Powermac 3,5 sounds like a shortwave radio.
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 20 from 2019/2/23
    I've just installed the latest MorphOS on my Dual G4 for the first time. Per the site it's supposed to be supported.

    With no speakers or headphones plugged in, the internal speaker is muted.

    With some speakers plugged in, they don't do anything, but the internal speaker goes absolutely nuts. Horrible loud buzzing that gets worse if you move the mouse. If you dare play music on the computer, it makes a noise like you're being haunted by a thousand vengeful spirits.

    I know that my computer isn't broken because it acts correctly with Mac OS.

    What's going on? I can't find anything searching the forum. Surely I can't be the only one?

    [ Edited by khorse 23.02.2019 - 22:27 ]
  • »23.02.19 - 23:11
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 9 from 2017/12/13
    bla

    [ Edited by devils_advisor 23.02.2019 - 18:07 ]
  • »23.02.19 - 23:34
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 20 from 2019/2/23
    "supported doesn't mean in full supported" is a quite ridiculous thing to say. What else in your life is "supported" like this.

    I was thinking I'd get a reply like "oh, that's weird, try this". Not to be told the problem is the expected functionality. Are you a door to door salesman of hair dryers that electrocute people?

    No. I think it's reasonable to assume that "supported" means actually working. Not alpha unstable testing release.

    [ Edited by khorse 23.02.2019 - 22:48 ]
  • »23.02.19 - 23:47
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 9 from 2017/12/13
    bla

    [ Edited by devils_advisor 23.02.2019 - 18:07 ]
  • »23.02.19 - 23:58
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 20 from 2019/2/23
    I don't expect to get any help from a guy with seven posts, who's not demonstrated any knowledge of the subject and thinks "supported hardware" could include not working in the slightest.

    By your own logic, there actually isn't a problem - it's only supposed to make loud buzzing noise.
  • »24.02.19 - 00:01
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 9 from 2017/12/13
    then have fun I can waste my time better than that. you think the amount of posts is what qualifies you.
  • »24.02.19 - 00:06
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 20 from 2019/2/23
    Displaying stupidity disqualifies you. The post count just confirms I don't have to worry about bumping into you again.

    [ Edited by khorse 23.02.2019 - 23:24 ]
  • »24.02.19 - 00:22
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 787 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    @ khorse

    I don't own a G4 PowerMac, and never have, so I can't offer any specific advice, but the MorphOS Compatible Hardware indicates that ...
    "audio is currently only supported for PowerMac 3,4 to 3,6 models."

    So, it should in theory work OK on your 3,5 PowerMac, but it obviously doesn't. I take it you replaced the Nvidia card for an ATI card that's suitable for MorphOS to run on, as you say you can see the mouse pointer, as I'd be interested to know which model you've currently got fitted in your system?

    The sound issue is hopefully something that someone in the MorphOS Team can help you with, or maybe you should send in a bug-report on the matter, as it seems to be something that should work, but doesn't, on hardware that is supposed to be supported, and compatible with MorphOS.
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB RAM,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x USB2,MorphOS 3.11,Mac OSX 10.4/10.5,A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.11,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz (DP)
  • »24.02.19 - 01:08
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 20 from 2019/2/23
    Thank you for a sane and sensible reply. It's a bit awkward to pull the tower from under the desk so I ran showconfig

    Code:
    SYSTEM:     PowerMac3,5
    REGISTERED: Unregistered
    PROCESSOR: 7445/7455 (G4) (V2.1) 1000MHz (FSB 133MHz)
    PROCESSOR: 7445/7455 (G4) (V2.1) 1000MHz (FSB 133MHz)
    VERSION: MorphOS version 3.11, Ambient version 1.44, Kickstart version 51.40
    RAM: Node type $8A, Attributes $1505 (FAST), at $14000CA8-$5133D000 (~979.2 meg)
    BOARDS:
    Vendor $106B Device $002D Apple Inc., UniNorth 1.5 AGP
    Vendor $1002 Device $4966 Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI], RV250 [Radeon 9000 Series]
    Vendor $1095 Device $3112 Silicon Image, Inc., SiI 3112 [SATALink/SATARaid] Serial ATA Controller
    Vendor $1045 Device $C861 OPTi Inc., 82C861 OHCI USB Host
    Vendor $106B Device $0019 Apple Inc., KeyLargo USB
    Vendor $106B Device $0019 Apple Inc., KeyLargo USB
    Vendor $11C1 Device $5811 LSI Corporation, FW322/323 [TrueFire] 1394a Controller
    Vendor $106B Device $0021 Apple Inc., UniNorth GMAC (Sun GEM)


    So what we've got is an ATI Radion 9000 (mac version). There's two other cards, a Sonnet SATA controller and a USB card, both working out of the box.

    I just noticed that the system is silent on boot. It only starts making the awful noise after the first time something plays sound, thereafter getting worse with any activity - dragging windows, typing, network etc

    [ Edited by khorse 24.02.2019 - 01:39 ]
  • »24.02.19 - 02:10
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 787 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK/GB
    @ khorse

    OK, thanks for the information about the card you have installed, and from what you've said, if it was me I'd be reporting it as a bug.

    After all, if you're considering buying a licence for MorphOS - the hardware needs to be working correctly under MorphOS, or there is no encouragement to part with your money to buy a MorphOS licence for that hardware, is there? ;-)

    Especially if the audio is working correctly under Mac OS(X) at the moment.
    MacMini 1.5GHz,10,2,64MB VRAM,1GB RAM,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x USB2,MorphOS 3.11,Mac OSX 10.4/10.5,A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.11,Model 5,8/5,9, & PowerMac G5 2.3GHz (DP)
  • »24.02.19 - 03:11
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 1787 from 2003/3/5
    From: Poland
    This is the first time I’ve heard about a bug like that. But then again, some Macs have subtle changes on their mobos and it’s possible that you have a variant we’ve never tested...
  • »24.02.19 - 06:12
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 20 from 2019/2/23
    It's possible. I've ordered a Soundblaster in case this can't be solved.

    I did find this thread here:

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=11225&forum=53

    Posters in that thread share the symptom that the onboard speaker only works when something is plugged in, and use
    Code:
    setenv save applei2s.audio "INVHPMUTEGPIO INVHPDETECTGPIO"

    To fix it.

    On my machine these don't do anything at all. But I'm wondering if something similar might.
  • »24.02.19 - 14:04
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 656 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    Quote:

    khorse wrote:
    With no speakers or headphones plugged in, the internal speaker is muted.

    With some speakers plugged in, they don't do anything, but the internal speaker goes absolutely nuts. Horrible loud buzzing that gets worse if you move the mouse.


    It sounds a bit like backfeeding. See, if there's a voltage on your speakers phono input (which there ideally shouldn't be*), it may interfere with your sound. I've encountered this only once on audio with an Amiga with a dying PSU where the 12V rail decided to use my audio as a way back. Backfeed is however a common feature of cheap shitty USB hubs.

    But this theory doesn't match up with MacOS not having this problem...

    Does it only happen with these speakers, or with unpowered headphones too?

    (* Edit: Or alternatively if a diode in the computer's sound circuitry itself has gone open-circuit.)

    [ Edited by KennyR 24.02.2019 - 19:24 ]
  • »24.02.19 - 20:18
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    kickstart
    Posts: 216 from 2009/4/28
    From: Land of Santa
    @khorse

    I cant help you but I posted time ago this:

    https://morph.zone/modules/newbb_plus/viewtopic.php?topic_id=12525&forum=11#139742

    I dont know if it have any resemblance to your case, its difficult to explain, still with same "issue", a mystery for me.
  • »24.02.19 - 20:25
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 20 from 2019/2/23
    Quote:

    KennyR wrote:

    It sounds a bit like backfeeding. See, if there's a voltage on your speakers phono input (which there ideally shouldn't be*), it may interfere with your sound. I've encountered this only once on audio with an Amiga with a dying PSU where the 12V rail decided to use my audio as a way back. Backfeed is however a common feature of cheap shitty USB hubs.

    But this theory doesn't match up with MacOS not having this problem...

    Does it only happen with these speakers, or with unpowered headphones too?

    (* Edit: Or alternatively if a diode in the computer's sound circuitry itself has gone open-circuit.)


    I said with headphones too. Anything.
  • »25.02.19 - 03:57
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 20 from 2019/2/23
    Well, the soundblaster live came. It's working. I had a moment of confusion, picking "hifi" made it just squeal. Strange.

    [ Edited by khorse 05.03.2019 - 14:16 ]
  • »05.03.19 - 15:13
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    KennyR
    Posts: 656 from 2003/3/4
    From: #AmigaZeux, Gu...
    It's good that it solved your problem, but it still would be nice to know why MorphOS wasn't muting your internal speakers and letting them play boosted electrical noise.

    *hopes devs see this*

    I wouldn't worry about the HiFi modes. According to AHI docs, they use "32 bits internally and linear interpolation". It may just be that your soundblaster doesn't support the output bitrate or mode. Feed PCM in a format a card doesn't understand and a binary squeal is what you'll get.

    In normal use though, you probably wouldn't want to use HiFi because it's quite CPU-intensive (and I, at least, couldn't hear any difference, YMMV), so it isn't much loss IMO.

    [ Edited by KennyR 06.03.2019 - 19:11 ]
  • »06.03.19 - 20:06
    Profile