Networks
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    TiredOfLife
    Posts: 86 from 2009/10/13
    The networks option that shows automatically since the update to 3.18 is very useful.
    I have one question though, how do I relog connections in Networks?
    For example when I first connect and logon as guest and then later want to relog in as as admin.

    Cheers
  • »18.05.23 - 12:04
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2999 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    There are Share Settings available in the context menu when you right click on a share or server.
  • »18.05.23 - 12:26
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    TiredOfLife
    Posts: 86 from 2009/10/13
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    There are Share Settings available in the context menu when you right click on a share or server.


    Brilliant, saw the share settings but didn't think about them in the context of network shares.
    Too much time in the office has obviously addled my brain.

    Cheers
  • »18.05.23 - 13:32
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 750 from 2011/11/30
    @jPV

    Ha! Some nice cameos between 0:44 - 1:20 :P

    I 'd like also to add that network indexing (when files appears on a NAS) is way faster than before.
    Way, up! Also, network samba is up and running at the time Ambient boots instead of waiting a couple of seconds by executing a script to mount a NAS (the old way I had it in the past).
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »19.05.23 - 09:09
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    oeschi
    Posts: 5 from 2021/4/19
    Is it correct that SMB1 shares (e.g. Samba under MorphOS or Classic AmigaOS) are not supported? They do appear under Networks, but when you double click on them you only get an empty folder.
  • »19.05.23 - 15:37
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2999 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    That's correct, there is no support for smb1. A server will show up in Networks as long as it responds to Netbios. Doesn't matter if it shares anything or not.

    [ Edited by jacadcaps 19.05.2023 - 16:45 ]
  • »19.05.23 - 15:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    oeschi
    Posts: 5 from 2021/4/19
    Ok, then I do not need to try this further ;)

    Is it possible or planned that SMB1 is still supported? Or is there at least under MorphOS a possibility to use SMB2 for shares, so that I can access shares of another MorphOS computer?
  • »19.05.23 - 15:52
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    oeschi
    Posts: 5 from 2021/4/19
    Yes, I already use smbfs ;)

    But with the new networks function it would feel better ;)
  • »19.05.23 - 15:58
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2999 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Someone would have to port a newer samba. There's currently no plans to bundle samba as part of the OS. The library used by Networks and smb2fs does not support smb1 protocol at all, so it's not possible to support this deprecated protocol there.
  • »19.05.23 - 17:26
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 545 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    I think really no one cries over smb1 now being unsupported but it could have been mentioned more prominently.

    News item on morphos-team.net only states "In addition, MorphOS 3.18 supports Samba 2 and 3 network share browsing and mounting in the Ambient desktop."
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.18 / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.2]
  • »19.05.23 - 17:36
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    cyfm
    Posts: 537 from 2003/4/11
    From: Germany
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel schrieb:
    I think really no one cries over smb1 now being unsupported but it could have been mentioned more prominently.

    News item on morphos-team.net only states "In addition, MorphOS 3.18 supports Samba 2 and 3 network share browsing and mounting in the Ambient desktop."


    In fact, SmbFS is still available on the ISO, it just isn't integrated into the Ambient NetworksFS and we don't plan to add it. So nothing has been removed. Smb2FS simply doesn't handle the legacy SMB1.
    And yea, the News item is pretty on point, isn't it ?
  • »19.05.23 - 20:06
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 545 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Hehe. ;-) Thanks for clarification cyfm.
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.18 / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.2]
  • »19.05.23 - 20:46
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    matt3
    Posts: 665 from 2004/2/10
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    Hehe. ;-) Thanks for clarification cyfm.


    SMB1 is ancient so I don't miss it, turned it off on my NAS and everything is at SMB 3.

    I wish SMB2FS on AOS was just as simple. Took 30 minutes to get the 3000 working on the network as appose to 30 seconds in MorphOS!
  • »19.05.23 - 22:45
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2999 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Unless you need data encryption, smb2 will give you better performance.
  • »19.05.23 - 23:37
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    matt3
    Posts: 665 from 2004/2/10
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    Unless you need data encryption, smb2 will give you better performance.


    Thanks, I didn't know that. Setting back to SMB2.
  • »19.05.23 - 23:48
    Profile