution for my problem. I cd too the map of the .pack file. and then: tar -x -k -f sdk.pack
  • »19.02.14 - 22:36
    Profile Visit Website
  • IKE
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    IKE
    Posts: 117 from 2009/11/7
    From: Southern CA
    @MH2

    Appreciate the effort!

    IKE
    IKE

    MacMini G4 1.5Ghz/PowerBook G4 1.67Ghz/PowerMac G5 2.0Ghz DP 7,2 Radeon 9650/256MB

    Join the conversation @ r/morphos
  • »21.02.14 - 01:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 420 from 2013/5/29
    Thanks MH2! Im waiting forma that update.
    MorphOS: PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini.
    Classic: Amiga 1200/060 - A500 PiStorm
  • »21.02.14 - 20:52
    Profile
  • MH2
  • Just looking around
    MH2
    Posts: 7 from 2014/2/13
    From: Gällivare -Sw...
    Quote:

    MaaG wrote:
    Quote:

    Kronos wrote:
    Still carry my old Cubic install from pre MorphOS-2.0 days around and as far as calling make and source-code coloring goes it just works (after assigning "devkits:" some random place).



    I work on CubicIDE with MorphOS SDK.
    To work you need 2 steps:
    1. add new compiler mode /eg. gcc-mos/
    2. fix gcc start/stop script in cubicide...

    .. and have a fun with morphos native sdk ;)


    How does that new fix on the gcc start/stop script look?
  • »21.02.14 - 23:58
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1098 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    @MH2

    I'm looking forward to trying the fruits of your labour, cheers. :)
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.15

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »23.02.14 - 20:52
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    MaaG
    Posts: 86 from 2003/7/22
    From: Pilzno, Poland
    Quote:

    MH2 wrote:
    How does that new fix on the gcc start/stop script look?


    1. Add new compiler option (extras/customize/settings/file types/gcc/Configuration/menus/gcc/Change compiler/Target...

    I add "Target: morphos sdk"
    Commands: ccselect "gcc/morphos_sdk/stable"

    2. Edit and update: cubic:ide/devkits/devkits.config

    get an existing compiler (like (compiler "gcc 2.95.3 morphos/ppc" ...) )
    [copy & paste]

    3. rename it to new name like (example): "compiler "gcc 4.4.5 for morphos/ppc"
    change:
    alias: "gcc/morphos_sdk/stable"
    home: "SDK:GG"
    hosted: "morphos"
    target: "morphos"
    onscript: "SDK:Startup"
    offscript: "devkits:scripts/gcc_mos.off"
    compile: "gcc/morphos_sdk/stable"
    compile++: "gcc/morphos_sdk/stable"

    4. copy devkits:scripts/gcc.off to devkits:scripts/gcc_mos.off
    .. and comment line:
    ; assign bin: gg:/user/bin remove

    ; assign c: gg:bin remove (first line to comment)
    .....
    ; assign s: gg:sys/s remove (last line to comment)


    That probably all what you need to do to work with native morphos sdk
    (to change compiler use menu: gcc/change compiler/target: morphos sdk)

    Probably after first start you see simple reqester to setup all compiler option for
    morphos sdk compiler (see on IKE post to see how you can set it).

    Have a fun :)
  • »24.02.14 - 17:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • MH2
  • Just looking around
    MH2
    Posts: 7 from 2014/2/13
    From: Gällivare -Sw...
    OK! Now some update of this project. I did not manage to make the necessary changes in the installer script. The script are really big.

    And following the IKE steps, will make it possibility to use Cubic IDE with MorphOS SDK.

    Now too plan B! Phuu!



    [ Edited by MH2 03.08.2014 - 14:28 ]
  • »03.08.14 - 17:19
    Profile Visit Website
  • MH2
  • Just looking around
    MH2
    Posts: 7 from 2014/2/13
    From: Gällivare -Sw...
    YEA!
    Now some good news. I have manage too find an way too use my update installer script, and on only a few steps too make the last SDK too work with Cubic IDE.



    cubic_install_update_20140804.png

    [ Edited by MH2 04.08.2014 - 23:22 ]
  • »05.08.14 - 02:20
    Profile Visit Website