A-EON AmigaOne X5000/20 works great with MorphOS!
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    walkero
    Posts: 80 from 2006/3/1
    Hello guys,
    I am trying to boot on my X5000/40 MorphOS using a USB, but it stacks after bootmorphos and doesn't load at all.

    The last printed messages are:
    Trying to load "bootcyrusplus.img" from "SDH0:"...
    Loaded "bootcyrusplus.img" from "SDH0:", booting...

    After that stays on uboot grey screen without proceeding.

    Tested 4 different sticks but no luck with any of them. I also tried with no hard disk plugged in.

    In case the Gfx cards I tried on my machine are not supported, would I see something after that step, for example black screen or grumbled graphics? I tested an HD770, R9 280X and a Gigabyte GV-R725XOC-2GI.

    Any recommendation?
  • »08.06.21 - 19:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2650 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Not sure what HD770 is but it does not sound like you have a supported graphics card.
  • »08.06.21 - 21:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    walkero
    Posts: 80 from 2006/3/1
    @jacadcaps
    Thank you so much for your reply. I will try to find a compatible card and proceed with that. Does anyone have any card to recommend as the best choice?
  • »09.06.21 - 16:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11575 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Does anyone have any card to recommend as the best choice?

    Just for MorphOS? Or do you want to run other operating systems also?
  • »09.06.21 - 19:41
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    walkero
    Posts: 80 from 2006/3/1
    @Andreas_Wolf
    Just for MorphOS...
  • »09.06.21 - 23:30
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11575 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Just for MorphOS...

    Then it's the one mentioned there (or rather the one mentioned 5 comments later).
  • »10.06.21 - 00:18
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    walkero
    Posts: 80 from 2006/3/1
    Thank you so much Andreas. Will look for one of these cards. Probably for the X1950XT.
  • »10.06.21 - 00:23
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Primax
    Posts: 74 from 2021/7/2
    Quote:

    zukow schrieb:
    @Skateman

    The best card for X5000 with MorphOS is X1950XT. It supports 3d, overlay, 2d acceleration. it is quite cheap but powerfull. It is also supported by AmigaOs4.x although without 3d.


    I am currently trying to replace my Radeon HD5450 by the X1950 XT, at least for testing purpose because the card is too big for regular usage.
    The question: Do I have to manually change something in the options of MorphOS because after having booted the X5000, the Boing Ball appears, then the MOrphOS boot loader starts and then a black screen appears saying: Wrong screen resolution, set it to 1920x1080@60Hz.
    But I cannot do anything..

    Any hints?

    @walkero
    Have you already found and installed a XT? Any experiences?
    AmigaOne X5000 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon X1650 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition / MorphOS 3.17
    Amiga1200 / Blizzard 1230 IV / 128 MB RAM / AmigaOS 3.9
  • »26.07.21 - 05:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 19 from 2018/4/2
    I had the same issue when i ahve changed my GPU, the only way to solve is booting on the DVD and make a new install
    or maybe change manually the screen prefs afiter booting on the DVD.

    first try the boot on the dvd or the usb

    Regards
  • »30.07.21 - 13:40
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Primax
    Posts: 74 from 2021/7/2
    @gordini21

    Thank you very much for the hint!
    Yes, I could boot with the help of the USB-Stick.

    But I do not know what to do then...
    Because: In Prefs/Screens the correct graphics card is set (X1650Pro).
    Do I have to copy this prefs? Is this X1650 configuration only saved for/on the USB-Stick?

    The only strange issue: In prefs/monitors a wrong monitor (31kHZ) is set. But also if I enter there the correct values of my monitor, save and then try to boot with the SSD disk, I get the 'wrong screen resolution' message....
    AmigaOne X5000 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon X1650 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition / MorphOS 3.17
    Amiga1200 / Blizzard 1230 IV / 128 MB RAM / AmigaOS 3.9
  • »30.07.21 - 19:53
    Profile Visit Website
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1885 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    Primax wrote:
    @gordini21

    Thank you very much for the hint!
    Yes, I could boot with the help of the USB-Stick.

    But I do not know what to do then...
    Because: In Prefs/Screens the correct graphics card is set (X1650Pro).
    Do I have to copy this prefs? Is this X1650 configuration only saved for/on the USB-Stick?

    The only strange issue: In prefs/monitors a wrong monitor (31kHZ) is set. But also if I enter there the correct values of my monitor, save and then try to boot with the SSD disk, I get the 'wrong screen resolution' message....

    It's good that it works when booted from the USB stick, then you can get it to work from the installed system too.

    Withouth thinking this too well now, I'd have couple quick suggestions. You could remove (or rename to different name to be revertable) the System:Prefs/Env-Archive/MUI/screens.txt file. This defines which resolution and monitor Ambient and other screens are trying to open. And if this doesn't help, try the same with the System:Prefs/Env-Archive/sys/PublicScreens.prefs file.

    I think that if these files are missing, MorphOS tries to use something that it finds for defaults and it should work as booted from the installation media. These are probably created only after user has manually saved some related settings...

    EDIT:
    And of course you could try to boot MorphOS into some default resolution instead to a saved one. Press the CTRL key during the startup to get it forced to the 1024x768@75Hz VESA mode, or press the Shift key or LMB to get into the early startup boot menu where you can select between some other modes.

    [ Edited by jPV 31.07.2021 - 10:42 ]
  • »31.07.21 - 08:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Primax
    Posts: 74 from 2021/7/2
    @jPV

    Thank you very much!!
    Shift+LMB did not work. I guess because the wrong/correct screen resolution is loaded *before*.

    But: With some luck, CTRL key work.

    And I guess I have found the reason why I am having trouble: It is due to my monitor.
    Booting with CTRL key I got some standard screen, as you described. If I then set the sreent resolution to 1920x1080 - my Philips Brilliance 241B has 16:9 format - I immediately get the info: Wrong screen resolution. Set it to 1920x1080@60Hz. And the screen get black.

    Okay, I again did the procedure and had a closer look:

    For the X1650Pro I only can choose a 1920x1080@76Hz. Obviously my monitor cannot display that.
    Now I have changed to 1280x720@60Hz: And this does work - but of course is not that fun.

    Funny enough: If I am remembering correctly, for my HD5450 there also is only 1920x1080@76Hz available but the monitor can display it. Has anybody an explanation for that???
    Could this has anything to do with HDMI connection (HD5450) and DVI connection (all X-cards)??

    And is there any poosibility to add a screen resolution of 1920x1080@60Hz for the X-cards?

    Thank you!!!
    AmigaOne X5000 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon X1650 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition / MorphOS 3.17
    Amiga1200 / Blizzard 1230 IV / 128 MB RAM / AmigaOS 3.9
  • »31.07.21 - 10:14
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11575 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I guess I have found the reason why I am having trouble:
    > It is due to my monitor. […] is there any poosibility to add
    > a screen resolution of 1920x1080@60Hz for the X-cards?

    You could try this workaround. (Shot in the dark, though.)
  • »31.07.21 - 11:32
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Primax
    Posts: 74 from 2021/7/2
    Thank you.

    But in this case - for once i found this out myself - it is much more simple:
    MorphOS does recognize my monitor: Philips Brilliance 241B. But obviously assigns a wrong freqeuncy of 75Hz.

    ---> System: Prefs/Preferences/Monitors

    Under monitor specifications my monitor is listed.
    Choosing '24Bit 1920 x 1080' under Screen resolutions and then 'Edit....'.
    And there a screen resolution of 1920 x 1080p (60hz) is available.
    Test....Working!
    Ok....Save....Restart.
    And yes, it works! :)

    I have only one question:
    What is the difference between '1920x1080p(60hz)', '1920x1080 (60hz)' and '1920x1080(60hz)CVRB2'?
    AmigaOne X5000 @ 2GHz / 4GB RAM / Radeon X1650 / AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition / MorphOS 3.17
    Amiga1200 / Blizzard 1230 IV / 128 MB RAM / AmigaOS 3.9
  • »31.07.21 - 13:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1885 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    Primax wrote:
    @jPV

    Thank you very much!!
    Shift+LMB did not work. I guess because the wrong/correct screen resolution is loaded *before*.


    It was Shift or LMB, but not simultaneously.


    Quote:

    What is the difference between '1920x1080p(60hz)', '1920x1080 (60hz)' and '1920x1080(60hz)CVRB2'?

    I guess there are different settings (pixel clock, sync and pulse values, etc) for same resolutions that are standards or common enough otherwise. For example, that last one seems to refer to this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coordinated_Video_Timings.

    I guess you should just try which one works with your monitor if you don't know better :)

    EDIT: well...... I changed from 1920x1080p to 1920x1080 CVTRB2 myself.... less bandwidth, less load to gfx chip or something? :P

    For future references, it seemed to modify a monitor file in Prefs/Presets/Monitors/ directory. And you can see name of the monitor file from the Prefs/Env-Archive/CyberGraphX/RadeonMonitor file. If someone needs to play/fix/revert/debug these settings...

    [ Edited by jPV 31.07.2021 - 20:55 ]
  • »31.07.21 - 18:33
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    xeno74
    Posts: 38 from 2020/6/8
    I am still very happy with MorphOS on my X5000. :-)

    Screenshot: https://i.ibb.co/yh5mb8S/Kernel5-17-rc1-Power-PC.png
  • »23.01.22 - 17:49
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    xeno74
    Posts: 38 from 2020/6/8
    Hi All,

    I was able to update to MorphOS 3.17 on my AmigaOne X5000/20 today. Many thanks for this great update! :-)

    Screenshot: Morph-OS-3-17.png

    A-EON AmigaOne X5000 Update Instructions

    Download SD Card / USB Image for X5000: morphos-3.17-hybrid.hdimg MD5SUM: A7211CD3BF4D939ACAA2EE8CF4B0095B

    You will need a 500MB or larger USB disk

    Prepare the USB Disk

    Copy the image to a USB disk

    Linux Instructions

    With your system powered on, insert a USB disk that is at least 500MB into a USB port
    Determine the /dev path to your USB disk using one of the below methods:
    - In a terminal as su or sudo, enter "fdisk -l"
    - In a terminal as su or sudo, enter "parted -l"
    - Check the GParted menu in the upper-right corner

    These instructions assume the /dev path to your USB disk is /dev/sdz; however, your actual /dev path is likely to be different - use the actual /dev path to your USB disk

    In a terminal as su or sudo, enter the below command:

    Code:
    dd if=/path/to/morphos-3.17-hybrid.hdimg of=/dev/sdz


    where "/dev/sdz" is the /dev path to your USB disk

    NOTE: Do not attempt to copy the image to a specific partition - you need to enter the /dev path to the disk, not to a partition (use "/dev/sdz", not "/dev/sdz2")

    Mac Instructions

    With your system powered on, insert a USB disk that is at least 500MB into a USB port

    Open the Terminal app in Applications > Utilities
    Determine the /dev path to your USB disk by entering the below command:

    Code:
    diskutil list


    These instructions assume the /dev path to your USB disk is /dev/disk9; however, your actual /dev path is likely to be different - use the actual /dev path to your USB disk

    Enter the below command:

    Code:
    dd if=/path/to/morphos-3.17-hybrid.hdimg of=/dev/disk9


    where "/dev/disk9" is the /dev path to your USB disk

    Windows Instructions

    With your system powered on, insert a USB disk that is at least 500MB into a USB port.
    Download "USB Image Tool" from alexpage.de

    Open USB Image Tool

    On the left panel, select your USB disk
    Click the "Restore" button and select the MorphOS disk image


    Boot to MorphOS

    Begin with your A-EON AmigaOne X5000 system powered down and insert the USB disk into a USB port - remove any other USB disks that are plugged in.

    Power on your system and press ESC when the boot animation starts to load the U-Boot menu.

    Choose "Command Line" from the U-Boot menu

    Type the following commands:

    Code:
    usb reset

    Code:
    bootmorphos


    After selecting the language and keymap please select "Installation ..."

    Choose "Update Installation"

    Choose the MorphOS volume and the button "Update".

    After that please shutdown MorphOS (Ambient - Shutdown... - Shutdown) and remove the MorphOS USB stick.

    Please start the AmigaOne X5000 and the new MorphOS 3.17 will boot automatically.

    Cheers,
    Christian
  • »14.05.22 - 13:25
    Profile