Complete new user query for a G5 PowerMac Model A1177
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 1 from 2020/1/20
    Hello

    I'm thinking about trying MorphOS for the first time, but would like to ask if a G5 PowerMac model A1177 would run MorphOS please?

    I have known of MorphOS but never before had a chance to try it, but I have been offered this series of MAC and would appreciate any comments on whether it will accept MorphOS now, or if this model may be supported in the future.

    Thank you for any advice / comments and thoughts given.
  • »20.01.20 - 18:36
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4977 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    gebes wrote:
    Hello

    I'm thinking about trying MorphOS for the first time, but would like to ask if a G5 PowerMac model A1177 would run MorphOS please?

    I have known of MorphOS but never before had a chance to try it, but I have been offered this series of MAC and would appreciate any comments on whether it will accept MorphOS now, or if this model may be supported in the future.

    Thank you for any advice / comments and thoughts given.


    Lacks official support, but with the right video card and network card it should work.
    If you want open firmware access and dual boot capability (with OSX), an Apple X800GT would work for the video card.
    For a network card, apparently a generic Realtek RTL8168 based PCIe card would work.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »20.01.20 - 19:02
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 552 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    I got such a A1177 (PowerMac 11,2 w. 2.3 GHz dual core) working with an ATI Radeon X1600 Pro (PC model) in 2nd PCIe slot (the Geforce needs to stay in slot 1) and an Abit AirPace AW-GE870 PCIe network card. The RTL8168-NIC I used before seemingly had problems with my GBit-switch.
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.18 / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.2]
  • »20.01.20 - 22:01
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    If you want open firmware access and dual boot capability (with OSX), an Apple X800GT would work for the video card.



    The question is: did Apple ever make such gfx card? I've never heard of Apple X800GT at PCIe slot and AFAIK all the 11,2 PowerMacs were sold with nVidia cards.
  • »21.01.20 - 08:13
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    matt3
    Posts: 671 from 2004/2/10
    I just picked up a PowerMac A1177 EMC No.2023. Looks like a 2.0 GHz system.

    It came with a Radeon HD-5770 (it was used in this Mac, so I assume it is a Apple version?). Is this a good card for MorphOS?

    From what I read, the bus is much faster then the other PowerMacs. So would anyone know if the 2.0 PCIe would be comparable to a 2.7 with AGP?

    I know I have to get a nic card for it, but how does it perform?
  • »25.11.22 - 18:43
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12112 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > It came with a Radeon HD-5770 (it was used in this Mac,
    > so I assume it is a Apple version?).

    There's no PPC ROM for anything above the Radeon X1xxx series, so neither OpenFirmware nor Mac OS can work with it. Was this PowerMac G5 used with Linux maybe?

    > Is this a good card for MorphOS?

    No 3D and no overlay for now.
  • »25.11.22 - 22:20
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    matt3
    Posts: 671 from 2004/2/10
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > It came with a Radeon HD-5770 (it was used in this Mac,
    > so I assume it is a Apple version?).

    There's no PPC ROM for anything above the Radeon X1xxx series, so neither OpenFirmware nor Mac OS can work with it. Was this PowerMac G5 used with Linux maybe?

    @Andreas
    Thanks!

    Hmmm, I know he used it in a Mac with Mac OS, maybe he used it in an Intel based Mac then? I will ask him... It does plug in nicely with the power directly in the mb power so I was hopefull :) (a lot prettier than the X1950Pro AGP in my other system lol). Interestingly, the CD does boot MorphOS fine, I can hear it. But I can't get a picture yet. Will keep trying.

    > Is this a good card for MorphOS?

    No 3D and no overlay for now.
    . Will it still come up in MorphOS though?

    What would be the best card options for PCIe and MorphOS?
  • »25.11.22 - 22:52
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12112 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I can't get a picture yet. Will keep trying. [...]
    > Will it still come up in MorphOS though?

    Radeon HD cards seem to be hit and miss with MorphOS on PCIe-based PowerMac G5, as can be seen from that thread:

    - HD3450 works (see comments #33 and #172)
    - HD3650 works with minor issues (see comment #11)
    - HD4550 works (see comment below)
    - HD4650 works (see comment #172)
    - HD5450 works (see comment below)
    - HD5550 doesn't work (see there)
    - HD6450 doesn't work (see comments #122 and #172)
    - HD6570 doesn't work (see comment #127 and comment below)

    > What would be the best card options for PCIe and MorphOS?

    If best means fastest and you don't want to forgo 3D hardware acceleration, there're 3 options:

    - X1900GT with PPC ROM (rare, expensive)
    - X19xx flashed with X1900GT PPC ROM (big chance to misbehave or simply fail)
    - X19xx with AtomBIOS ROM (no access to OpenFirmware)


    Edit: added more graphics cards

    [ Edited by Andreas_Wolf 11.09.2023 - 02:10 ]
  • »26.11.22 - 00:22
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 552 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    On my G5 11,2:

    - X1300 works
    - X1550 boots up but graphics corruption (works on Linux)
    - X1650 works
    - HD4550 works
    - HD5450 works
    - HD6570 doesn't work (works on Linux)
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.18 / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.2]
  • »26.11.22 - 15:51
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    matt3
    Posts: 671 from 2004/2/10
    Thank you! That is very valuable.

    I can tell you that the HD 5770 doesn't work for either MorphOS or MacOS.

    Does anyone know if it will be supported with the bounty for drivers?

    Can you put one 2.5 dc processor in this system?


    Quote:

    ernsteiswuerfel wrote:
    On my G5 11,2:

    - X1300 works
    - X1550 boots up but graphics corruption (works on Linux)
    - X1650 works
    - HD4550 works
    - HD5450 works
    - HD6570 doesn't work (works on Linux)
  • »26.11.22 - 18:04
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12112 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I can tell you that the HD 5770 doesn't work for either MorphOS or MacOS.

    While there's a possibility that it works or will work for MorphOS, it's technically impossible it works for Mac OS. So at least this part of your experience is fully expected.

    > Does anyone know if it will be supported with the bounty for drivers?

    The TinyGL update project also covers the GPU of the HD5770, but so does the current 2D driver...
  • »26.11.22 - 19:51
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    matt3
    Posts: 671 from 2004/2/10
    Hmm, since the card is supported in 2d, I would think it would come up?

    I put a SSD with MorphOS 3.17 and nothing comes up? Interestingly, if the MorphOS cd is in the drive it will boot from the cd without me touching anything. It still will not come up with video though.

    I tested the system with the apple Nvidia and the apple hdd and it boots just fine to MacOS, so I know the system is functioning.
  • »26.11.22 - 22:05
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12112 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > since the card is supported in 2d, I would think it would come up?

    With your HD5770 it's apparently the same as with the HD6450 and HD6570 mentioned before in this thread, which are also reported to work on the official list of supported hardware, but for some reason do not. It may be a case of unknown device ID, as the MorphOS graphics drivers use a whitelist and likely refuse to work with not (yet) known device IDs. There have been cases where the MorphOS team simply added another device ID to the whitelist and the corresponding graphics card which refused to work before suddenly worked with a beta driver or a new MorphOS release. It may be something entirely different, though.
  • »26.11.22 - 23:04
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    matt3
    Posts: 671 from 2004/2/10
    Thanks Andreas. I will just pick up one of those cards listed as working.

    So far the 4560 seems like a great 2d card. I can wait for the 3d when it's done, or just pick up another card if it is worth it when the new drivers come out... Does anyone know when the drivers might be coming out?


    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > since the card is supported in 2d, I would think it would come up?

    With your HD5770 it's apparently the same as with the HD6450 and HD6570 mentioned before in this thread, which are also reported to work on the official list of supported hardware, but for some reason do not. It may be a case of unknown device ID, as the MorphOS graphics drivers use a whitelist and likely refuse to work with not (yet) known device IDs. There have been cases where the MorphOS team simply added another device ID to the whitelist and the corresponding graphics card which refused to work before suddenly worked with a beta driver or a new MorphOS release. It may be something entirely different, though.
  • »27.11.22 - 14:53
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12112 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I will just pick up one of those cards listed as working.
    > So far the 4560 seems like a great 2d card.

    I guess you mean 4550 or 4650, right? Either way, don't forget to report the outcome here on MorphZone.
  • »27.11.22 - 18:10
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    matt3
    Posts: 671 from 2004/2/10
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > I will just pick up one of those cards listed as working.
    > So far the 4560 seems like a great 2d card.

    I guess you mean 4550 or 4650, right? Either way, don't forget to report the outcome here on MorphZone.



    My bad, yes a 4650. Super cheap. I will report back.

    Is there any difference with the pci ethernet card? I noticed 2 chipsets were supported.

    [ Edited by matt3 27.11.2022 - 14:45 ]
  • »27.11.22 - 20:43
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12112 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Is there any difference with the pci ethernet card?
    > I noticed 2 chipsets were supported.

    I can see 3 supported Ethernet chipsets mentioned on the official list of supported hardware:

    - RTL8029: 10MbE
    - RTL8139: 100MbE
    - RTL8168: 1000MbE (GbE)

    Unless you already have one of those at hand, it should be obvious which one to obtain :-)


    Edit: Of course, as your Mac has no PCI(-X) but only PCIe, the other two chipsets are irrelevant for this reason alone as there simply are no PCIe cards using them.

    [ Edited by Andreas_Wolf 28.11.2022 - 19:53 ]
  • »27.11.22 - 22:09
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    matt3
    Posts: 671 from 2004/2/10
    Even for me, I think I can choose wisely :).

    Should I just get a standard PCI card or one of the small connector options? Does it matter on this Mac?



    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Is there any difference with the pci ethernet card?
    > I noticed 2 chipsets were supported.

    I can see 3 supported Ethernet chipsets mentioned on the official list of supported hardware:

    - RTL8029: 10MbE
    - RTL8139: 100MbE
    - RTL8168: 1000MbE (GbE)

    Unless you already have one of those at hand, it should be obvious which one to obtain :-)
  • »28.11.22 - 15:16
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 552 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Quote:

    matt3 schrieb:
    Should I just get a standard PCI card or one of the small connector options? Does it matter on this Mac?

    There is only one PCIe standard (klick). ;-)

    The G5 is PCI Express 1.0, which means a x1 (=small connector) has max. data transfer rate of 250 MByte/s. Should be more than enough for an ethernet card.
    Talos II. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 11,2. PMac G4 3,6. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.18 / Gentoo Linux] | Vampire V4 SA [ApolloOS / Amiga OS 3.2.2]
  • »28.11.22 - 18:39
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 592 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    Hi,

    I have this one: (Working but no 3D)

    - ATI Radeon HD3650 (PC DELL version): https://ibb.co/dPnPG4L -https://www.lakemichigancomputers.com/products/dell-0k629c-ati-radeon-hd-3650-256mb-gddr3-pcie-dvi-dp-hdmi-video-graphics-gpu
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerBook G4 1.5,MacMini 1.5, PowerMac G5 2.7 died !!!
    My MOS ports
  • »03.04.24 - 08:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 12112 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> Radeon HD cards seem to be hit and miss with MorphOS on
    >> PCIe-based PowerMac G5, as can be seen from that thread: [...]
    >> - HD3650 works with minor issues (see comment #11)

    > I have this one: (Working but no 3D)
    > - ATI Radeon HD3650 (PC DELL version)

    With or without the same issues as linked to above?
  • »03.04.24 - 14:08
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 592 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf a écrit :
    With or without the same issues as linked to above?

    same issues, i play a little video with MPlayer (Overlay FUI) and if i put minimun scale , video is corrupt...


    Next, i test other card (PC):
    - MSI HD6450 LP13 not working (https://www.cdiscount.com/pdt2/0/5/8/1/700x700/msi4719072289058/rw/msi-r6450-2gd3h-lp-video-card.jpg)
    - PEGATRON HD6450 REV 1.00A not working (https://isteam.wsimg.com/ip/945f2b94-65e2-11e5-b42a-14feb5d9f2e6/ols/24815_original/:/rs=w:600,h:600)
    - DELL ATI X1300 Pro - Not working.. worse PowerMac no sound boot (https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/mHkAAOSwHWtcyGOb/s-l640.jpg)
    - HD5450 - not working (no chance for me)... https://i.ebayimg.com/images/g/6~YAAOSwpFJl7Mfx/s-l1600.png

    to be continued

    [ Edité par beworld 03.04.2024 - 21:02 ]

    [ Edité par beworld 05.04.2024 - 08:35 ]
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerBook G4 1.5,MacMini 1.5, PowerMac G5 2.7 died !!!
    My MOS ports
  • »03.04.24 - 19:52
    Profile Visit Website