New Modern Webkit-based Browser In Development
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2098 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Well, hello!

  • »26.03.20 - 18:19
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    vulture
    Posts: 153 from 2008/2/4
    From: Greece
    wonderful!
  • »26.03.20 - 20:05
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    takemehomegrandma
    Posts: 2648 from 2003/2/24
    Well hello there! :-D
    MorphOS is Amiga done right! :-)
    MorphOS NG will be AROS done right! :-)
  • »26.03.20 - 22:17
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Zylesea
    Posts: 1980 from 2003/6/4
    I can build that within an hour with Hollywood ;-)
    Or DPaint. And where is the OS4 port?
    Contains stolen code (Steffen Häusser told me so). The elf loader is crap anyway.


    btw.: Good job!
    --
    http://www.via-altera.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
    ...and Matthias , my friend - RIP
  • »26.03.20 - 23:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 336 from 2013/5/29
    great! good job jacadcaps!
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »27.03.20 - 19:24
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cego
    Posts: 638 from 2006/5/28
    From: Germany
    Looks nice! Hope you'll make good progress and get it finished :)
    I wonder if there's going to be a PPC Mit for Javascript. Sadly OWB's JIT version is pretty buggy
    Pegasos II G4 @1.0GHz, 1GB DDR Ram, Radeon 9200Pro, 160GB+500GB HD, MorphOS 3.13, AmigaOS4.1 FE, MacOS X Panther 10.3.9, Debian 8
  • »27.03.20 - 21:10
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Intuition
    Posts: 1078 from 2013/5/24
    From: Nederland
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    Well, hello!




    Brilliant! Well done! :)
    1.67GHz 15" PowerBook G4, 1GB RAM, 128MB Radeon 9700M Pro, 64GB SSD, MorphOS 3.9

    2.7GHz DP G5, 4GB RAM, 512MB Radeon X1950 Pro, OSX 10.5.8, 500GB SSHD, MorphOS 3.9
  • »28.03.20 - 09:37
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 45 from 2019/10/15
    Great job!
  • »28.03.20 - 11:36
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2098 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Here's something a little better. The application is obviously only a testing playground.



    The bad news is that there'll be no public beta before MorphOS 3.14 is out, because getting google.com to load required us to modify Netstack, exec, GCCs and a couple of other components :) Wouldn't be possible without Piru's work there.


    [ Edited by jacadcaps 31.03.2020 - 05:01 ]
  • »31.03.20 - 03:59
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 902 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    @ Jacadcaps and @ Piru - great work so far guys, and progress is better than I expected anyway. :-o
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »31.03.20 - 05:02
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Posts: 45 from 2019/10/15
    This development will make me finally purchase MorphOS. Fantastic progress.
  • »31.03.20 - 09:44
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 380 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    jacadcaps schrieb:
    The bad news is that there'll be no public beta before MorphOS 3.14 is out, because getting google.com to load required us to modify Netstack, exec, GCCs and a couple of other components :) Wouldn't be possible without Piru's work there.

    That ain't a problem at all as I heard MorphOS 3.14 is only taking 2 more weeks or so. :-D

    Besides... Great work!
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.13 / Void Linux / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.2]
  • »31.03.20 - 11:55
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Spihunter
    Posts: 69 from 2003/7/10
    From: Durham, NC USA
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote:
    Here's something a little better. The application is obviously only a testing playground.



    The bad news is that there'll be no public beta before MorphOS 3.14 is out, because getting google.com to load required us to modify Netstack, exec, GCCs and a couple of other components :) Wouldn't be possible without Piru's work there.



    Take your time. We are all stuck inside right now anyways.
    17" Powerbook. MorphOS registered
    Hear my music here: Gordon Gallant
  • »31.03.20 - 16:12
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2098 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Something that hasn't worked for a while in Odyssey...

    Re-Captcha (Youtube)
  • »02.04.20 - 15:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    zbysiuk
    Posts: 41 from 2006/8/4
    Sweet perfection !!
  • »02.04.20 - 17:15
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    zbysiuk
    Posts: 41 from 2006/8/4
    Sweet perfection !!
  • »02.04.20 - 18:05
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 902 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    Quote:

    jacadcaps wrote: Something that hasn't worked for a while in Odyssey... Re-Captcha

    Nice to see you're working through some of the limitations that has held us back with OWB, though as you said it's only been tested through QEmu at the moment.

    Is the whole interface useable only through QEmu currently? :-?
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »03.04.20 - 02:34
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2098 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    I think you're a bit confused, NewSense. MorphOS 3.13 works just fine on QEmu and it is often convenient for me to test things on the machine that I'm developing this on. That's obviously an Intel box since compiling this on MorphOS would take ages. My build VM gets 10 cores and 12GB of RAM and it still takes over 15 minutes for a full build...

    Back to the point though: obviously this works just fine on my PowerPC hw and I often test on a Mini and a G5.
  • »03.04.20 - 03:27
    Profile Visit Website
  • MDW
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    MDW
    Posts: 288 from 2003/7/26
    From: Wroclaw/Poland
    Jaca, you are the best. MorphOS would be weak without you. 👍
  • »03.04.20 - 11:04
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 902 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    @ jacadcaps - The reason why I wasn't aware that QEmu was working on MorphOS ... is that I haven't as yet installed v3.13.

    As I haven't seen much, or heard of much that was of interest to me in the update, that affected my use of MorphOS, and would enhance it right now, and QEmu isn't on the top of my list of user features, though I know I'm only 1 user, and you're working toward a different goal than I am using it. 8-)

    Maybe the updated browser will need QEmu to run, in which case I'd need to update then, unless I see some other feature of MorphOS in general that benefits me using it before that occurs, but thanks for pointing the QEmu factor out. :-D
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »04.04.20 - 09:20
    Profile
  • Moderator
    Kronos
    Posts: 1985 from 2003/2/24
    Quote:

    NewSense wrote:
    @ jacadcaps - The reason why I wasn't aware that QEmu was working on MorphOS ...



    Now that would be 100% pointless (unless you plan to run a Window3.x virtual machine).
    --------------------- May the 4th be with you ------------------
    Mother Russia dance of the Zar, don't you know how lucky you are
  • »04.04.20 - 10:25
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11057 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> MorphOS 3.13 works just fine on QEmu

    > I wasn't aware that QEmu was working on MorphOS

    ;-)

    > Maybe the updated browser will need QEmu to run

    Jacadcaps' point regarding confusion still stands, it seems.

    > in which case I'd need to update then

    According to comment #60, MorphOS 3.14 or later will be needed anyway.

    > thanks for pointing the QEmu factor out. :-D

    There's a thread dedicated to MorphOS and QEMU here on MorphZone:

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=5774&forum=9#145222
  • »04.04.20 - 11:26
    Profile
  • Fab
  • MorphOS Developer
    Fab
    Posts: 1331 from 2003/6/16
    Heh, great jaca, congratulations.

    Glad to see all the build dependencies are there. The worst part is really to make it work at all. Then it's "just" a matter of wiring everything properly (which is what takes most of the time though :)).

    Happy to see a recent webkit running, really.
  • »04.04.20 - 11:34
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    takemehomegrandma
    Posts: 2648 from 2003/2/24
    Fab! :-D
    MorphOS is Amiga done right! :-)
    MorphOS NG will be AROS done right! :-)
  • »04.04.20 - 14:40
    Profile