Problem trying to run 3.1 on Peg1
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Robert
    Posts: 331 from 2003/5/12
    Hi folks,

    First post in quite some time. Hope you're all well.

    It's been a long time since I used MorphOS but finally have a bit of time on my hands and thought I'd give 3.1 a whirl on my old Peg1.


    Anyway, when I try to follow these instructions:
    http://www.morphos-team.net/installation
    Quote:

    Turn on your Pegasos 1/2 :)
    Press escape on the keyboard until you reach the Open Firmware prompt



    I get:
    Quote:

    error: could not open keyboard for console input


    Now this rings a vague bell from years back and I think it was quite a common issue at one point. Unfortunately, having been away from anything Amiga related for so long, I feel like a complete noob.

    Anyone recognise this and know how to get around it?

    Cheers,
    Robert.

    [ Edited by Robert 26.12.2012 - 14:06 ]
    --
    Robert.
  • »26.12.12 - 14:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 3029 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Afair you need a PS/2 keyboard.
  • »26.12.12 - 14:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    geit
    Posts: 1035 from 2004/9/23
    Yes, an USB Keyboard is not working.

    Geit
  • »26.12.12 - 15:14
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Robert
    Posts: 331 from 2003/5/12
    Thank you both.
    I shall have to have a rummage in the loft! :-o
    --
    Robert.
  • »26.12.12 - 17:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Robert
    Posts: 331 from 2003/5/12
    OK, found a PS/2 keyboard and now get the "ok" prompt but when I type in:
    Quote:

    > boot /ide/cd/bootpeg1.img


    I get:
    Quote:

    error: data stack underflow
    error: error while trying to load or boot


    -EDIT-

    some further info:
    Quote:

    ls /pci/ide/cd

    returns:
    Quote:

    Root dir: " " flags=0x2 extent=0x15 size=0x800
    220733440 MORPHOS-.ISO


    -EDIT 2-

    OK, think I'd burnt the CD wrong. I now have it trying to boot from CD but it boots into my existing MOS1.4 set up after a restart.

    Any ideas?

    [ Edited by Robert 26.12.2012 - 19:07 ]
    --
    Robert.
  • »26.12.12 - 17:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ausPPC
    Posts: 543 from 2007/8/6
    From: Pending...
    Just to make sure the CD is booting as expected, unplug the hard drive(s).

    Is starting over with a fresh / alternate hard drive an option for you? If you have an adapter, you could also plug the existing drive in via USB after the CD has booted and still install to it...
    PPC assembly ain't so bad... ;)
  • »26.12.12 - 20:42
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2264 from 2003/2/24
    A slighly "easier" way.

    Copy the 3.1 bootpeg1.img onto your boot: partition (name it boot3.1.img)
    Copy the ISO either to your boot or sys partition (might be the same depending on setup)

    Go back to OF-prompt and type :
    "boot boot3.1.img bi dh0:morphos3.1.iso" (or whatever the name&path to the ISO is).

    You should be able to install/update from there.
  • »26.12.12 - 20:51
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Robert
    Posts: 331 from 2003/5/12
    Quote:

    Just to make sure the CD is booting as expected, unplug the hard drive(s).


    OK, thanks.
    I think this might be where the problem is. The CD spins up and seems to be doing something, then the VGA output stops, as though the Peg1 has reset or something.
    --
    Robert.
  • »26.12.12 - 21:29
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Robert
    Posts: 331 from 2003/5/12
    @Kronos:

    Quote:

    Copy the 3.1 bootpeg1.img onto your boot: partition (name it boot3.1.img)
    Copy the ISO either to your boot or sys partition (might be the same depending on setup)


    I have a "bootimg" partition (which I think is the boot partition) and a "Morphos" partition (which I think is the sys partition). Should I copy the ISO to the Morphos partition?
    --
    Robert.
  • »26.12.12 - 21:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1424 from 2003/4/13
    Robert,
    Quote:

    I have a "bootimg" partition (which I think is the boot partition) and a "Morphos" partition (which I think is the sys partition). Should I copy the ISO to the Morphos partition?


    Open a new shell window and type:

    sys:

    Then hit enter. If it switches to MorphOS:> then yes, that is where you copy the ISO. :-)
  • »26.12.12 - 21:52
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2264 from 2003/2/24
    Do as red says ;)

    And make sure that the renamed boot3.1.img is on the same partition as the currently used bootpeg1.img.
  • »26.12.12 - 22:01
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Robert
    Posts: 331 from 2003/5/12
    Quote:

    Open a new shell window and type:

    sys:


    Yeesh! I really have been away a long time; took me five minutes just to find the CLI!
    --
    Robert.
  • »26.12.12 - 22:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Robert
    Posts: 331 from 2003/5/12
    OK, after copying the bootpeg1 image to my bootimg partition, renaming it and then copying the full ISO to the system partition, entering:
    Quote:

    boot boot3.1.img bi dh0:morphos3.1.iso


    gives me the little spinning cursor for a second, followed by:
    Quote:

    Quark/OpenFirmware
    System: <bplan,Pegasos> Rev <1A>
    etc.

    with a blinking cursor underneath but no further progress.
    --
    Robert.
  • »26.12.12 - 22:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1424 from 2003/4/13
    Do you have an IRC client on another computer? if so, I suggest you aim it to:

    Server - irc.freenode.net
    Channel - #MorphOS

    Ask for help in there IMO. Give it a little time for a reply, but someone will reply.
  • »26.12.12 - 22:33
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Robert
    Posts: 331 from 2003/5/12
    redrumloa,
    Quote:

    Do you have an IRC client on another computer? if so, I suggest you aim it to:

    Server - irc.freenode.net
    Channel - #MorphOS

    Ask for help in there IMO. Give it a little time for a reply, but someone will reply.


    I've never really used IRC but will try to set it up on my Mac. Cheers.
    --
    Robert.
  • »26.12.12 - 22:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    CountRaven
    Posts: 566 from 2007/12/11
    From: Greece
    Have you downloaded your ISO correctly? I have similar problems and I think it was due to a bad ISO. Double check your ISO and double check your burning method. The usual Disk Utility will do the burning trick on a Mac.

    Also, have you got a second CD / DVD Drive connected on your Peg1? If yes try to boot form this one.
  • »28.12.12 - 01:18
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ausPPC
    Posts: 543 from 2007/8/6
    From: Pending...
    Robert, providing it shows up in open firmware you could also copy all the files on the iso to a flash drive and try booting from that instead.
    PPC assembly ain't so bad... ;)
  • »28.12.12 - 04:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    CountRaven
    Posts: 566 from 2007/12/11
    From: Greece
    Hmm do not think that Peg1 would be able to read anything USB related on the OF.
  • »28.12.12 - 04:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1424 from 2003/4/13
    Just for the record, does this Peg1 have April2 fix?
  • »28.12.12 - 12:36
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    CountRaven
    Posts: 566 from 2007/12/11
    From: Greece
    Good question, but even without the fix, morphos would boot -I suppose-.


    [ Edited by CountRaven 28.12.2012 - 18:01 ]
  • »28.12.12 - 18:00
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Robert
    Posts: 331 from 2003/5/12
    Sorry for the delayed response folks. Time off work turned out to be much busier than expected.

    CountRaven,
    Quote:

    Have you downloaded your ISO correctly? I have similar problems and I think it was due to a bad ISO.


    It certainly seems to be OK, i.e. it contains a whole bunch of files, including bootpeg1.img.

    Quote:

    Double check your ISO and double check your burning method. The usual Disk Utility will do the burning trick on a Mac.


    Yeah, I hadn't burnt the image correctly the first time but I think I did 2nd time around.

    Quote:

    Also, have you got a second CD / DVD Drive connected on your Peg1? If yes try to boot form this one.


    No but I might have another CD drive lying around so will have a look later (not at home right now).
    --
    Robert.
  • »03.01.13 - 16:08
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Robert
    Posts: 331 from 2003/5/12
    @red:
    Quote:

    Just for the record, does this Peg1 have April2 fix?


    Not 100% but I don't think so. It's one of the early ones.
    --
    Robert.
  • »03.01.13 - 16:10
    Profile Visit Website