Weird problem with OWB on 3.12
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 39 from 2003/4/9
    From: Aurora, CO
    I have been trying for quite awhile to get 3.12 installed on PowerBook G4 A1138. Once I got it installed everytime I run OWB it locks up and when I reboot Ambient no longer comes up. So I have to reinstall again. No other program causes this issue. Help?
  • »22.10.19 - 15:26
    Profile Visit Website
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1170 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    This sounds extremely weird.

    Have you tried deleting or at least renaming your existing OWB folder before installing MorphOS 3.12? There can be occasional problems related to old configuration or cache files but this would not explain your inability to fully boot MorphOS at all.

    I would recommend to make a backup of your system partition, reformat it and then try to install MorphOS. Perhaps your system partition's file system got corrupt somehow (or your disk is failing). Odyssey can access your harddisk or SSD quite a bit so this might explain why it causes these symptoms.
  • »22.10.19 - 15:41
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 39 from 2003/4/9
    From: Aurora, CO
    Darn it is no happening when I boot from the CD as well. I should probably try 3.11 and see what happens.
    Rob
  • »22.10.19 - 15:43
    Profile Visit Website
  • ASiegel
    Posts: 1170 from 2003/2/15
    From: Central Europe
    If you have the time, feel free to try 3.11 but it seems unlikely that this will fix it.

    Also, if you happen to use SFS, you could try to use the repair tool.
  • »22.10.19 - 15:49
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 39 from 2003/4/9
    From: Aurora, CO
    Thanks, will do...
  • »22.10.19 - 16:50
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 39 from 2003/4/9
    From: Aurora, CO
    Figured it out, though I doubt anyone will believe me. I changed back to American keyboard from DVORAK and all is now stable.
  • »22.10.19 - 20:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 39 from 2003/4/9
    From: Aurora, CO
    Figured it out, though I doubt anyone will believe me. I changed back to American keyboard from DVORAK and all is now stable.
  • »22.10.19 - 20:45
    Profile Visit Website
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1873 from 2003/3/5
    From: Poland
    My guess would be that it got broken when we've added Unicode mappings to the keymaps. Don't think anyone in the team uses Dvorak. Will put this on our internal bugtracker...
  • »22.10.19 - 21:01
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Posts: 39 from 2003/4/9
    From: Aurora, CO
    Thank you sir,,,
  • »22.10.19 - 21:03
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    polluks
    Posts: 451 from 2007/10/23
    From: Gelsenkirchen,...
    Indeed? There's no Unicode in Dvorak but simple Latin-1 IMHO.
    Pegasos II G4: MorphOS 3.9, Zalman M220W · iMac G5 12,1
    Power Mac G3: OSX 10.3 · PowerBook 5,8: OSX 10.5, MorphOS 3.12
  • »22.10.19 - 23:14
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1873 from 2003/3/5
    From: Poland
    You still need to know how to convert ISO-8859-1 to UTF. This is what the unicode tables provide.
  • »23.10.19 - 07:59
    Profile Visit Website