Autostart of application
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    JohnFante
    Posts: 156 from 2006/9/4
    From: Copenhagen
    One of the things I miss in MorphOS is an application that can autostart applications and control the process. I know that you can put programs in WBStartup or add them to user-startup but that is not allways that easy.

    For instance I am trying to autostart Wetter and PolyGlot, Putting them in WBStartup dosn't do anything and adding them to user-startup starts the programs halfways and then I have to quit them to boot Ambient. Maby thats just me dooing something wrong but it would be easier with an controlapplication.

    My user-startup looks like this:

    Code:

    ; MorphOS user-startup
    ;
    ; This script is executed on system boot by
    ; startup-sequence. You can make personal
    ; changes in here.
    ;
    ; $VER: user-startup 1.1
    ;

    ; Enable the following to mount the inet-handler. Note that TCP: allows
    ; easy access to internet, and allows scripts to listen for incoming
    ; connections. Some malware could abuse this.
    ;Mount TCP:

    ;BEGIN OS4Emu
    C:PatchLoadSegOS4 >NIL:
    ;END OS4Emu

    ;BEGIN Wetter
    Work:Wetter/Wetter_mos >NIL:
    ;END Wetter

    ;BEGIN PolyGlot
    Work:PolyGlot/PolyGlot >NIL:
    ;END PolyGlot


    I proberbly need to put in some wait commands between launching the programs. Any suggestions?

    Well just a thought ....

    [ Edited by JohnFante on 2010/3/21 18:20 ]
  • »21.03.10 - 15:19
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2974 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    What you're looking for are run and wbrun commands:

    Code:

    ;BEGIN Wetter
    run Work:Wetter/Wetter_mos >NIL:
    ;END Wetter
  • »21.03.10 - 16:40
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Wishmaster
    Posts: 342 from 2003/6/29
    Copy the Icon of e.g. Wetter.
    Set defaulttool to the Wetter-Executable.
    Add the Tooltype donotwait.
    Put the Icon into WBStartup.
    Pegasos PPC
  • »21.03.10 - 16:42
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Korni
    Posts: 471 from 2006/2/23
    From: the Planet of ...
    Commands in User-startup are executed before Ambient, probably that is why nothing happens. Put an icon in WBStartup, set its type to project, set default tool as a path to your program. Done :).
    http://korni.ppa.pl/modkowypaczek/ | My Rifle, My Bunny, and Me
  • »21.03.10 - 16:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    MarK
    Posts: 641 from 2004/1/25
    From: Prague, The Cz...
    if you can execute the tool by clicking on it's icon, than it must work also in wbstartup, but if the tool requires some other files, these must also be in proprietary directory (check snoopium), anyway, the wbstartup REQUIRES the icon...

    bye, MarK.
  • »22.03.10 - 05:34
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    JohnFante
    Posts: 156 from 2006/9/4
    From: Copenhagen
    Thanks for all the help.

    Putting the icon in WBstartup and making it a project did the trick. I also added the tooltype "DONOTWAIT". And not the PolyGlot starts fine. It dosn't autologin but thath is a minor problem. Wetter also starts fine but I have to update mannually.

    Is the login and update problems something I can fix with tooltypes?

    To be honest I do not know what the "DONOTWAIT" tooltype does?
  • »22.03.10 - 19:04
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    MarK
    Posts: 641 from 2004/1/25
    From: Prague, The Cz...
    DONOTWAIT tells ambient to not to wait until the program is finished and goes on to launch next program in wbstartup, some programs requires some time, and as we have multitasking, we can run more programs at once... :)

    bye, MarK.
  • »23.03.10 - 06:07
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    itix
    Posts: 1516 from 2003/2/24
    From: Finland
    DONOTWAIT tooltype should not be needed in Ambient. It is only remnant from old days.
    1 + 1 = 3 with very large values of 1
  • »23.03.10 - 08:30
    Profile