MorphOS 2 not working on EFIKA :-(
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    serge
    Posts: 725 from 2003/2/20
    I'm afraid,

    The Efika install img doesn't work :-x

    boot scsi:0 morphos-2.0-efikainstall.img
    error : bootimage format is of an unknown format.

    I downloaded 3 times the install.img from 3 mirrors.
    I tryed 3 USB keys and have the same error message.
  • »01.07.08 - 11:04
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Leon
    Posts: 93 from 2003/11/28
    Join the club.

    I have tried to boot from my "world's most popular USB stick" Kingston DataTraveller 1GB and although it was recognized and shows up in show-scsi & devalias, I got the same errors you got.

    No matter if it is FAT or FAT32 and the MD5 file checksum is correct, I couldn't boot from the USB stick, so I went with the TFTP option and it worked.

    "Boot from a USB stick"... I wish the reality would be as easy as written in the readme file.

    Meanwhile, I could not see a place in the installer where I can enter my proxy server information, did I miss it?
    Proud owner of:
    Efika
    ABIT ATI 9200SE AGP 128MB
    40GB Samsung Hard Drive 5400rpm
    -----
    PowerMac 3.1 G4 350Mhz "Sawtooth" AGP
  • »01.07.08 - 11:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    MrZammler
    Posts: 18 from 2003/3/3
    Well, it worked here for me (I even downloaded the morphos2.0.iso to the same stick and installed from there).

    Make sure your stick contains a partition. Dont know how to explain this, but e.g. in linux a stick can appear as either /dev/sdx or /dev/sdx1. Both are valid, but scsi:0 looks for the later.

    Does ls scsi:0 list the files in the stick?
  • »01.07.08 - 11:36
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    serge
    Posts: 725 from 2003/2/20
    I finaly had succes booting from the image on miror 1 with an usb key wich failed before.
    I started Iwiard and now MOS.iso is beeing downloading.

    COOL


    [ Edited by serge on 2008/7/1 12:25 ]
  • »01.07.08 - 11:36
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    SoundSquare
    Posts: 1188 from 2004/12/1
    From: Paris, France
    it works here, i'm loading it from a TFTP server through the LAN.
    But after 10 mins it's still booting.... it gets stuck at "Quark/Openfirmware"
  • »01.07.08 - 11:37
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    NicePics13
    Posts: 60 from 2007/3/9
    From: Finland
    Don't follow the instructions in the readme too rigidly.
    I booted the install image from a Kingston 512MB USB stick with boot hd0:0 morphos-2.0-efikainstall.img but it was too damn slow so I got a network timeout.
    Still, I had plenty of Linux partitions so the install image can be booted from one of those and you can keep the ISO itself on the USB stick (or download it as you install).

    MorphOS 2.0 is running nicely :-D

    CBM Amiga 1200 + 4MB AMITEK with 33MHz 68882 FPU
    PowerBook5,4 1024MB 1333MHz G4
  • »01.07.08 - 11:50
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    amiades
    Posts: 230 from 2005/6/2
    From: Asturies, Spain
    I had some trouble with a 1gb Trekstor memstick. One like this:

    http://www.trekstor.de/dyn_files/products/usb-stick_me/detail/black.jpg

    Had random freezes, and everything was sloooooow...

    Then I tried a usb harddisk (trekstor too), and it worked much better. img load was faster, and the system felt lighter at all. Anyway, I finally had some extrange issues at the end of the installation. When IWizard copies all the files, when I reached something like 120 megs, and around 4000 files, MOS kept reading from the HD, but the efika HD didn't make any sound... I waited for a while, but it didn't finish. Finally, it freezed again xD. Tody I will try again...
  • »01.07.08 - 11:53
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    NicePics13
    Posts: 60 from 2007/3/9
    From: Finland
    About the possible partition layout on a USB stick:

    Windows 98? usually formats the entire stick as a loop device so when you want to see what's on it from OF just type:
    ls hd0 <- list entire stick

    Linux can format the stick with a regular msdos partition table:
    ls hd0:0 <- list first partition on stick

    CBM Amiga 1200 + 4MB AMITEK with 33MHz 68882 FPU
    PowerBook5,4 1024MB 1333MHz G4
  • »01.07.08 - 11:56
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    serge
    Posts: 725 from 2003/2/20
    After downloading the MOS.iso, the installation doesn't continu.

    I click on install button, but nothing happens.
  • »01.07.08 - 12:27
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    SoundSquare
    Posts: 1188 from 2004/12/1
    From: Paris, France
    Quote:

    I click on install button, but nothing happens.


    select the directory where the iso was downloaded (don't select ram: as destination for the iso !)
    then select the partition you want to install it.

    then click on install.

    It's installing here, but MOS crashed twice already on my efika

    + that's very stupid to have the timeout warning DURING the install !!!
  • »01.07.08 - 12:39
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    SoundSquare
    Posts: 1188 from 2004/12/1
    From: Paris, France
    alright MOS 2.0 is finally installed on my efika

    now ... how can i boot it ???? where is the boot image ?
    nothing in the readme about it, unless i missed it.

    (two more crashes in the meanwhile during install)

    edit : ok i just noticed boot.img will try to boot it.

    edit2 : mm it boots but gets stuck on the butterfly logo. (trying the bootdevice argument)






    [ Edited by SoundSquare on 2008/7/1 12:53 ]

    [ Edited by SoundSquare on 2008/7/1 13:00 ]

    [ Edited by SoundSquare on 2008/7/1 13:01 ]
  • »01.07.08 - 12:47
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    mvdhoning
    Posts: 5 from 2008/7/1
    you seem to get further then me.
    i just get to the part stating Morphos 2.0 Loading...
  • »01.07.08 - 13:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    SoundSquare
    Posts: 1188 from 2004/12/1
    From: Paris, France
    Quote:

    i just get to the part stating Morphos 2.0 Loading...


    i installed MOS on the first partition (SFS) of my HD on the Efika.

    to boot it i used :

    boot hd:0 boot.img

    it boots until the butterfly logo saying "morphOS 2.0 loading" but nothing happens

    i tried

    boot hd:0 boot.img bootdevice=sda1 (or sdh1)

    same issue.

    does someone know how to boot MOS ????


    [ Edited by SoundSquare on 2008/7/1 13:08 ]
  • »01.07.08 - 13:07
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    MrZammler
    Posts: 18 from 2003/3/3
    Sorry, can't help.

    boot hd:0 boot.img boots MOS2 ok here.

    (Did notice a few freezes though, I think they only occured when I had a usb stick inserted).
  • »01.07.08 - 13:21
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    mvdhoning
    Posts: 5 from 2008/7/1
    hmm, i gues i try again this evening

    as a side note: what keyboard do you have. Mine is not responding. when the loading message is on
  • »01.07.08 - 13:24
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Zylesea
    Posts: 1891 from 2003/6/4
    Have you checked that the sys partition is marked bootable? I had the prob, that during formating I thought I did that checkamark, but it wasn't taken into account (or I was confused..). I rebooted from stick and set the correct checkmark. Everything's fine since then.
    --
    http://www.via-altera.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
    ...and Matthias , my friend - RIP
  • »01.07.08 - 13:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    shakenfr
    Posts: 10 from 2007/12/29
    I reboot to put the partition sys as bootable but after I have the same problem.

    "Morphos 2.0 loading" is the only message I can see

    Any other ideas ?
  • »01.07.08 - 13:47
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    SoundSquare
    Posts: 1188 from 2004/12/1
    From: Paris, France
    @Zylesea

    thanks ! you were right about the boot mark, it works now.
  • »01.07.08 - 14:02
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    shakenfr
    Posts: 10 from 2007/12/29
    Mistake of me. With a bootable partition It now works !!!
  • »01.07.08 - 14:10
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    MrZammler
    Posts: 18 from 2003/3/3
    Good to see you guys sorting that out.

    Here, though, I'm still getting random freezes...
  • »01.07.08 - 14:16
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    SoundSquare
    Posts: 1188 from 2004/12/1
    From: Paris, France
    The system freezes when enabling the 3D layers and moving a window. Everytime.
  • »01.07.08 - 15:00
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    mvdhoning
    Posts: 5 from 2008/7/1
    with the partition marked as bootable it now works :-)
    No freezes here but is this 3d thing something you have to turn on?
  • »01.07.08 - 16:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    SoundSquare
    Posts: 1188 from 2004/12/1
    From: Paris, France
    Quote:

    No freezes here but is this 3d thing something you have to turn on?


    yes, but i just heard it's not included in the ISO.
    i guess that's why it crashes when turning it on on Efika.
    :-(
  • »01.07.08 - 16:18
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    BatteMan
    Posts: 217 from 2003/2/24
    From: Vesoul | France
    3D is included... Don't you see shadow under windows ? Cube3D and Plender (for transparency) are not included 'cause they're third parties applications.
    Webmaster of http://www.annuaire-amiga.org
  • »01.07.08 - 20:07
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    Senex
    Posts: 495 from 2003/2/17
    From: Hannover / Ger...
    Quote:

    Cube3D and Plender (for transparency) are not included 'cause they're third parties applications.


    SCube has been made available meanwhile - looks indeed impressive! :-)

    http://kiero.binaryriot.org/scube.lha - everyone who downloads it please take note of the readme file
  • »01.07.08 - 23:07
    Profile Visit Website