PowerMac G5 Install...Works GREAT!
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    SteveE617
    Posts: 80 from 2013/1/26
    From: Burleson, Tx
    Installed 3.2 on my PowerMac G5, 2.0 Dual Processor, 2GB Ram, 1TB HD with Radeon 9800XT. No installation hiccups!

    Pack Chrysalis 3.1.3 no longer installs from the "Install" icon. No big deal at this point. Just excited to put these G5s to work!

    Thank You to the entire Dev Team! Well Done!
    Steve E, BSOE, MIS
    PowerMac G5 | Dual 2.0 Ghz | 2 GB | 32GB CF | 9800XT
    AmigaOne x5000 | 8 GB | 1TB | Radeon 7770HD
  • »28.05.13 - 03:05
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Doffo
    Posts: 487 from 2010/10/14
    From: Nevada
    :) I have two 2.0 G5s and two 2.7 G5s ready for this. I will test it Thursday as I have to drive to my hometown where I have them stored.
    -=-=-=-
    YUUUP!
  • »28.05.13 - 03:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    JohnFante
    Posts: 152 from 2006/9/4
    From: Copenhagen
    As far as I can see there is only one G5-model listed as supported in the release notes. Maybe we can make a list here of other models that know to work :-)
  • »28.05.13 - 12:52
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2716 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Supported models.

    [ Edited by jacadcaps 28.05.2013 - 15:03 ]
  • »28.05.13 - 13:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1215 from 2003/6/17
    wow....MorphOS will be fast as hell on the 2.7!
  • »28.05.13 - 13:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Zyros
    Posts: 1 from 2011/5/4
    Just installed to my G5 2.7GHz and this flies :-o hopefully not from window..
  • »28.05.13 - 13:58
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Simon
    Posts: 809 from 2008/7/6
    From: Antwerp, Belgium
    Are there still things to do concerning the G5 port or does everything just work ?
    Proud member of the Belgian Amiga Club since 2003

  • »28.05.13 - 14:27
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11713 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Are there still things to do concerning the G5 port or does everything just work ?

    I think the 1 GiB RAM limit is still something to overcome, if technically possible.


    Edit: added link

    [ Edited by Andreas_Wolf 30.05.2013 - 11:51 ]
  • »28.05.13 - 15:02
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 553 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    There doesn't seem to be any power managements options for the G5 :S Can someone who installed it confirm this?
    This is just like television, only you can see much further.
  • »28.05.13 - 15:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2716 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    There is none indeed at the moment.
  • »28.05.13 - 16:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    BSzili
    Posts: 553 from 2012/6/8
    From: Hungary
    Drats! My PowerMac G5 consumes 330 Watts idle at the default setting ( highest). Are there any plans to add bus slewing support in the future?

    [ Edited by BSzili 28.05.2013 - 19:05 ]
    This is just like television, only you can see much further.
  • »28.05.13 - 17:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    SteveE617
    Posts: 80 from 2013/1/26
    From: Burleson, Tx
    {Moved to it's own topic}

    [ Edited by SteveE617 28.05.2013 - 12:47 ]
    Steve E, BSOE, MIS
    PowerMac G5 | Dual 2.0 Ghz | 2 GB | 32GB CF | 9800XT
    AmigaOne x5000 | 8 GB | 1TB | Radeon 7770HD
  • »28.05.13 - 17:20
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Oscar
    Posts: 17 from 2011/12/11
    From: New Jersey, USA
    I hope one day that A1177 will be supported, but model A1047 covers a lot of different systems from 1.6 to 2.7GHz. Probably the most plentiful bunch around. Until then I'll be satisfied if I find a decent 2.3GHz April 2005 system. I'm not gonna bother with any liquid cooled systems.

    [ Edited by Oscar 28.05.2013 - 13:39 ]
    PowerMac G4-Dual 1.42GHz-Radeon 9600 Pro-MOS 3.1-120GB SSD
    PowerMac G5-Dual 2.0Ghz-Radeon 9800 Pro-MOS 3.2-120GB SSD
  • »28.05.13 - 17:39
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 620 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    *SteveE617

    sounds like flashed radeon and tons of debug, check debug first :)
  • »28.05.13 - 17:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1423 from 2003/4/13
    BSzili,
    Quote:

    Drats! My PowerMac G5 consumes 330 Watts idle at the default setting ( highest). Are there any plans to add bus slewing support in the future?


    Yowsa! No worries, I am just happy it is out the door in a working state. It would be nice if this could be prioritized for 3.3. If not, oh well at least it shipped! Electricity is cheap here and I guess I am not currently "green" considering my recent car purchase :-D:-)
  • »28.05.13 - 18:55
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11713 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I hope one day that A1177 will be supported

    There's no A1177. Do you mean A1117?
  • »28.05.13 - 20:37
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11713 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Are there still things to do concerning the G5 port or does everything just work ?

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=9321&forum=11&start=1
  • »15.06.13 - 11:11
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Yasu
    Posts: 1724 from 2012/3/22
    From: Stockholm, Sweden
    Installing 3.2 straight from the CD (after choosing the CD in the firmware, by holding down ALT) worked great on my new (used) Powermac G5 2,7 GHz! Even though the hardware has a reputation of being unreliable (leakage) and a electric power sucker it's a nice feeling to have the fastest NG Amiga possible :-D

    Except for a couple of problems and bugs, it works really well! Can't wait to find time to customise it :-)

    [ Edited by Yasu 15.06.2013 - 13:44 ]
    AMIGA FORUM - Hela Sveriges Amigatidning!
    AMIGA FORUM - Sweden's Amiga Magazine!

    My MorphOS blog
  • »15.06.13 - 11:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    jdryyz
    Posts: 127 from 2004/4/9
    From: Torrance, CA USA
    I second the support for the A1117 model. :-)
  • »19.06.13 - 16:22
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11713 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Are there still things to do concerning the G5 port or does everything just work ?

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=9336&forum=10&start=6
  • »20.06.13 - 21:33
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    jdryyz
    Posts: 127 from 2004/4/9
    From: Torrance, CA USA
    Is it just a matter of time before more hardware models are supported or does this particular Mac present some programming obstacle that has yet to be overcome?

    It would be really nice to see MorphOS running on it. In addition, it looks like the PCIe Radeon cards are currently cheaper than the AGP versions. I still have an Nvidia in my A1117 model and realize I will have to swap it out.

    I ditched my PowerMac Dual 2.0 due to lack of space and some hardware quirks that always bothered me. The Dual Core 2.3 GHz corrected everything I did not like about the Dual 2.0.


    Quote:

    jdryyz wrote:
    I second the support for the A1117 model. :-)




    [ Edited by jdryyz 08.09.2016 - 18:54 ]
  • »08.09.16 - 23:52
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4967 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    jdryyz wrote:
    Is it just a matter of time before more hardware models are supported or does this particular Mac present some programming obstacle that has yet to be overcome?

    It would be really nice to see MorphOS running on it. In addition, it looks like the PCIe Radeon cards are currently cheaper than the AGP versions. I still have an Nvidia in my A1117 model and realize I will have to swap it out.

    I ditched my PowerMac Dual 2.0 due to lack of space and some hardware quirks that always bothered me. The Dual Core 2.3 GHz corrected everything I did not like about the Dual 2.0.


    Quote:

    jdryyz wrote:
    I second the support for the A1117 model. :-)





    Yeah, I'm sitting on a PCIe G5 myself.
    But as there has been no announcement that these will be supported in the future, you probably switched a bit too early.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »10.09.16 - 19:37
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    jdryyz
    Posts: 127 from 2004/4/9
    From: Torrance, CA USA
    I still have my Mac mini G4. :)
  • »25.09.16 - 15:44
    Profile