Pegasos 2 HDD/SSD SATA options
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4818 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Pegasos 2 today is nearly 15years old.

    Release was in December 2003, so it's 15½ years :-)

    > I overclocked Peg2 to 1.33MHz

    ;-)


    ;-) maybe I buyed him in 2004? I have to look to archive.

    sorry, of course 1.33 GHz ;-)
    1.33GHz not bad, it outperforms SAM460 in Tower57 "benchmark" and have 3003 MIPS/core compares to 3960 on X1000 and 4750 on G5Quad

    Last things what I can do for speedup is SATA (this topic), and overclock Radeon9800pro. I cannot reach the 9800XT frequencies, but yesteday I tested succesfully overclocking core 378->394.88, and memory 337.5->351 frequencies. Now I need change BIOS and try it on Pegasos ;-)
    Maybe later, If I find some cheap HD4xxx I will also test it on PCI slot.


    There are some cards being sold as 9800Pro cards that has universally keyed AGP card edge connectors and have R360 gpu's (like the 9800XT), but again I've only kept one flashed 9800 with a 128K rom that actually works correctly in my G4.
    And many R300/R360 cards use lousy memory that is clocked below ATI's own cards, or won't handle being clicked to 9800XT speeds which limits what you can do even if you have an R360 gpu.
    Also, speed changes really require editing the rom as I don't know of a MorphOS utility that allows the adjustment of ATI gpu and vram speeds on the fly.

    What would be nice is a vmod for the Peg2 that would lower the voltage supplied to the AGP slot.
    BUT, that would probably entail replacing the AGP slot connector with a 4x/8x part as well (the cards would have to physically fit.

    There is a point where all this gets to be too much effort.

    If you could find a PCI HD 5450 (or was it 5470) that would be an option. Good luck with that though. I have never seen one actually offered for sale. Specs on cards that were supposedly produced, but no cards.

    If we had good docs for the Peg2, not just schematics, but full board layouts, we could build new boards with higher clock speeds, adjustability, and a lower voltage, more modern AGP slot, etc.
    And I don't know where you'd get the critical Marvell part.

    A T10XX or T2080 based board would make more sense.

    Or, as you and Andreas have concluded a Blackbird port (or the release of a late 2005 G5 port), would be more practical.

    Looks like you've about maxed it out.

    Why not enjoy what you have, and if you really want a G4, buy an FW800 (or just go for the G5)?
    Who said you can't have more than one MorphOS system?
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »04.06.19 - 03:29
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    sailor
    Posts: 29 from 2019/5/9
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    There are some cards being sold as 9800Pro cards that has universally keyed AGP card edge connectors and have R360 gpu's (like the 9800XT), but again I've only kept one flashed 9800 with a 128K rom that actually works correctly in my G4.
    And many R300/R360 cards use lousy memory that is clocked below ATI's own cards, or won't handle being clicked to 9800XT speeds which limits what you can do even if you have an R360 gpu.
    Also, speed changes really require editing the rom as I don't know of a MorphOS utility that allows the adjustment of ATI gpu and vram speeds on the fly.

    What would be nice is a vmod for the Peg2 that would lower the voltage supplied to the AGP slot.
    BUT, that would probably entail replacing the AGP slot connector with a 4x/8x part as well (the cards would have to physically fit.

    There is a point where all this gets to be too much effort.

    If you could find a PCI HD 5450 (or was it 5470) that would be an option. Good luck with that though. I have never seen one actually offered for sale. Specs on cards that were supposedly produced, but no cards.

    If we had good docs for the Peg2, not just schematics, but full board layouts, we could build new boards with higher clock speeds, adjustability, and a lower voltage, more modern AGP slot, etc.
    And I don't know where you'd get the critical Marvell part.

    A T10XX or T2080 based board would make more sense.

    Or, as you and Andreas have concluded a Blackbird port (or the release of a late 2005 G5 port), would be more practical.

    Looks like you've about maxed it out.

    Why not enjoy what you have, and if you really want a G4, buy an FW800 (or just go for the G5)?
    Who said you can't have more than one MorphOS system?


    9800Pro I found only in two main alternatives: universal-keyed R350 and R360 1.5V-keyed. R360 can be reflashed and overclocked to 9800XT, and R350 cannot.
    I edited flash rom of R350 to 351MHz memory and 392MHz core. window01.png and equip card with modified cooler Thermalright V-1 Ultra.

    PCI+HDxxxx card I will test in future, only if I have some suitable HDxx card nearby. I wonder if HD card will be faster - because AGP have double PCI speed in Pegasos 2.
    And regarding Marwell - I am only suspicious, that it is critical part. The main reason is, that I cannot find pair of RAMs which have no errors even on non-modified 1.0GHz machine.

    I think that vmod will be fine, but I agree, it is too much effort, and is not so important.
    I probably also can try some AGP3.3V -> PCI3.3V,66MHz,32bit reduction - it can be useful for SATA2 card. Promise TX4 is designed for 3.3V,32b,66MHz. If it can be suitable for graphic cards, I don't know. But all this is theory only.

    From practical point of view I agree - Blackbird/Talos, G5-2005, T10XX or T2080 have more sense. ( I had in my computer room G5 quad and iMac G5 waiting for morphos several years ;-))

    Yes, I have already maxed out my Pegasos HW speed. The reason why I posted this thread is, that MorphOS sata.device have lack of speed (and features) even for SATAI drives.

    And definitely - I can have have more then one MorphOs system. With pleasure.

    [ Edited by sailor 04.06.2019 - 09:56 ]
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »04.06.19 - 08:49
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10376 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > a vmod for the Peg2 that would lower the voltage supplied to the AGP slot
    > [...] would probably entail replacing the AGP slot connector with a 4x/8x part

    Yes, absolutely.

    > If you could find a PCI HD 5450 (or was it 5470)

    It's 5450.

    > that would be an option.

    Although currently no overlay with MorphOS.

    > I have never seen one actually offered for sale.

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=12232&forum=9&start=37
    (Additionally, eBay Germany has a used one (CGA-5452PLI) for 130 EUR (146 USD).)

    > if you really want a G4

    He does have a Pegasos II G4. It's what this thread is about ;-)
  • »04.06.19 - 14:38
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10376 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I cannot find pair of RAMs which have no errors

    2× 1 GiB can only work error-free on revision 2B5 boards.
  • »04.06.19 - 21:13
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    sailor
    Posts: 29 from 2019/5/9
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > I cannot find pair of RAMs which have no errors

    2× 1 GiB can only work error-free on revision 2B5 boards.

    yes, 2B5 is best for 2GB.

    But theoretically from rev.2B2 is Pegasos2 2GB capable. In past I spoke about this with Thomas Knäbel from bplan and he confirmed that 2B2 motherboard is 2G capable, but there was a very limited amount modules which works.
    Somewhere (forgot where) I also read, that from rev. 2B3 is much better chance to 2GB work.

    And as I tried many pairs of RAM and none of them works, it is nearly the same as 2B2 is not 2GB capable ;-)
    Btw. I found only one 2x RAM combination which worked for me - 512+256 MB.
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »05.06.19 - 07:11
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10376 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    >> 2× 1 GiB can only work error-free on revision 2B5 boards.

    > yes, 2B5 is best for 2GB. But theoretically from rev.2B2 is Pegasos2
    > 2GB capable. In past I spoke about this with Thomas Knäbel from bplan
    > and he confirmed that 2B2 motherboard is 2G capable, but there was a
    > very limited amount modules which works. Somewhere (forgot where)
    > I also read, that from rev. 2B3 is much better chance to 2GB work.

    I've yet to read about any pre-2B5 board that works reliably (i.e. also tested successfully with Linux, because that works harder on the memory than MorphOS) with 2× 1 GiB, and even with 2B5 it's hit or miss. Theoretically, all boards from 2B1 on should work with 2× 1 GiB, because that's what the official mainboard specs claim ;-)
  • »05.06.19 - 09:15
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    sailor
    Posts: 29 from 2019/5/9
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    I've yet to read about any pre-2B5 board that works reliably (i.e. also tested successfully with Linux, because that works harder on the memory than MorphOS) with 2× 1 GiB, and even with 2B5 it's hit or miss. Theoretically, all boards from 2B1 on should work with 2× 1 GiB, because that's what the official mainboard specs claim ;-)


    here is succesfull 2GB with rev 2B1 2GB on Pegasos 2 rev 2B1
    And as I gave him some advices when he installed and tested MintPPC it looks that it works with linux.

    But this is the only Pegasos 2B1 revision with 2GB I know about.
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »05.06.19 - 10:04
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10376 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > here is succesfull 2GB with rev 2B1 2GB on Pegasos 2 rev 2B1
    > [...] it looks that it works with linux.

    Thanks for the link. Interesting read.

    > But this is the only Pegasos 2B1 revision with 2GB I know about.

    It's even the only pre-2B5 board with reliably working 2 GiB *I* know about ;-)
  • »05.06.19 - 10:24
    Profile
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    sailor
    Posts: 29 from 2019/5/9
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > But this is the only Pegasos 2B1 revision with 2GB I know about.

    It's even the only pre-2B5 board with reliably working 2 GiB *I* know about ;-)

    sometimes miracle happens, Prober is lucky man.
    Pegasos II 1.33GHz, AmigaOne X1000, Powermac G5 Quad, iMac G5, Powerbook G4 and Z10PE-D16 WS
    MorphOS, AmigaOS, Debian, Ubuntu, OSX, NetBSD, Win7 ;-)
  • »05.06.19 - 12:12
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Jeckel
    Posts: 131 from 2007/3/11
    Quote:

    sailor wrote:
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > But this is the only Pegasos 2B1 revision with 2GB I know about.
    It's even the only pre-2B5 board with reliably working 2 GiB *I* know about ;-)

    sometimes miracle happens, Prober is lucky man.



    I have exactly the same 2x1GB memory as the one pictured in the thread you linked.
    It works nicely on my Pegasos 2 too.
  • »08.06.19 - 09:23
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10376 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I have exactly the same 2x1GB memory as the one pictured
    > in the thread you linked. It works nicely on my Pegasos 2 too.

    What's your board revision?
  • »08.06.19 - 09:45
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Jeckel
    Posts: 131 from 2007/3/11
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > I have exactly the same 2x1GB memory as the one pictured
    > in the thread you linked. It works nicely on my Pegasos 2 too.

    What's your board revision?


    How to you know the board revision?
    All I know is about firmware: v1.2 20050808
  • »08.06.19 - 10:01
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10376 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > How to you know the board revision?

    It's printed on the board.
  • »08.06.19 - 12:24
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Jeckel
    Posts: 131 from 2007/3/11
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > How to you know the board revision?

    It's printed on the board.


    Ok, found it! It is rev 2B5. :)
  • »08.06.19 - 14:26
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10376 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Ok, found it! It is rev 2B5. :)

    So in your case it's no surprise that 2× 1 GiB works :-)
  • »08.06.19 - 18:44
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Jeckel
    Posts: 131 from 2007/3/11
    Quote:

    Andreas_Wolf wrote:
    > Ok, found it! It is rev 2B5. :)

    So in your case it's no surprise that 2× 1 GiB works :-)


    Well, I had several dimm pairs that didn't operate stable before this one (most pairs I tested worked single but not dual).
  • »08.06.19 - 23:15
    Profile
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 10376 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > I had several dimm pairs that didn't operate stable before this one

    Yes, see comment #31 :-)
  • »09.06.19 - 07:05
    Profile