How to index your projects in FlowStudio
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2099 from 2003/2/24
    This is one of things where I am not sure, long standing bug? Me missing something obvious? Something in my setup breaking it?


    So I kinda restarted developing for MorphOS this summer by redoing PastePass and all is nice FlowStudio will color in my defines (MUI attributes, methods and other) and I can jump to it's definition from the context-menu.

    This does seem to hinge on the ####RELEASE.d files as other projects lacking these don't show these.
    There is a menu item to re-index the project which seems to do nothing at all (Snoopium says something bout ctags being called).

    I thought it was a new bug since it must have worked in the past but even going back to an 3.16 install on my Pegasos2 yielded no success.

    Adding a new constant to an existing file (in a working project) will make visible project-wise, but I seem to be unable to add a new sourcefile and have it play along.

    What am I missing? What did I do different to make it works back in the day?
  • »15.11.22 - 14:28
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2725 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    A new file will be indexed the first time you build it.
  • »15.11.22 - 16:00
    Profile Visit Website
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2099 from 2003/2/24
    That does indeed work for the already working project but not for the problematic one.

    Going a bit deeper I changed from "gcc" to "gcc-9" and I suddenly got my colors.
    Typing "gcc --version" in shell does give back 9.4.0.


    Not sure if that is the intended behavior of the "gcc" alias.
  • »15.11.22 - 16:45
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 469 from 2012/4/28
    Yes, it is very complex, because the Turbo C++ from Borland was more easy open the c file and run, without to have to index files, etc. even the Hollywood IDE on Windows has the same philosophy.
  • »21.11.22 - 10:19
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2099 from 2003/2/24
    It‘s been a while but I‘m pretty sure Turbo C didn‘t even offer coloring names an jumping to their definition in another file.
  • »21.11.22 - 13:36
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 464 from 2013/5/29
    Dont know where is the difficult in create a project and add files to it.
    MorphOS: PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini.
    Classic: Amiga 1200/060 - A500 PiStorm
  • »21.11.22 - 18:27
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 2099 from 2003/2/24
    It's only difficult if you got a rather old project that for some reason triggers gcc2.95 without telling you.....

    -> it's all fixed now.
  • »21.11.22 - 19:22
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 469 from 2012/4/28
    Quote:

    tolkien escribió:
    Dont know where is the difficult in create a project and add files to it.



    it's because of how comfortable it was Turbo C++ from Borland or Hollywood IDE on Windows, load the proyect and run it, instead to add other files to compile and run like with FlowStudio or Visual Studio for example.
  • »22.11.22 - 09:13
    Profile