Want to run CD-RW or USB pendrive to re-install Morphos 3.17
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 25 from 2022/7/1
    Hi!

    Just follow this link specially from post 18.You can read all if you like too,but this was revived last days:

    https://www.amigans.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=8864

    [ Edited by bearerofthetorch 23.11.2022 - 17:03 ]
  • »23.11.22 - 16:24
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 25 from 2022/7/1
    Because I think on Amigans the people are more focused on AmigaOS 4.1.Here is a specific MorphOS site,that's wy I prefer to post here as this site is more MorphOS focused.

    I am in serious trouble.

    Just post what you think.

    And I have a CD-RW and a pendrive both with MorphOS and bootable.

    Why I can't boot now?

    What I am doing not good if I am?
  • »23.11.22 - 20:39
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 25 from 2022/7/1
    I don't want to loose time with previous topics so if you are so kind just give me your thoughts and opinions here.

    That's why I opened this thread.

    If not I will loose MorphOS that I don't want and focus more onto AmigaOS 4.1
  • »24.11.22 - 21:00
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    NewSense
    Posts: 1285 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    @ bearerofthetorch - I thought you had got some resolution, via your retailer - Amedia in France, to your X5000 hardware and trying to re-install the MorphOS installation that you had wiped inadvertently/accidentally, and by failing to follow the good advice passed to you by many MorphOS users in this M-Zone forum post/thread back in July 2022, but it seems you have now opened yet another thread, about this same problem you still have, as you have failed to work out how to fix your earlier re-formatting mistake and install MorphOS, which has many benefits over OS4.x, but which you seem ill-suited to implement to gain those benefits.

    If you only want to play games on OS4.x then I wish you much fun doing just that, but spending so much money on an X5000 to do that seems wasteful to me, but there is not much else that OS4.x is seemingly aimed at of recent. Having a 2GB, or other large, RAM GFX card to play games on is nice to be able to boast about, but I would rather see my system hardware utilised for better purposes.

    For me I would rather have a system that has some useful software available, including a fairly regularly updated OS, and other applications such as a modern web browser, and up-to-date email system, as well as a recently revived DeskTop Publishing program, PageStream v5.1.2, that is only available for MorphOS and Windows currently. As well as many other features and applications from the Amiga 68k software era that can be run seamlessly within MorphOS's system, under Trance emulation.

    You are not going to "lose time with previous topics" - as you still haven't worked out how or why it happened in the first place . . . and it is now almost 5 months later than you initially asked for help in this forum.

    I originally offered my help via a PM, but you never contacted me. Also, you have wasted the time of other members in this forum not taking the good advice that was offered to you by them, even though you are still in the same situation as before, and you don't seem to know how to get out of it, or may have not asked the retailer for their help to re-instate/fix the MorphOS installation.

    You say you don't want MorphOS, but you seem to have spent a lot of time trying, in your own way/method, of trying to get it back working on your X5000, so you must realise you have lost something of value to you, which I would confirm that you have!

    Many users on this forum have Apple/Macintosh based PPC hardware, which works out extremely economical to use, as some would not want to own the expensive X5000, or other initially intended OS4.x hardware systems, though some do.

    I originally wanted to stay as an Amiga user using classic PPC/68k hardware with OS4.x, but prospects ended up extremely bleak (unnecessarily so by the OS4 developers IMHO), and so I decided to try MorphOS - and - I am oh so glad I did! 8-D

    I would not swap MorphOS for OS4 or for any other exotic hardware . . . currently. ;-)

    So, asking questions about the X5000 hardware and how to fix your problems, that you have caused, is going to be restricted to those MorphOS users who have some knowledge of the hardware you own, but having said that, you seem ill suited/incapable to be able to follow a detailed thread of instructions of how to fix it, even if someone gave you those detailed instructions in as simple a way as possible . . . as has already been stated in the previous thread I quoted above!

    These are my thoughts and opinions of your situation, but you must decide if you value MorphOS enough to get it re-instated on your system. Many other users have it on their X5000 systems, so it obviously works. You just have to work out . . .

    1. how to do it, or
    2. who to contact to install it for you if you are not competent enough to install it yourself

    I would choose number 2, as, sadly, I don't think you are competent enough to do it yourself. :-)
    MacMini 1.5GHz,64MB VRAM, PowerBooks A1138/9 (Model 5,8/9),PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP), iMac A1145 2.1GHz 20", all with MorphOS v3.17,Airport,Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL,MiniMax,Firewire/USB2 & MacOSX 10.4/5.
  • »24.11.22 - 23:27
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11720 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > If you only want to play games on OS4.x then I wish you much fun doing
    > just that, [...] there is not much else that OS4.x is seemingly aimed at
    > of recent. [...] I would rather see my system hardware utilised for better
    > purposes. [...] applications from the Amiga 68k software era that can be
    > run seamlessly within MorphOS's system, under Trance emulation.

    OS4 has Petunia for this same purpose, btw.
  • »24.11.22 - 23:48
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    NewSense
    Posts: 1285 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote: OS4 has Petunia for this same purpose, btw.

    I know - I used to have an OS4.1 FE system - I didn't like the OS so I sold it all on to someone who could appreciate it . . . more than me. 8-D
    MacMini 1.5GHz,64MB VRAM, PowerBooks A1138/9 (Model 5,8/9),PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP), iMac A1145 2.1GHz 20", all with MorphOS v3.17,Airport,Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL,MiniMax,Firewire/USB2 & MacOSX 10.4/5.
  • »25.11.22 - 00:54
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 25 from 2022/7/1
    Quote:

    NewSense wrote:
    @ bearerofthetorch - I thought you had got some resolution, via your retailer - Amedia in France, to your X5000 hardware and trying to re-install the MorphOS installation that you had wiped inadvertently/accidentally, and by failing to follow the good advice passed to you by many MorphOS users in this M-Zone forum post/thread back in July 2022, but it seems you have now opened yet another thread, about this same problem you still have, as you have failed to work out how to fix your earlier re-formatting mistake and install MorphOS, which has many benefits over OS4.x, but which you seem ill-suited to implement to gain those benefits.

    If you only want to play games on OS4.x then I wish you much fun doing just that, but spending so much money on an X5000 to do that seems wasteful to me, but there is not much else that OS4.x is seemingly aimed at of recent. Having a 2GB, or other large, RAM GFX card to play games on is nice to be able to boast about, but I would rather see my system hardware utilised for better purposes.

    For me I would rather have a system that has some useful software available, including a fairly regularly updated OS, and other applications such as a modern web browser, and up-to-date email system, as well as a recently revived DeskTop Publishing program, PageStream v5.1.2, that is only available for MorphOS and Windows currently. As well as many other features and applications from the Amiga 68k software era that can be run seamlessly within MorphOS's system, under Trance emulation.

    You are not going to "lose time with previous topics" - as you still haven't worked out how or why it happened in the first place . . . and it is now almost 5 months later than you initially asked for help in this forum.

    I originally offered my help via a PM, but you never contacted me. Also, you have wasted the time of other members in this forum not taking the good advice that was offered to you by them, even though you are still in the same situation as before, and you don't seem to know how to get out of it, or may have not asked the retailer for their help to re-instate/fix the MorphOS installation.

    You say you don't want MorphOS, but you seem to have spent a lot of time trying, in your own way/method, of trying to get it back working on your X5000, so you must realise you have lost something of value to you, which I would confirm that you have!

    Many users on this forum have Apple/Macintosh based PPC hardware, which works out extremely economical to use, as some would not want to own the expensive X5000, or other initially intended OS4.x hardware systems, though some do.

    I originally wanted to stay as an Amiga user using classic PPC/68k hardware with OS4.x, but prospects ended up extremely bleak (unnecessarily so by the OS4 developers IMHO), and so I decided to try MorphOS - and - I am oh so glad I did! 8-D

    I would not swap MorphOS for OS4 or for any other exotic hardware . . . currently. ;-)

    So, asking questions about the X5000 hardware and how to fix your problems, that you have caused, is going to be restricted to those MorphOS users who have some knowledge of the hardware you own, but having said that, you seem ill suited/incapable to be able to follow a detailed thread of instructions of how to fix it, even if someone gave you those detailed instructions in as simple a way as possible . . . as has already been stated in the previous thread I quoted above!

    These are my thoughts and opinions of your situation, but you must decide if you value MorphOS enough to get it re-instated on your system. Many other users have it on their X5000 systems, so it obviously works. You just have to work out . . .

    1. how to do it, or
    2. who to contact to install it for you if you are not competent enough to install it yourself

    I would choose number 2, as, sadly, I don't think you are competent enough to do it yourself. :-)


    OK let's make clear something.I re-installed MorphOS in July this year and I had up and running until more than a month,so inform you better before caling me incompetent and don't just just throw me up as an incompetent user.

    The problem came later when the screen turned black after pressing the Boot Morphos button.

    And yes I want to re-install Morphos but please treat me with care as I always try to with people
    who can help me as you are.

    So yes I want to re-install MorphOS but now it gives me errors.After trying to boot,from HD or USB pendrive too.

    If someone is for the task I will be grateful.
  • »25.11.22 - 11:27
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    NewSense
    Posts: 1285 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    @ bearerofthetorch - First of all, you don't need to quote all of what I said to know you referred to my comments, just show an '@' sign and my 'nick' and I'll then know you referred to my comments above.

    Also, if you have had MorphOS working back in July, then if you know how to install it, then why don't you do that once more, to get it working again? :-?

    It sounds like you have . . . once again . . . got a Hard Disk issue that the boot process is not completing, and if you boot from the installation media you can do a HDD - SFSDoctor 'Check Disk' initially, and if necessary a 'Scan Disk' of your HDD to repair whatever part of the installation is causing this issue. ;-)

    As with your earlier issue, you DO NOT need to FORMAT at this initial stage the HDD with the MorphOS installation on it, just boot the installation media and see what the SFSDoctor application - that you should be able to locate in the Tools folder on the installation media - and what it actually reports as the issue, as it may be fixable quite easily, let's hope so. 8-D

    Ensure you check the partition that has the MorphOS SYSTEM installation partition on it - and NOT the OS4 partition or the small Boot partition that is required for MorphOS to initiate via, if this is required for the X5000. ;-)

    If you know which partition DH1, HD1, or whatever you put/named the MorphOS partition drive when you partitioned it. I usually give my MorphOS partition HDDs specific titles like MHD1, or something like that so you know it is your MorphOS HD partition, and you don't inadvertently check the wrong HDD. 8-D
    MacMini 1.5GHz,64MB VRAM, PowerBooks A1138/9 (Model 5,8/9),PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP), iMac A1145 2.1GHz 20", all with MorphOS v3.17,Airport,Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL,MiniMax,Firewire/USB2 & MacOSX 10.4/5.
  • »26.11.22 - 00:57
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 25 from 2022/7/1
    I am doing the same and it now doesn't work.The same as I did on July this year.

    The MorphOS partition drive must be DH0 if I remember well.I this that was it.

    And I don't want to waste time on discussioins on this site,I only want to fulfill my Amiga dream that is to boot AmigaOS 4.1 FE Update 2,MorphOS and Fienix,being MorphOS the missing part now

    I you feel better than me on MorphOS,of course you are but you don't have to demonstrate me nothing about the quotes or whatever.I just don't care about this.





    [ Edited by bearerofthetorch 26.11.2022 - 21:21 ]
  • »26.11.22 - 21:20
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Condor
    Posts: 97 from 2005/9/1
    From: Zagreb/Croatia
    @bearerofthetorch/MamePPC

    Well, after all...
    I know where is the problem with your computer.
    You have supported hardware and supported software.
    Only what is not supported is the user behind.
    That's the real problem.
    Swap user for another working/supported one...
  • »26.11.22 - 23:28
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2725 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    bearerofthetorch wrote:
    I am doing the same and it now doesn't work.The same as I did on July this year.



    Well, reading through your posts on amigans, you’ve been doing things like trying to partition and format the MorphOS drive under linux on OS4. You really need to know what you are doing for that to work. My advice: start from booting the MorphOS installation media. Disconnect all drives first so that nothing already on your hdds interferes and boot install from either CD or USB. Once that works, try to figure out if some of your hdds are interfering with boot somehow.
  • »27.11.22 - 12:09
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 25 from 2022/7/1
    On amigans it was the thread when I installed again MorphOS.And yes I partitioned the MorphOS partitions with gparted/Fienix.

    Do you really think that after disconnecting my HDs I can boot MorphOS from CD-RW or USB pendrive?

    If so I will try when I have time or can.

    [ Edited by bearerofthetorch 27.11.2022 - 15:49 ]
  • »27.11.22 - 15:43
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 835 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    Quote:

    bearerofthetorch wrote:
    On amigans it was the thread when I installed again MorphOS.And yes I partitioned the MorphOS partitions with gparted/Fienix.

    Do you really think that after disconnecting my HDs I can boot MorphOS from CD-RW or USB pendrive?


    GParted uses uuid to identify partitions, a system totally unlike Amiga or MorphOS which uses the RDB (or Apple APM). The boot firmware might be totally confused. Like jaca said, you really need to know what you're doing to do something like that, and almost nobody does.

    Disconnecting other HDs might make it easier for the firmware to understand what it's supposed to be booting from, but it's hardly surprising you're having so much trouble.
  • »28.11.22 - 19:38
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 25 from 2022/7/1
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:
    Quote:

    bearerofthetorch wrote:
    On amigans it was the thread when I installed again MorphOS.And yes I partitioned the MorphOS partitions with gparted/Fienix.

    Do you really think that after disconnecting my HDs I can boot MorphOS from CD-RW or USB pendrive?


    GParted uses uuid to identify partitions, a system totally unlike Amiga or MorphOS which uses the RDB (or Apple APM). The boot firmware might be totally confused. Like jaca said, you really need to know what you're doing to do something like that, and almost nobody does.

    Disconnecting other HDs might make it easier for the firmware to understand what it's supposed to be booting from, but it's hardly surprising you're having so much trouble.


    OK your words are understandable but I only want to say that my AmigaOne X5000 with Morphos worked well until last issue.

    And now as I probably said I cannot boot MorphOS neither from CD-RW or pendrive too.That's abig problem I cannot overpass yet.

    And I have my MorphOS HD unscrewed now for reasons I don't want to mention here


    [ Edited by bearerofthetorch 06.12.2022 - 18:31 ]
  • »06.12.22 - 18:04
    Profile