Trident and USB Printers
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Goodman
    Posts: 55 from 2006/8/2
    Hello

    I've appreciated the new 3.13 for my Mini but I still get problem with my printer even is supported: Epson Stylus 750, which works very well on OSX 10.4.
    I've noticed some Trident warnings:

    hid.class SET_IDLE=0 failed endpoint stall (4)!
    cdcacm.class Unable to load modeswitch data file...
    printer.class SOFT_RESET(USB1.1) failed endpoint stall (4)
    Trident Forcing a DirScan for (new) classes, as you probably updated to a newer version

    I'm not sure but I guess Trident does not detect my printer.
    Is there any solution out there?
  • »17.02.20 - 12:09
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 727 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    I get also some errors connecting the Lexmarc E120n Laserprinter via USB, but does'nt had any impact. Can you see your printer in menue Devices? There should be a entry like this: "Epson Stylus... running... bidirectional... printer.class"
    If yes, try to print from Turboprint via Device (usbparallel.device, unit=0)

    You should also have a look at USB-Prefs/classes/printer.class. Doubleclick on printer.class entry and global settings will appear. Epson init sequence and Enable soft reset should be on.

    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 17.02.2020 - 13:09 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »17.02.20 - 13:04
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Goodman
    Posts: 55 from 2006/8/2
    Quote:

    Amigaharry2 wrote:
    I get also some errors connecting the Lexmarc E120n Laserprinter via USB, but does'nt had any impact. Can you see your printer in menue Devices? There should be a entry like this: "Epson Stylus... running... bidirectional... printer.class"
    If yes, try to print from Turboprint via Device (usbparallel.device, unit=0)

    You should also have a look at USB-Prefs/classes/printer.class. Doubleclick on printer.class entry and global settings will appear. Epson init sequence and Enable soft reset should be on.

    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 17.02.2020 - 13:09 ]


    Yes it's like yours. OK but then I can't print anyway...
    Where can I find "USB-Prefs" location?
    On System "Printer" I selected Device which is empty. I'd expect usb.whatever.device but is empty even the right driver for my printer model is selected.
    Then I'm not able to config "Printers" maybe because Device in "Printer" is empty.
    I don't find any printer tool even to just print a test page.
  • »18.02.20 - 15:28
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Amigaharry2
    Posts: 727 from 2010/1/6
    From: EU-Austria (Wien)
    Quote:


    .....
    Yes it's like yours. OK but then I can't print anyway...
    Where can I find "USB-Prefs" location?
    On System "Printer" I selected Device which is empty. I'd expect usb.whatever.device but is empty even the right driver for my printer model is selected.
    Then I'm not able to config "Printers" maybe because Device in "Printer" is empty.
    I don't find any printer tool even to just print a test page.


    You will find USB Prefs also in Ambient-Menue Prefs/System, where the Printerprefs are located: Click to USB directly beside Printer. And then click on Devices to see all connected devices!

    The Device in Printer-Prefs (Turboprint) you have to type in manualy as I wrote before: usbparallel.device and Unit is 0
    For test you can type in a shell: echo "hello world" >PRT:

    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 18.02.2020 - 19:35 ]
    Peg2, 3xPowerMac G5, 2xPowerbookG4, 2x MacMiniG4, Efika (again), A3000T and life is never boring.....
  • »18.02.20 - 19:34
    Profile
  • Cocoon
    Cocoon
    Goodman
    Posts: 55 from 2006/8/2
    Quote:

    Amigaharry2 wrote:
    Quote:


    .....
    Yes it's like yours. OK but then I can't print anyway...
    Where can I find "USB-Prefs" location?
    On System "Printer" I selected Device which is empty. I'd expect usb.whatever.device but is empty even the right driver for my printer model is selected.
    Then I'm not able to config "Printers" maybe because Device in "Printer" is empty.
    I don't find any printer tool even to just print a test page.


    You will find USB Prefs also in Ambient-Menue Prefs/System, where the Printerprefs are located: Click to USB directly beside Printer. And then click on Devices to see all connected devices!

    The Device in Printer-Prefs (Turboprint) you have to type in manualy as I wrote before: usbparallel.device and Unit is 0
    For test you can type in a shell: echo "hello world" >PRT:

    [ Editiert durch Amigaharry2 18.02.2020 - 19:35 ]


    OK I added "usbparallel.device" unit 0, save it...then I tried typing from shell and I got "unable to open redirection file".
    In Printers when I try to search for driver doesn't find anything and I have no clue how to add one.


    [ Edited by Goodman 19.02.2020 - 09:26 ]
  • »19.02.20 - 09:15
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 937 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    I know it has been sitting here a while, this request for information, but I've only just seen it, and it doesn't seem to have got very far, and maybe you are still waiting for a solution.

    However, initially it would be good to have the specific model identified as all I see is Epson Stylus 750 - is that the full name of the model or does it have a 'XP' as part of the full name of the printer (I don't mean WinXP) or any other specific details, or a link to the exact model of this printer, or is it some really old Epson - no-longer-supported-by-Epson - inkjet printer? What year was it manufactured? Does it have PostScript capabilities? Do you have the original or a copy of the original installation CD for it?

    The Printers Prefs in MorphOS v3.10+ requires you to supply the associated PPD (Postscript Printer Description) file for the printer - do you have that? Or, know where to get it from?

    If your printer does not have any PostScript capabilities then you should use the 'Printer' Prefs (the one with no "s" on the end of the word "Printer"). If you click on NEW you will be offered numerous older printers that you should be able to select one of the older Epson printers with a suitable capability to the one you have that will allow you to print from MorphOS. You will have to choose a suitable printer device, Parallel/Serial/Device (usually these are USB Parallel/Serial or other device that you choose, but they are listed simply as I just stated) from a button on the right of the Printer Prefs window and hopefully that should allow you to print using TurboPrint which is embedded in MorphOS as the default printing option though you can choose GhostScript, which you would have to install, probably through using/launching the "Grunch" program.

    I hope this information is useful, and solves your problem, unless you've already managed to work out how to print from your printer already with MorphOS.
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x, USB2, MorphOS 3.12, Mac OSX 10.4/10.5, A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.12,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz(DP)
  • »03.08.20 - 03:25
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 529 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    See MOSSYS:Data/Printers/gs
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W · iMac G5 12,1
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.13
  • »03.08.20 - 14:52
    Profile