Powerbook won't boot past Quark
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1095 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    Just tried to boot my PB (A1138 IIRC) for the first time in about three years or so.

    It just boots to a blank screen with an "Ambient Screen"title bar and a mouse cursor that moves.

    Same happens even if I boot with no startup-sequence from the early boot menu.

    Can anyone suggest anything that might help please?
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.15

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »05.04.21 - 16:08
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2328 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Did you try booting from USB?
  • »05.04.21 - 16:13
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    NewSense
    Posts: 1041 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    @ Intuition - or tried booting from the MorphOS installation CD? Maybe the HDD files have got corrupted over that period of time/HDD failing in some way/not retained all the data intact to boot correctly.
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »05.04.21 - 16:47
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1095 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    Thanks guys. I just installed 3.15 over the top of 3.10 from DVD and it works fine now.

    Could it be due to the clock battery totally dying? I had to set the correct time in the installer.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.15

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »05.04.21 - 16:57
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 836 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    My experience is, that such things happens, if there are some old prefs-files (MUI, etc.) from a pre-installation left. This can cause the strangest things........ (Poseidon.prefs are often such a problem during booting - system hangs after quark has booted...)
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »05.04.21 - 17:56
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1095 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    Scribble seems to have been deleted from my installation after I upgraded and installed the latest SDK any way to get it back?

    I had a nightmare getting connected to any of the three WiFi networks in my house. Finally got one working by giving static IP, setting the router IP as the gateway and using opendns.

    @jaca

    Wayfarer is awesome! Amazing work you've done on it so far, thank you!
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.15

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »05.04.21 - 19:35
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 616 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    Scribble (now FlowStudio) is not longer part of the SDK.
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W · iMac G5 12,1 17"
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.15
  • »05.04.21 - 20:20
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1095 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    Quote:

    polluks wrote:
    Scribble (now FlowStudio) is not longer part of the SDK.


    Thanks. I actually already had an icon for FlowStudio on my panel, just totally forgot it existed lol

    It doesn't work though for some reason. I'll have a look at the log the crash generates tonight hopefully.
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.15

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »07.04.21 - 09:34
    Profile