How to install parallel ZIP drive?
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    MarK
    Posts: 641 from 2004/1/25
    From: Prague, The Cz...
    Hi all!

    I just got the parallel port ZIP drive, but I didn't find any drivers for the parallel port, only for scsi.device. So how should I make it working?

    Thanks in advance, MarK.
  • »13.04.04 - 09:24
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ChatDEau
    Posts: 248 from 2003/4/4
    From: MONTREAL, Quebec
    Hi Mark,

    I remember that when I once had a parallel ZIP drive on my "boosted" A500 and I was using ppazip (click to download) which was working pretty well.

    I think it uses parallel device thru another hacked device or some hack of that kind.

    As I don't have any parallel ZIP drive anymore, I can't tell if it'll be working, but it may be worth a try.

    Good luck :)

    Fred
  • »13.04.04 - 19:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Targhan
    Posts: 2833 from 2003/2/8
    From: USA
    My suggestion would be to take it back and get a zip drive that connects through USB.
    :idea:Targhan

    MorphOS portal? www.MorphZone.org
  • »13.04.04 - 19:07
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ChatDEau
    Posts: 248 from 2003/4/4
    From: MONTREAL, Quebec
    or internal IDE or int/ext SCSI ...

    Personnaly, if I had a SCSI board, I'd go that way. On the other hand, USB is useful if you often bring your ZIP drive at school/work/friend's place.

    Internal IDE is great, as it fits in a 3.5 bay slot.

    Fred
  • »14.04.04 - 03:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Acill
    Posts: 1898 from 2003/10/19
    From: Port Hueneme, Ca.
    I've got a zip 100 IDE I dont even use. Do they work well on Morph?
    AmigaOne X5000 with MorphOS Installed
    Powerbook 1.67GHZ
    Powermac Dual 2.0 GHZ G5 (Registration #1894)
    A4000T CSPPC, Mediator
    Need Repairs, upgrades or a recap in the USA? Visit my website at http://www.acill.com
  • »14.04.04 - 04:14
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    nels664868
    Posts: 117 from 2003/12/28
    From: Fort Myers, Fl...
    Hi Acill

    YES, it works well. You need fat95 filesystem and to make a mountlist
    entry for the zip drive.
    example;

    /* ZIP3: fat95 PC file system for zip #3 */
    /* $VER: fat95 file system 3.06 (08-Aug-2002) by Torsten Jager */

    FileSystem = l:fat95
    Device = ide.device
    Unit = 3 /* change drive number here */
    Flags = 0
    LowCyl = 0
    HighCyl = 1
    Surfaces = 1 /* bootblock values have priority over these */
    BlocksPerTrack = 1
    Buffers = 600
    BufMemType = 1
    BootPri = 0
    Stacksize = 4096
    Priority = 5
    GlobVec = -1
    DosType = 0x46415401 /* enable ETD commands */

    nels
    Ask Dr. Stupid,
    Dear Dr. Stupid,
    Why do we have to go to school?
    That's a very good question. It's becuse your parents are
    ALIENS!!! When your at school they shed there human skins and
    breathe drier lint! hahahaha!
  • »14.04.04 - 04:35
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    MarK
    Posts: 641 from 2004/1/25
    From: Prague, The Cz...
    Please don't gimme advices like return it and get a SCSI one, it's a bit silly. I got the parallel zip for free and I asked how to make it working, nothing else.

    The ppazip archive is only for Amiga (I guess) as it requires joystick port :-P Did anyone here make it working? When I use the parallel.device as the device (in da Mountlist), it seams to be correctly mounted, but when I try to format it, it just says, that device cannot be opened...

    Thanks, MarK.
  • »17.04.04 - 09:08
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Velcro_SP
    Posts: 929 from 2003/7/13
    From: Universe
    |||

    [ Edited by Velcro_SP on 2011/3/12 1:52 ]
    Pegasos2 G3, 512 megs RAM
  • »17.04.04 - 13:40
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Aaron
    Posts: 127 from 2003/6/14
    From: Tucson, AZ
    @nels

    You don't need FAT95 to use an IDE ZIP drive unless you want to use
    Windows-formatted disks. I use SFS on my ZIP disks.

    --Aaron
    --Aaron Diezman
  • »18.04.04 - 00:08
    Profile
  • Targhan
    Posts: 2833 from 2003/2/8
    From: USA
    Well, if it were serial, I'de suggest a serial->usb adapter. I am sure that physically, the parallel port on the Pegasos would handle the device, but I would not even begin to know where to get the device driver needed.

    Might I suggest locating an open-source linux device driver for the device? Then, at least there is the possibility of porting the driver to MorphOS. :-)
    :idea:Targhan

    MorphOS portal? www.MorphZone.org
  • »18.04.04 - 00:16
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    jdryyz
    Posts: 127 from 2004/4/9
    From: Torrance, CA USA
    I have an internal IDE ZIP 100 connected to my Peg II (shows up as unit 3). I have inserted some Mac formatted carts. I didn't expect to see them automount, but without a device label, how can I format them for SFS? Do I still need a mountlist of some kind?

    Quote:

    You don't need FAT95 to use an IDE ZIP drive unless you want to use Windows-formatted disks. I use SFS on my ZIP disks.
  • »23.05.04 - 03:19
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ChatDEau
    Posts: 248 from 2003/4/4
    From: MONTREAL, Quebec
    @MarK

    Well, I'm afraid it won't work as the parallel port from Amiga isn't working the exact same way the one for PC does. I'm pretty sure tho that the Pegasos parallel port is standardised (so probably the same as in a PC), but - as the program I suggested you (and I didn't remember that) requires the joystick and that it's meant for the Amiga parallel port - you're unfortunately screwed up!

    Unless someone codes a driver or unless it works with the mountlist below (changing the device to parallel.device), you probably will have to forget about it.

    Hope it helps a bit!

    Fred
  • »23.05.04 - 03:48
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Aaron
    Posts: 127 from 2003/6/14
    From: Tucson, AZ
    @jdryyz

    What I do is prep the disks in SCSIConfig. I setup 1 SFS
    ZIP0: partition on the disk. After you do that, you will be able to
    format the disk like normal.

    --Aaron
    --Aaron Diezman
  • »23.05.04 - 06:03
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    jdryyz
    Posts: 127 from 2004/4/9
    From: Torrance, CA USA
    Ahh....forgot I gotta treat it like a hard disk.

    Hmm....so if did want to read PC or Mac formatted carts, a mountlist will be required, correct? I wonder if my old CrossMAC will do the trick for the Mac side.

    Quote:

    What I do is prep the disks in SCSIConfig. I setup 1 SFS ZIP0: partition on the disk. After you do that, you will be able to format the disk like normal.
  • »23.05.04 - 06:26
    Profile
  • tom
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    tom
    Posts: 147 from 2003/7/22
    From: Heesch, The Ne...
    I've installed a 100MB Zip with Iomega installer on my WB 3.9 CD. It was very easy. I've never had any problems.

    Cheersk, Tom
  • »23.05.04 - 14:26
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Aaron
    Posts: 127 from 2003/6/14
    From: Tucson, AZ
    @jdryzz

    Yes, you will need mountlists to read PC- and Mac-formatted disks.

    I think CrossMac will work. I think there are even mountlists on
    Aminet to use with CrossMac.

    --Aaron
    --Aaron Diezman
  • »24.05.04 - 09:35
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    jdryyz
    Posts: 127 from 2004/4/9
    From: Torrance, CA USA
    Are you referring to the "IoTools" app? I launched this and even with my properly selected ide.device unit 3, it doesn't see my drive. It would be nice to use since it offers all the other Iomega options (protection for example).


    Quote:

    I've installed a 100MB Zip with Iomega installer on my WB 3.9 CD. It was very easy. I've never had any problems.
  • »24.05.04 - 16:43
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    jdryyz
    Posts: 127 from 2004/4/9
    From: Torrance, CA USA
    Thanks. I will give it a try.

    Quote:

    I think CrossMac will work. I think there are even mountlists on
  • »24.05.04 - 16:43
    Profile
  • tom
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    tom
    Posts: 147 from 2003/7/22
    From: Heesch, The Ne...
    It was a long time ago, so I'm not sure, but i think you have to copy ZIP (and perhaps ZIC) in DEVS:Dosdrivers
  • »24.05.04 - 16:55
    Profile
  • News Moderator
    News Moderator
    Darth_X
    Posts: 571 from 2003/2/10
    From: Vancouver Isla...
    Is there a bounty (donations) to anyone who can get parallel port zip drives working on Pegasos running MorphOS?

    I see many of these parallel 100MB zip drives priced between $10-$15 used, very affordable storage/backup solution. :-D
    When you have eliminated all which is impossible,
    then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth!!! - Sherlock Holmes
  • »27.05.04 - 23:12
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Neko
    Posts: 301 from 2003/2/24
    From: Genesi
    No bounties yet :)

    Parallel ZIP support should be fairly easy. The Pegasos parallel port is ECP-capable and is coded the same way you'd low-level code a PC parallel port.

    There are two kinds of Parallel ZIP controller - iomega "PP3" and the newer "IMM" SCSI controllers. The specifications aren't published but the drivers in Linux and *BSD versions are very easy to follow - all you need is a trackdisk-style (zippar.device or something) on top to access the blocks on the Zip disk, and you're away.

    I'm not volunteering, just saying :)

    My own personal Zip drive is parallel but I cheated to use it on my Pegasos - the Zip disk is connected to the server for scheduled backups, and it's also on an automounted Samba share - so I just use SMBFS to read any files off it that I want.

    Neko
    Matt Sealey, Genesi USA, Inc.
    Developer Relations
    Product Development Analyst
  • »28.05.04 - 09:31
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Divinity
    Posts: 491 from 2009/9/8
    Hello,

    Is it possible to use an Iomega PARALLEL Zip 100 drive (NOT IDE, NOT SCSI) in the Pegasos II using MorphOS?

    I would have one of these PARALLEL drives unused and it would be useful to use it to exchange data with an Amiga computer with an own internal Iomega Zip drive
  • »05.04.21 - 23:19
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 836 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    There is no driver (device) under MOS! How should this work?
    If someone rewrites the ppazip.device for Pegasos-Paralleport it might work - otherwise: forget it.

    Maybe it's possible with Linux........


    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 06.04.2021 - 16:41 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »06.04.21 - 15:37
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    zukow
    Posts: 595 from 2005/2/9
    From: Poland
    SCSI ZIPs also works with MorphOS (here in PowerMacQS G4)
  • »06.04.21 - 20:32
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 836 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    SCSI and IDE works flawless, but he want it badly to do it with a parallel-ZIP............
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »06.04.21 - 22:00
    Profile