Bochs hardfile
  • Targhan
    Posts: 2833 from 2003/2/8
    From: USA
    How does one make a hardfile for usage with Bochs, when only MorphOS is available on the Pegasos in question?
    :idea:Targhan

    MorphOS portal? www.MorphZone.org
  • »03.06.03 - 18:35
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    tomjoad
    Posts: 99 from 2003/2/24
    Ummm, how about the bximage program which is included in the MorphOS Bochs distribution?
  • »03.06.03 - 19:48
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Spidey
    Posts: 568 from 2003/2/24
    From: Netherlands
    And it's easy as that!
    Just fill in how many megabytes this hardfile should be and bximage will produce this file and give the relevant numbers (heads, cylinders...) to put in the .bochsrc

    I've got a 512MB file and in mine .bochsrc I've got the following line:

    ata0-master: type=disk, path="d.img", cylinders=1040, heads=16, spt=63,

    Spidey
  • »03.06.03 - 20:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • Targhan
    Posts: 2833 from 2003/2/8
    From: USA
    Thanks! I've got the hardfile, but Bochs still isn't working correctly for me. I get the bochs window, but it doesn't see the cdrom nor give me anything beyond a grey screen.
    :idea:Targhan

    MorphOS portal? www.MorphZone.org
  • »03.06.03 - 20:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Spidey
    Posts: 568 from 2003/2/24
    From: Netherlands
    Hi targhan,

    But the hardfile is recognised now?

    To activate the cdrom you need a similar line in .bochsrc. When I'm home I'll post this line too.
    Further more, if the cdrom is activated, but you don't have a cd in it Bochs will do nothing for about 45 seconds before proceeding booting up (something to do with recognising old cdrom drives).

    Good luck :-),

    Spidey
  • »04.06.03 - 06:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    tomjoad
    Posts: 99 from 2003/2/24
    If it appears to be locked up ... Bochs has the stupid habit of appearing to hang on startup if you have no CD-ROM in your CD drive (or if you have one in there ... I really haven't used Bochs for some time). The cure is to insert a CD.

    Anyway, even with/without a CD, Bochs will come to its senses after quite some time although I agree it very much looks like it has crashed.

    If it's not this, then it's probably your config. But I'd check the CD-ROM issue first.
  • »04.06.03 - 16:07
    Profile
  • Targhan
    Posts: 2833 from 2003/2/8
    From: USA
    I didn't have the latest version of Bochs. Now, it seems as if the Bochs gui is trashing my config file.... :-(
    :idea:Targhan

    MorphOS portal? www.MorphZone.org
  • »04.06.03 - 19:05
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    td741
    Posts: 224 from 2003/4/2
    I have one bosch question actually.

    I was under the impression that BOCHS will only access the CD drive via an ISO image. (IE: not able to access the physical drive). Is this true?

    If so, which software can I use on my MOS system to create an ISO image? Otherwise, I'll tweak MOS so I can access the CDDrive directly.

    Is the BOCHS GUI compatible with the latest version of BOCHS?

    I figure that I'll invest some time to try and get it to run.
    Steph
  • »04.06.03 - 19:53
    Profile Visit Website
  • Targhan
    Posts: 2833 from 2003/2/8
    From: USA
    Bochs can see an actual CDRom drive :-)
    :idea:Targhan

    MorphOS portal? www.MorphZone.org
  • »04.06.03 - 20:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Spidey
    Posts: 568 from 2003/2/24
    From: Netherlands
    It's evening and I'm home at last! :-D

    Ok, this is what is in mine .bochsrc:

    config_interface: textconfig
    display_library: amigaos
    romimage: file=bios/BIOS-bochs-latest, address=0xf0000
    megs: 128
    vgaromimage: bios/VGABIOS-lgpl-latest
    floppya: 1_44=A.img, status=ejected
    floppyb: 1_44=B.img, status=ejected
    ata0: enabled=1, ioaddr1=0x1f0, ioaddr2=0x3f0, irq=14
    ata1: enabled=1, ioaddr1=0x170, ioaddr2=0x370, irq=15
    ata2: enabled=0, ioaddr1=0x1e8, ioaddr2=0x3e8, irq=11
    ata3: enabled=0, ioaddr1=0x168, ioaddr2=0x368, irq=9
    ata0-master: type=disk, path="d.img", cylinders=1040, heads=16, spt=63,
    ata0-slave: type=cdrom, path="ide.device 3", status=inserted
    ata1-master: type=disk, path="e.img", cylinders=1040, heads=16, spt=63,
    boot: disk
    floppy_bootsig_check: disabled=0
    log: t:bochsout.txt
    panic: action=fatal
    error: action=report
    info: action=report
    debug: action=ignore
    debugger_log: t:bochs.debug
    com1: enabled=1, dev="--"
    parport1: enabled=1, file="--"
    vga_update_interval: 1000
    keyboard_serial_delay: 250
    keyboard_paste_delay: 100000
    floppy_command_delay: 500
    ips: 18000000
    mouse: enabled=0
    private_colormap: enabled=0
    fullscreen: enabled=0
    screenmode: name="--"
    keyboard_mapping: enabled=0, map=
    i440fxsupport: enabled=0


    With this config I have 128 MB in Windows.
    I've got a A-drive and a B-drive (2 images of bootable floppies).
    I've assigned 2 IDE controllers to be active and have a 512 MB image-file and the CD-ROM on the first controller and also a 512 MB image-file as Master on the second IDE controller.
    And finally Bochs starts in a window in Ambient.



    I use Bochs V2.0.2 with the newly made GUI from Felix.
    This GUI deletes all unnecessary lines in the config-file, perhaps that is the thrashing you were talking about targhan?

    About the CDROM:
    Like tomjoad said, just place a cd in the drive and Bochs will continue loading (well, if you have a bootable drive ofcourse ;-))
    Also to answer td741, I installed Microsoft Office 97 from cd in Windows 95, so it works beautifully :-)

    I don't know if the GUI works with the latest Bochs. I guess I'll have to try this.

    Spidey
  • »04.06.03 - 21:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Targhan
    Posts: 2833 from 2003/2/8
    From: USA
    Thanks Spidey! I'll cut, paste, and edit this tonight ;-)
    :idea:Targhan

    MorphOS portal? www.MorphZone.org
  • »04.06.03 - 22:13
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Spidey
    Posts: 568 from 2003/2/24
    From: Netherlands
    Good luck with it targhan. :-)

    To be honest, I don't use Bochs much.
    I'm waiting for better graphic support and ethernet-connection.

    Spidey
  • »05.06.03 - 06:51
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    magnetic
    Posts: 2129 from 2003/3/1
    From: Los Angeles
    Spidey:
    How fast is your Bochs setup compared to a real pc? 100mhz Pentium? 200mhz p2? I just want to see if its worthwhile to install.
    magnetic
    Pegasos 2 Rev 2B3 w/ Freescale 7447 "G4" @ 1ghz / 1gb Nanya Ram
    Quad Boot: MorphOS 2.7 | Amiga OS4.1 U4 | Ubuntu PPC GNU/Linux | OS X 10.4
  • »05.06.03 - 07:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Spidey
    Posts: 568 from 2003/2/24
    From: Netherlands
  • »05.06.03 - 11:29
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    Senex
    Posts: 497 from 2003/2/17
    From: Hannover / Ger...
    I don't know to which real PC it is comparable, but W95 boots in 80 seconds and Word (95, IIRC, am at work currently) needs about 20 seconds.
  • »05.06.03 - 15:42
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 261 from 2003/3/13
    From: Rotterdam, the...
    > I didn't have the latest version of Bochs.
    > Now, it seems as if the Bochs gui is trashing
    > my config file....

    Sorry that my GUI f*cksup your config file,
    i personally haven't found such problems,
    that's why it's beta ;)

    Ill update it one of these day's, when i
    have some spare time..

    And yes it's made for Bochs 2.02, and i
    don't think a newer version is available.

    Bye,
    Felix@attention-software.com
  • »05.06.03 - 21:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Spidey
    Posts: 568 from 2003/2/24
    From: Netherlands
    Hi Felix,

    So, probably no newer version of Bochs....
    Do you know or heard anything about continuing Bochs development?

    Spidey
  • »06.06.03 - 07:41
    Profile Visit Website
  • Targhan
    Posts: 2833 from 2003/2/8
    From: USA
    @Felix

    No worries m8. This was just a fun experiment to try ;-) Would have been funny if I could have gooten Amithlon to load on it though!
    :idea:Targhan

    MorphOS portal? www.MorphZone.org
  • »06.06.03 - 07:52
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 261 from 2003/3/13
    From: Rotterdam, the...
    Hey Spiderman ;),

    A few months ago i had some contact with someone
    who had acces to the sources, i also asked him
    for some things i missed, such as the platform
    and version in the titlebar of the window, and
    if network/sb16 support is comming, he told me
    svb16 was priority, and that he would update
    the windowtitle part, no more i realy know for
    the morphos port.

    The actual bochs project is at sourceforge,
    you can check there if there's any news, i
    read there a time ago, someone was working
    on dynamic translation, wich can boost emulation
    2 or 4 or more times, like JIT on MOS :)

    If i need any PC emulation today, i use
    linux/mol/realpc, wich is very usable
    for stuff like web browsing & fileshare..
  • »06.06.03 - 16:30
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Spidey
    Posts: 568 from 2003/2/24
    From: Netherlands
    Hi Felix,

    Glad to hear they are still working on improvements! :-D
    My problem is that I don't have enough knowledge of Linux or Mac to use those OS's and to be honest; I'm very lazy at the moment with all these high temperatures in Holland! :-)

    I'll check their site.

    Thanks :-)

    Spidey
  • »06.06.03 - 22:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    td741
    Posts: 224 from 2003/4/2
    Okay... Using bochs 2.0.2.

    I downloaded the FreeDos 8.1 "h1" iso image. Burned the CD. I could boot the FreeDOS cd from bochs, and do the installation on my "c.img".

    Then I restart bochs and boot from harddrive. I get the "bios" output on the bochs window, and then I see some garbage on the screen. I hit a key and it says: "Booting from harddisk..." and redisplays the same garbage.

    Anyone have any hints? In short, I don't want to run windows, I'd like to run dos, or perhaps even OS/2. ;)
    Steph
  • »08.06.03 - 05:47
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Posts: 261 from 2003/3/13
    From: Rotterdam, the...
    I also had troubles using FreeDOS with Bochs,
    i found some MSDOS floppyimages on www.filemirrors.com, and downloaded them,
    and that way i could partition my hd image,
    and format it with dos.

    Mabe this helps..

    Felix.
  • »09.06.03 - 17:05
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Spidey
    Posts: 568 from 2003/2/24
    From: Netherlands
  • »10.06.03 - 06:36
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    td741
    Posts: 224 from 2003/4/2
    Okay, so there is software for BOCHS that allows you to read a PC floppy and make an image out of it?

    I'll probably try that out then... I'm curious to see if I can load up OS/2.

    Right now, I simply booted up on Freedos, formated the drives and now I'm installing up Win98 at home since I can boot off the CD. :P (At least, it started before I head out this morning. :P)

    If the booting of HD works, then I will perhaps attempt to install OS/2 from within Windows. :P

    I've also been tinkering with PCTask3, and seeing if I can boot off the catweasel... It doesn't quite work. :P

    Edit: I've also been having problems getting floppy support to work right. I've tried the floppy images available from the BOCHS website and it seems like BOCHS just freezes when loading floppies. I will attempt to access a floppy once I get Windows loaded up, but it doesn't seem to work for me? Could it be a problem with using BOCHS on an SFS partition like "DosBox"?
    Steph
  • »10.06.03 - 15:51
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Spidey
    Posts: 568 from 2003/2/24
    From: Netherlands
    Hello td741,

    "Okay, so there is software for BOCHS that allows you to read a PC floppy and make an image out of it?"

    Well yes, it's a freeware prog called DiskImage or so?! (I forgot the name, I'll check it tomorrow at work)

    "Right now, I simply booted up on Freedos, formated the drives and now I'm installing up Win98 at home since I can boot off the CD. :P (At least, it started before I head out this morning. :P)"

    So you're able to do more with FreeDos than I :-D
    I know I was stuck with formatting the harddrive, but the installation of Win95 was corrupt at the end. That's why I made images of the Win95 recovery floppy at my work and used that instead.

    "I've also been tinkering with PCTask3, and seeing if I can boot off the catweasel... It doesn't quite work. :P"

    I tried that too (without Catweasel), but PCTask needs the original chipset or so.

    "I've also been having problems getting floppy support to work right. I've tried the floppy images available from the BOCHS website and it seems like BOCHS just freezes when loading floppies. I will attempt to access a floppy once I get Windows loaded up, but it doesn't seem to work for me? Could it be a problem with using BOCHS on an SFS partition like "DosBox"?"

    This sounds familiar to me (about floppy images and FreeDos). Did you try to boot up with only the floppy image? I know I don't have any problems with the floppy images and I've got everything on a SFS-drive.


    Good luck,

    Spidey
  • »10.06.03 - 17:55
    Profile Visit Website