Youtube
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 45 from 2019/10/15
    Yeah, seems permanently broken now.

    So my route is :
    tonvid via OWB
    Start video
    Show network activity
    Copy link
    Close tonvid site
    Open latest MPlayer
    Paste link in stream option
    Watch it.
  • »01.07.20 - 09:32
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1229 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    When I choose either "iPad" or "iPad (2017)" via "Settings" and "Spoof As..." from Odyssey's screen menu, I can both see video listings and watch individual videos.

    I tested it with older versions and separate installations of Odyssey as well and they all work.
  • »01.07.20 - 10:08
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 14 from 2020/6/30
    I can get video to show spoofing as iPhone or ipad but the performance is awful, full screen is worse than windowed on cpu use and even the smallest window takes cpu up to 100% on my g5 2.3. Non of the other spoofing browsers show anything.

    Hope it can be fixed

    Paul
  • »01.07.20 - 10:53
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 373 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Regarding youtube-vids... Several video codecs and audio codecs are used here. You can check this via right click -> stats for nerds in the video (on supported browsers).

    Google's vp8/vp9 codecs don't work too well on ppc BE. Codec testsuite fails horribly for vp9 (you can check this in Linux) and they are also slow as Altivec support got deprecated in recent versions. avc1/h264 works well on ppc. av1 should work well (fully passes testsuite on a G4) and also should be faster. But not much videos are in av1 yet.

    Audio codec used in youtube vids nowadys mostly is opus.

    On Firefox there is an extension 'h264ify' which prevents youtube to use some codecs and prefer others. Works on many videos. Would be nice to have such an extension in OWB and 'the new browser on the block' too.
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.13 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »01.07.20 - 13:05
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1417 from 2003/4/13
    Quote:

    ASiegel wrote:
    When I choose either "iPad" or "iPad (2017)" via "Settings" and "Spoof As..." from Odyssey's screen menu, I can both see video listings and watch individual videos.

    I tested it with older versions and separate installations of Odyssey as well and they all work.


    This is the only way I can right now. However, on my G5 2.7 it takes about 90% CPU load to play. "Full screen" overlay is worse, maxing out the CPU and makes the video drop frames.
  • »01.07.20 - 16:33
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 14 from 2020/6/30
    Exactly the same as I get on mine. Though yours has a bit extra power being the liquid cooled 2.7ghz 😊
  • »01.07.20 - 17:01
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11006 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > on my G5 2.7 it takes about 90% CPU load to play. "Full screen" overlay
    > is worse, maxing out the CPU and makes the video drop frames.

    It's not using overlay then, but scaling the video in software, i.e. by the CPU.
  • »01.07.20 - 17:11
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1663 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > on my G5 2.7 it takes about 90% CPU load to play. "Full screen" overlay
    > is worse, maxing out the CPU and makes the video drop frames.

    It's not using overlay then, but scaling the video in software, i.e. by the CPU.

    Yeah, IIRC the Fullscreen Fix script (for the overlay playback) has never worked when spoofed as IPad (you get the mobile version of YouTube). I wonder if there could be something to be made to get the script work in that situation too...
  • »01.07.20 - 17:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 14 from 2020/6/30
    Quote:

    MoerBoer wrote:
    Yeah, seems permanently broken now.

    So my route is :
    tonvid via OWB
    Start video
    Show network activity
    Copy link
    Close tonvid site
    Open latest MPlayer
    Paste link in stream option
    Watch it.


    Thanks for this. Noticed if you spoof as ipad you can search YouTube as normal and copy the stream from this as it doesn't redirect to the mobile site. Videos playing fine in mplayer and at least if you're logged into YouTube that way you can find your subscriptions more easily than on Tonvid.
  • »01.07.20 - 19:38
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    igracki
    Posts: 365 from 2003/2/25
    From: Berlin
    Just wanted to tell you that my InvidiousPlayer script can convert YouTube URLs to Invididous URLs and play them with MPlayer.
    Just configure OWB's context menu, then you can right click on a youtube url and play them with MPlayer.

    Download InvidiousPlayer
  • »01.07.20 - 20:26
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 718 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    That is fun again!!! Thanks!
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »01.07.20 - 21:39
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    kas1e
    Posts: 66 from 2005/10/31
    And there is another workaround to be able to play new youtube in the accelerated mode: https://www.amigans.net/modules/xforum/viewtopic.php?topic_id=8257&forum=3
  • »02.07.20 - 09:59
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 14 from 2020/6/30
    I can't get this to work properly. I can get the video to open in the new window but I can't make it play fullscreen non of the screen buttons respond to do that and the fullscreen shortcut has no effect?
  • »02.07.20 - 12:09
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Spectre660
    Posts: 257 from 2015/6/30
    Ipad 13.2.3 spoofing option working for me with AmigaOS4.1 FE.
    Then using Youtube Url Extractor to get the 360p & 720p links.
    720p playback working with newest EmotionDemo video player
    and New A-Eon Enhancer 2.0 "enhancements" .
    Sam460ex & Radeon Rx550. Max CPU use under 20% .
  • »02.07.20 - 13:20
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1229 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    Quote:

    Spectre660 wrote:
    Ipad 13.2.3 spoofing option working for me with AmigaOS4.1 FE.
    Then using Youtube Url Extractor to get the 360p & 720p links.
    720p playback working with newest EmotionDemo video player
    and New A-Eon Enhancer 2.0 "enhancements" .
    Sam460ex & Radeon Rx550. Max CPU use under 20% .


    My x64 PC requires no URL extractors. It barely uses 1% of CPU when playing fullscreen 1080P videos on YouTube. The graphics drivers were entirely free of cost and so was the web browser with built-in hardware-accelerated media player.

    Sadly, neither this information nor your comment adds anything to the discussion regarding how YouTube can be made to work better on MorphOS.
  • »02.07.20 - 16:19
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Spectre660
    Posts: 257 from 2015/6/30
    Actually ties into areas of discussions from 3 or 4 current active threads here.

    (Reminder to myself not to touch that particular nerve)

    [ Edited by Spectre660 02.07.2020 - 13:10 ]
  • »02.07.20 - 16:53
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1229 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    Quote:

    jPV wrote:
    Quote:


    It's not using overlay then, but scaling the video in software, i.e. by the CPU.

    Yeah, IIRC the Fullscreen Fix script (for the overlay playback) has never worked when spoofed as IPad (you get the mobile version of YouTube). I wonder if there could be something to be made to get the script work in that situation too...

    I have it working but you have to access videos via URL directly for now.

    Selecting videos via the YT user interface makes use of the (oddly named) "history API" that theoretically allows to switch URLs without actually reloading a page. This prevents the script from being rerun so this needs some extra code to detect when the video is changed without a full page load.
  • »02.07.20 - 19:51
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 753 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    Quote:

    Spectre660 wrote:
    Ipad 13.2.3 spoofing option working for me with AmigaOS4.1 FE.
    Then using Youtube Url Extractor to get the 360p & 720p links.
    720p playback working with newest EmotionDemo video player
    and New A-Eon Enhancer 2.0 "enhancements" .
    Sam460ex & Radeon Rx550. Max CPU use under 20% .



    Enjoy it while it lasts. It will eventually break unless someone is spending their time constantly working around Google's changes.
  • »02.07.20 - 23:20
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11006 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > It will eventually break unless someone is spending their time
    > constantly working around Google's changes.

    That's what was happening for the last 15 years, with a large amount of people in the role of this "someone", and also in a platform-agnostic way with scripts written in Python, Lua, JavaScript etc. I'm confident this will last as long as YouTube does :-)
  • »03.07.20 - 05:39
    Profile
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1229 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    An updated version of the "YouTube_FullScreen_Fix" user script can be found here:
    http://morph.zone/downloads/YouTube_Fullscreen_Fix.zip

    This adds support for the mobile version of YouTube.

    For users who had the old script enabled previously and overwrote their copy with the updated version, you might have to manually add
    Code:
    https://m.youtube.com/*

    to the list of affected URLs in the "Scripts" window.

    If anybody keeps getting forwarded to the desktop version of YouTube, try visiting this link: m.youtube.com/?persist_app=1&app=m
  • »03.07.20 - 09:03
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 14 from 2020/6/30
    Quote:

    ASiegel wrote:
    An updated version of the "YouTube_FullScreen_Fix" user script can be found here:
    http://morph.zone/downloads/YouTube_Fullscreen_Fix.zip

    This adds support for the mobile version of YouTube.

    For users who had the old script enabled previously and overwrote their copy with the updated version, you might have to manually add
    Code:
    https://m.youtube.com/*

    to the list of affected URLs in the "Scripts" window.

    If anybody keeps getting forwarded to the desktop version of YouTube, try visiting this link: m.youtube.com/?persist_app=1&app=m


    Thanks. Now I can make the video fullscreen and the on page buttons work for setting the video resolution etc but it doesn't seem to be acting in the same way as before, when I fullscreen the display the CPU load is still 100%? Have I done something wrong? I have https://m.youtube.com in the list of sites on the scripts window.


    [ Edited by Paul773car 03.07.2020 - 10:17 ]
  • »03.07.20 - 10:16
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 14 from 2020/6/30
    Quote:

    Paul773car wrote:
    Quote:

    ASiegel wrote:
    An updated version of the "YouTube_FullScreen_Fix" user script can be found here:
    http://morph.zone/downloads/YouTube_Fullscreen_Fix.zip

    This adds support for the mobile version of YouTube.

    For users who had the old script enabled previously and overwrote their copy with the updated version, you might have to manually add
    Code:
    https://m.youtube.com/*

    to the list of affected URLs in the "Scripts" window.

    If anybody keeps getting forwarded to the desktop version of YouTube, try visiting this link: m.youtube.com/?persist_app=1&app=m


    Thanks. Now I can make the video fullscreen and the on page buttons work for setting the video resolution etc but it doesn't seem to be acting in the same way as before, when I fullscreen the display the CPU load is still 100%? Have I done something wrong? I have https://m.youtube.com in the list of sites on the scripts window.



    Sorted, my youtube HTML5 script didn't have the YouTube mobile url in.

    Thanks for your work on this :-)

    CPU now at 40% in fullscreen mode on 480p and 58% or so for 720p


    [ Edited by Paul773car 03.07.2020 - 10:23 ]
  • »03.07.20 - 10:20
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1663 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    Quote:

    ASiegel wrote:
    An updated version of the "YouTube_FullScreen_Fix" user script can be found here:
    http://morph.zone/downloads/YouTube_Fullscreen_Fix.zip

    This adds support for the mobile version of YouTube.

    Great, thanks!


    Quote:

    For users who had the old script enabled previously and overwrote their copy with the updated version, you might have to manually add

    Or remove the script from the Scripts window and add it again (+ restart the browser). I think this is the safest way to update the script(s) always so that all changes are taken in use for sure.

    [ Edited by jPV 03.07.2020 - 19:58 ]
  • »03.07.20 - 17:57
    Profile Visit Website