create hfd images with morphos
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1921 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Well.. as said, FileWrite comes with MorphOS and you can use it to write a HDF. Type this in the shell:
    Code:
    filewrite test.hdf 209715200

    That creates a 200MB hardfile, now you can give it to an emulator and prepare it there, or mount it under MorphOS with FileImageCtrl and then format it with MorphOS's format option.

    If you want to create bigger HDF files that you don't have enough memory in your system, just use the Lua script I made and launch it in the shell like this:
    Code:
    LuaX create_file.lua Work:test.hdf 1024

    That would create a 1GB hardfile, and then do the rest the same way as told with the FileWrite image...

    Edit: the FileWrite command has been fixed to work with large files without noticeable memory consumption.

    Or use the MorphOS Software Development Kit's dd command as suggested by Polluks, which does the same as FileWrite or create_file.lua.
  • »10.09.21 - 18:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    geit
    Posts: 994 from 2004/9/23
    You should be able to simply use the RawDisk: device to create and write file images.

    Those images can be mounted with mounter.
  • »11.09.21 - 01:00
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    cip060
    Posts: 75 from 2010/7/30
    So I have solved morphos unfortunately does not support 8 gig image files so the problem does not arise
    If I want to prepare an 8 gig image file and beyond I have to use Windows and WinUAE unfortunately
    That I like it or not
  • »11.09.21 - 09:12
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11722 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > You should be able to simply use the RawDisk: device
    > to create and write file images.

    This implies he has a physical volume he wants to create an image file of. As far as I can see, there's been no indication in this thread that this is what he seeks to achieve.
  • »11.09.21 - 10:13
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1921 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    cip060 wrote:
    So I have solved morphos unfortunately does not support 8 gig image files so the problem does not arise
    If I want to prepare an 8 gig image file and beyond I have to use Windows and WinUAE unfortunately
    That I like it or not

    Was the used filesystem something that should support that large files?
  • »11.09.21 - 16:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    cip060
    Posts: 75 from 2010/7/30
    I had to create an 8 gig image for my cd32 with terrible fire
    i know that cd32 has the limit of 8 giga maximum so i wanted to create n full image file of 3.2 and whdload and make an emergency backup without going through hundreds of whdload folders every time
  • »11.09.21 - 18:20
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 718 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    You could use the Ice File System to create an 8 gig file,
    see Filesystems.
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W · iMac G5 12,1 17", MorphOS 3.17
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.17
  • »11.09.21 - 20:31
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    cip060
    Posts: 75 from 2010/7/30
    In fact I had noticed while reading the file systems supported by morphos
    I could use an external hard drive with ice file system to create the image file
    I could create a 15/20 gig ice filesystem partition just to do this
  • »11.09.21 - 21:37
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    geit
    Posts: 994 from 2004/9/23
    I guess exFat counts as proper file system and is fully supported. AFAIR NTFS was supported, too.
  • »12.09.21 - 01:15
    Profile