Regina rexx as PPC ARexx replacement ?
  • Just looking around
    Fats
    Hello,

Iggy (Jim) on amiga.org some time ago asked for progammers and projects for MorphOS that could be sponsored by some hardware able to run MorhpOS.
    I replied I would be interested to be able to run MorphOS at home.

In light of full disclosure I have to admit I am mainly an AROS developer at the moment. In the past I also did the ScalOS port to OS4 until Jurgen Lachmann took over.

After some discussion with Jim and Simon (Oepabakkes) I said as a short(er) term project I could maybe port the Regina Rexx we use in AROS for ARexx replacement to MorphOS. Simon proposed to discuss this idea on Morphzone so here I am :-) Let your feedback come.
    I implemented all ARexx specific functions I could find documentation for in regina and it was integrated in upstream. The major missing functions is the implementation of the OPTIONS RESULTS and the other ARexx specific OPTIONS. After I did a bug fix end of last year regina is now used in AMC on AROS for driving the ARexx port of mplayer for video playback.
    I know there is a bounty for a closed source version for PPC Arexx and I don't want to interfere with that. If that project is still on, it is normal that that would be preferred for MorphOS. Regina Rexx would be LGPL open source.

My long term multi-year project is to develop a SDK and/or dev environment that would be able to ...
    ... compile programs for all Amiga(-like) OSes.
    ... not need #ifdefs nor complicated Makefiles.
    ... run on all Amiga like OSes and the cross-compilers even on Linux, MacOS, Windows etc.
    ... be able to remove most of the boiler plate code for making:
    - amiga style shared libraries
    - devices
    - handlers
    - BOOPSI classes
    - MUI classes
    But like said before, it will be a multi-year (or even multi-decennium) project ...

greets,
    Staf.

[ Edited by Fats on 2011/2/4 19:22 ]
    Trust me ...
    I know what I am doing