Easy2Install
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1981 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    Papiosaur wrote:
    Quote:

    Falcon_11 a écrit :
    Hi Papiosaur

    Nice program.
    I don´t know, whether someone told you about this feature, or not. It would be good, if save position of Easy2Install window should be a same name. With every new beta version has own name and window is always in default position. Every time i need to save the new position.

    Thx
    Regards


    Hi Falcon,

    Thanks ;-)
    Yes, in fact it's a problem because the MUI prefs is linked to the version number and there are many beta version... I will try to found a solution for that. I don't know if i can specify a specific prefs file for MUI prefs with always the same name.


    Umm.. where do you edit the version number that it affects to the MUI prefs? There shouldn't be no reason to do it like that...keep version string in @APPVERSION or set it in window title, but don't touch window id's or such. It's quite annoying if ENVARC:MUI/ gets filled with multiple obsolete files for a program.
  • »19.08.23 - 14:29
    Profile Visit Website
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1981 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    It really shouldn't take the MUI prefs name from the @APPVERSION...

    Do you also add version information to @APPTITLE? I think the prefs filename is taken from it when you're using RapaGUI, and @APPTITLE should be the application name only without anything else.

    For MUI Royale you'd have the Application.Base which sets it, but RapaGUI doesn't have that...
  • »20.08.23 - 11:25
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1885 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    @jPV: you have right!

    I added the same string this version number for @APPTITLE too and the name of MUI prefs file is based on this string...i think MUI based him on the @APPVERSION when i changed the 2 lines...

    I fixed that, now the MUI prefs file will have the same name for all future versions...

    Thanks a lot!
  • »20.08.23 - 20:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1885 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Hello,

    this is the changelog for beta 31:

    - Easy2Install go to donationware statut
    - code optimisation and debug (thanks BeChris)
    - added "Search by developers" option in the database (thanks BeWorld)
    - added button to show/hide for the preview and the banner + last entries at startup option + save options
    - added number of entries in the lister
    - added hotkeys to requesters "Yes/No"
    - added more informations during the operations in Readme window
    - hidden Installer column
    - fixed one MUI prefs file now (thanks jPV)
    thanks to delete sys:prefs/env-archive/MUI/EASY2INSTALL10Bxx.x.prefs
    files
    - new archives supported (see explanations in the readme file)

    Soon...
  • »26.08.23 - 20:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1885 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Hello everyone,

    beta31 finally available, thanks to BeChris, BeWorld and jPV for their help.

    I advise you to delete your old version and install the new one manually.

    Your old prefs path will be lost, thanks to reconfigure them with new version.

    Quite a few new features in this beta and there are apparently incompatibilities with the old version when you update.

    Thank you for your feedback!

    Easy2Install 1.0 beta 31
  • »08.09.23 - 09:17
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    MoerBoer
    Posts: 210 from 2019/10/15
    Very cool, thanks!

    Suggestion for when it comes out of beta, maybe an auto update for itself? 🙂
  • »08.09.23 - 11:36
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1885 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Quote:

    MoerBoer a écrit :
    Very cool, thanks!

    Suggestion for when it comes out of beta, maybe an auto update for itself? 🙂


    Thanks to you for your suggestion ;-)

    Personnaly i don't like "autoupdate" but why not... i will investigate that.

    @all: i need a maximum of returns about this version to improve for the next beta:

    For example, if after an installation, Easy2Install don't find the version number.

    You can directly send me them on my mail (on the Readme), i will correct for the next release.

    Thanks a lot!
  • »08.09.23 - 13:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    cip060
    Posts: 127 from 2010/7/30
    Unfortunately this morning I tried version 0.33 and a lot of crashes and system freezes returned on my 20 inch imac g5 Isight
    I have to restart the Mac by holding down the power button until it turns off and restart it
    Version 0.32 much more stable


    [ Edited by cip060 11.09.2023 - 13:34 ]
  • »11.09.23 - 12:33
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    cip060
    Posts: 127 from 2010/7/30
    Unfortunately it is not possible to provide you with photos or information because it happens randomly
    I can navigate through the various sections or download or when I reload the list there is no way to reproduce the crash
    It crashes entire program in the background
    I can still do other things but it remains active or the system just freezes I have to keep the power button pressed for 5 seconds to turn off the Mac and then turn it back on again
  • »11.09.23 - 15:58
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1885 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Quote:

    cip060 a écrit :
    Unfortunately it is not possible to provide you with photos or information because it happens randomly
    I can navigate through the various sections or download or when I reload the list there is no way to reproduce the crash
    It crashes entire program in the background
    I can still do other things but it remains active or the system just freezes I have to keep the power button pressed for 5 seconds to turn off the Mac and then turn it back on again



    If someone has the same problem, i can investigate.

    In other case, if nobody has these sort of problems i think to a hardware problem (memory, ...).

    Sincerely, I don't understand why 0.32 will work better than 0.33.

    Try to move Hollywood plugins from Easy2Install to Sys:Libs/Hollywood/

    Maybe...
  • »11.09.23 - 19:40
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    cip060
    Posts: 127 from 2010/7/30
    I have a problem, could you pass me on easy install 0.32
    I'm doing some tests
    cippo74@yahoo.it
    Grazie
  • »12.09.23 - 16:37
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1885 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Quote:

    cip060 a écrit :
    I have a problem, could you pass me on easy install 0.32
    I'm doing some tests
    cippo74@yahoo.it
    Grazie


    Sorry cip060, i didn't work with old version.

    Thanks to test with last version and not previous version.

    Where is your T: assign please ? RAM:T/ or in a partition ?
  • »12.09.23 - 17:31
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    cip060
    Posts: 127 from 2010/7/30
    I tried again 0.32 works very well no crashes
  • »13.09.23 - 11:11
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1885 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Quote:

    cip060 a écrit :
    I tried again 0.32 works very well no crashes


    Your crash is maybe caused because the lister is activate before the show of the readme and the preview.

    If you click on the lister before of the end of the loading of this 2 files, it may cause troubles.

    Will be fixed in 0.34.
  • »13.09.23 - 14:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1885 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Hello,

    beta34 available on morphos-storage

    - fixed lister, now activates last (may have caused problems previously)
    - fixed a problem with the downloading function
    - fixed the PayPal and YouTube buttons
    - fixed during "Download archive" process, buttons are now desactivated
    - new archives supported (see explanations in the ReadmeFirst.txt file)
    - improved english texts (thanks NewSense)

    @cip060: thanks to say me if you have always problems with this new beta please.
  • »16.09.23 - 08:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • ghh
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    ghh
    Posts: 31 from 2017/7/16
    From: Prague
    beta35
    After downloading the archive to "Ram disk:" (not to default T:), the program does not open the Ambient window and throws out the message: "Open: device (or volume) is not mounted". (space in the name) And the AHX entry in "Dependencies/Hollywood" has a strange date and a different default path.
    The program works very well and this is just cosmetic stuff.
  • »20.09.23 - 23:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    cip060
    Posts: 127 from 2010/7/30
    I'm giving up on it for the moment, I don't use it, it always crashes!
    the point is that there is no way to understand how it crashes, it does it randomly
    Today I'll try it on another Powermac Quick Silver, let's see
    I will let you know
    I will continue to download files from the site and
    The issue of files spaced every other line persists
    It's as if he changed fonts
    above all it does it when I call the emulation section
  • »21.09.23 - 08:57
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1885 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Quote:

    cip060 a écrit :
    I'm giving up on it for the moment, I don't use it, it always crashes!
    the point is that there is no way to understand how it crashes, it does it randomly
    Today I'll try it on another Powermac Quick Silver, let's see
    I will let you know
    I will continue to download files from the site and
    The issue of files spaced every other line persists
    It's as if he changed fonts
    above all it does it when I call the emulation section


    @cip060: i will test all archives from "Emulation" category for the next beta. I hope your problem will be resolved after that. The problem of "space" in lines come from a version string (after $VER:) not supported by Easy2Install for a specific software. I must found it. You try to found it too, it could help me (pictures, snapshots of your local column) or just the name of the software has two lines of string for "local" column.

    Example:

    "1.0
    (23/09/2021)"
  • »21.09.23 - 11:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    cip060
    Posts: 127 from 2010/7/30
    I'll try'
  • »21.09.23 - 11:50
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1981 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    Papiosaur wrote:
    @cip060: i will test all archives from "Emulation" category for the next beta. I hope your problem will be resolved after that. The problem of "space" in lines come from a version string (after $VER:) not supported by Easy2Install for a specific software. I must found it. You try to found it too, it could help me (pictures, snapshots of your local column) or just the name of the software has two lines of string for "local" column.

    Example:

    "1.0
    (23/09/2021)"

    But don't fix this per program basis then, just do the version string parsing in Easy2Install so that it doesn't matter if there are spaces or line feeds. Hollywood (Lua) is excellent for handling these kind of situations automatically with String library functions. Either remove line feeds or do pattern matching to get what you need regardless any other "trash" in the data. And always take spaces in dir/file names into account (test them always when dealing with files).

    I don't know if you've already done this, but as a reminder to not do things in a hard way, and to have as universal solutions as possible :)
  • »21.09.23 - 12:55
    Profile Visit Website