TinyGL: FBO, Shaders and futur improvements
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1673 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Quote:

    bigfoot a écrit :
    Is this a new problem after this update only, or did it also happen with the previous update?


    also happen with the previous update but i didn't see it :-)
  • »19.10.22 - 18:08
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 430 from 2003/4/11
    Thanks for the additional info!

    I can't (yet) reproduce the problem here, but I should be able to with a bit of swapping around of hardware, and I'll try to get the problem resolved for the next update.
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »20.10.22 - 14:56
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Papiosaur
    Posts: 1673 from 2003/4/10
    From: France
    Quote:

    bigfoot a écrit :
    Thanks for the additional info!

    I can't (yet) reproduce the problem here, but I should be able to with a bit of swapping around of hardware, and I'll try to get the problem resolved for the next update.


    Thanks to you!
  • »20.10.22 - 18:29
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 482 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    bigfoot schrieb:
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    [...] But I think it got an additional glitch at some time with the TinyGL beta versions: The sky is often flickering with little squares (about 5x5mm) shining through.

    As Koszer wrote, this sounds a lot like a problem I fixed this weekend. I'll try to get a small bugfix update out this week that will include a fix for that.

    The "flickering sky glitch" is gone with current TinyGL-Beta. Thanks!

    I noticed another thing. On some courses (but not all) there are wrongly coloured (blue, red, yellow, etc.) lawn textures. E.g. Immola is all good, but Melbourne shows several sections of the track wrongly coloured. Hopefully attaching screenshot works...

    Machine is a G5 11,2 + ATI X1300 (r500). Screenshot: 9b112a2cd28f7b0aa6bd16433731f449

    [ Editiert durch ernsteiswuerfel 26.10.2022 - 14:51 ]
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.17 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.1]
  • »26.10.22 - 12:50
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    bigfoot
    Posts: 430 from 2003/4/11
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    I noticed another thing. On some courses (but not all) there are wrongly coloured (blue, red, yellow, etc.) lawn textures. E.g. Immola is all good, but Melbourne shows several sections of the track wrongly coloured. Hopefully attaching screenshot works...

    Machine is a G5 11,2 + ATI X1300 (r500). Screenshot: 9b112a2cd28f7b0aa6bd16433731f449


    Screenshot worked! That's an interesting one. Is this R500 only? If there's anyone who can reproduce this problem on R300 or R400, or conversely can't reproduce this on R500, please let me know. It might help me narrow down the problem a bit.
    I rarely log in to MorphZone which means that I often miss private messages sent on here. If you wish to contact me, please email me at [username]@asgaard.morphos-team.net, where [username] is my username here on MorphZone.
  • »27.10.22 - 12:06
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 703 from 2011/11/30
    ^ Are you sure that's an issue with VGP2? I am using hq tetures and have the exact same picture but it's been too long since I 've played it and can't remember how was the normal textures. My system features a 9800 Pro 256MB flashed. What if you revert back to official 3.17 tingl, does it look different?
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »28.10.22 - 18:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    eastone
    Posts: 38 from 2007/8/4
    From: Vaasa/Finland
    Quote:

    eastone wrote:
    Big Thanks @bigfoot !!!!
    All examples are working well on my G4 with Radeon 9650 and G5 with Radeon x1900GT :)


    I guess I hurried up with a comment. While everything works fine on the G4 and R300, it is not so good on the G5 and R580. ShaderBoy randomly freezes my system when changing presets. Checked on versions dated 5.10 and 19.10
  • »29.10.22 - 20:16
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 703 from 2011/11/30
    Quote:

    Cool_amigaN wrote:
    Thanks Mark!

    Could be my flashed RadeonXT 9800 256MB AGP but on ShaderBoy when choosing Preset: Twister, my system freezes. Can somebody else pls test it as well?



    Latest version 2022-10-19 fixed the above problem :)

    Edit, unless the error was inside shaderboy which I just saw that it also got updated :P

    Btw, Tcheko sorry mate about the damn firewire log, I purchased a drive for the sole purpose but I am having difficulty getting it to run (mentioned in a different thread).


    [ Edited by Cool_amigaN 29.10.2022 - 23:33 ]
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »29.10.22 - 20:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    eastone
    Posts: 38 from 2007/8/4
    From: Vaasa/Finland
    Quote:

    Cool_amigaN wrote:]

    Latest version 2022-10-19 fixed the above problem :)




    Maybe it works on R300, but I'm talking about R500. The freeze occurs (at least today, yesterday even after only the presets are changed) after maximizing and minimizing the window with a double click on the title bar.
    The problem is completely random regardless of the shader settings. Sometimes after a few tries, other times I can't reproduce the problem after e.g. 20-30 tries.
    I am attaching pictures of the frozen screens.
    The next problem is with the skybox setting.
    After turning on skybox as background and everything is ok. Then after maximizing the window the skybox disappears.
    To show the problem, I am attaching a video.


    Frozen1
    Frozen2
    Frozen3

    SkyBox


    [ Edited by eastone 30.10.2022 - 13:44 ]
  • »30.10.22 - 11:43
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 482 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    bigfoot schrieb:
    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    I noticed another thing. On some courses (but not all) there are wrongly coloured (blue, red, yellow, etc.) lawn textures. E.g. Immola is all good, but Melbourne shows several sections of the track wrongly coloured. Hopefully attaching screenshot works...

    Machine is a G5 11,2 + ATI X1300 (r500). Screenshot: 9b112a2cd28f7b0aa6bd16433731f449


    Screenshot worked! That's an interesting one. Is this R500 only? If there's anyone who can reproduce this problem on R300 or R400, or conversely can't reproduce this on R500, please let me know. It might help me narrow down the problem a bit.


    Just tried on my PowerBook 5,8 and got the same effect on its' Radeon 9700M (TinyGL-Update 2022-10-19).
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.17 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.1]
  • »12.11.22 - 12:45
    Profile