Congratulation
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/10/30
    Congrats on the release of 3.10, it really looks wonderful. Unfortunately for me my apple laptop that I was running MorphOS on has died and I am just not going to buy an other one. At this point, for me, the Apple hardware is just too old and the new Amiga hardware is too expensive. I know talk has gone on about switching platforms and I just wish that it would happen. MorphOS is a nice operating system. It is a a shame that it isn't more readily available for people to use. I know I would, just not on the hardware it supports at this time.

    Thanks
  • »05.04.18 - 16:09
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 679 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK...
    If your old system has died, then buying a replacement should be quite cheap, and you can then have the original MorphOS Key/licence transferred to any replacement compatible device you choose. ;-)

    No need to leave, as compatible Apple hardware is usually quite cheap for MorphOS use. 8-D
    MacMini 1.5GHz,Model 10.2,64MB VRAM,250GB HDD,1GB RAM,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x USB2,MorphOS 3.11,Mac OSX 10.4/10.5,A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.11,Model 5,8/5,9
  • »05.04.18 - 20:41
    Profile
  • Butterfly
    Butterfly
    Posts: 68 from 2015/10/30
    I just don't want old hardware anymore. I love MorphOS, it is fun to use. But, anyway... I will be sure to buy it if it ever gets ported to new and more affordable hardware. But, honest the change list and screenshots of 3.10 is wonderful, a lot of hard work went into this release.
  • »05.04.18 - 21:11
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    redrumloa
    Posts: 1234 from 2003/4/13
    Really? A couple years back I sold a perfect working near mint condition iBook for something like $40. That's too expensive?
  • »06.04.18 - 15:52
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    TheMagicM
    Posts: 1138 from 2003/6/17
    ok. Bye.
  • »06.04.18 - 17:23
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Zylesea
    Posts: 1851 from 2003/6/4
    Quote:

    redrumloa schrieb:
    Really? A couple years back I sold a perfect working near mint condition iBook for something like $40. That's too expensive?


    The stopping thing does not seem to be so much the money barrier, but the idea of old gear.
    And while I have close to onlygood experience with used stuff (and like the fact of active/direct recycling of gods, saves a lot of resources) I know, some ppl are disliking it.
    Different ppl - different oinions/experiences.
    --
    http://www.via-altera.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
  • »06.04.18 - 23:19
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    asrael22
    Posts: 368 from 2014/6/11
    From: Germany
    Well, you can buy an X5000. Then you have new hardware.


    Manfred
  • »07.04.18 - 00:24
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    NewSense
    Posts: 679 from 2012/11/10
    From: Manchester, UK...
    I like to buy/utilise re-used hardware, for various reasons, including ensuring it doesn't get thrown away prematurely. 8-D

    The main issue for me with v3.10 is the version of OWB (v1.24 - Leak-Fixed) that it's now past-its-use-by-date!

    I really like the OS itself, and what it is capable of, but part of any modern OS relies heavily on the functionality of its web-browser, and for MorphOS currently this is a big let down, even on mainstream sites, and it needs fixing ASAP.

    If it doesn't get fixed soon, then any potential users, and including DFergFLA will drift away due to such issues.

    Along with the issues I pointed out about the Printing (*NEW* PostScript) system, and the Isochronous USB functionality which, for me so far, is a let down, as it doesn't work with my C-Media USB soundcard - it's recognised but not allocated audibly onto my system's audio resources, and I've had no response back from the Development Team as to why it just isn't working, and there's been the same lack of response about the Printing system, which is not the usual reaction I've had from any of the Team in the past.
    MacMini 1.5GHz,Model 10.2,64MB VRAM,250GB HDD,1GB RAM,Airport, Bluetooth,A1016 Keyboard,T-RB22 Mouse,DVD-RW-DL+CD-RW,Iomega MiniMax,Belkin 6 port 3 x Firewire/3 x USB2,MorphOS 3.11,Mac OSX 10.4/10.5,A1138+A1139 PwrBk MOS v3.11,Model 5,8/5,9
  • »07.04.18 - 02:01
    Profile
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4695 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    NewSense wrote:
    I like to buy/utilise re-used hardware, for various reasons, including ensuring it doesn't get thrown away prematurely. 8-D

    The main issue for me with v3.10 is the version of OWB (v1.24 - Leak-Fixed) that it's now past-its-use-by-date!

    I really like the OS itself, and what it is capable of, but part of any modern OS relies heavily on the functionality of its web-browser, and for MorphOS currently this is a big let down, even on mainstream sites, and it needs fixing ASAP.

    If it doesn't get fixed soon, then any potential users, and including DFergFLA will drift away due to such issues.

    Along with the issues I pointed out about the Printing (*NEW* PostScript) system, and the Isochronous USB functionality which, for me so far, is a let down, as it doesn't work with my C-Media USB soundcard - it's recognised but not allocated audibly onto my system's audio resources, and I've had no response back from the Development Team as to why it just isn't working, and there's been the same lack of response about the Printing system, which is not the usual reaction I've had from any of the Team in the past.


    USB sound, to me, is pointless except for systems like the Cube (for which there are no card slot alternatives). Isochronous USB has more utility than just sound.
    Laptop hardware does have its limitations (1.67 GHz G4 cpus and 64MB of vram - in the best system), but then I still get utility from my 1.42 GHz iBook.
    Even a proposed T2080 based laptop would only be slightly faster in applications without SMP (which is basically everything NG).

    But the new video drivers are cool, as are the new skins.
    And we finally have X5000 support, which is an expensive option, but gives us a new hardware option.

    OWB is problematic, and we may have to face being behind the curve with this as big endian systems are no longer common (so all the conversion work is up to our developers). Its a solid reason for the X64 shift.

    However, until that shift occurs, I'm still enjoying both my G4 and G5 based systems. In many ways they are now performing better than ever.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »07.04.18 - 02:45
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Zylesea
    Posts: 1851 from 2003/6/4
    Quote:

    asrael22 schrieb:
    Well, you can buy an X5000. Then you have new hardware.


    Manfred


    Right, but the X5000 is expensive. You know, there's always the option to complain ;-).
    --
    http://www.via-altera.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
  • »07.04.18 - 10:09
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    Zylesea
    Posts: 1851 from 2003/6/4
    Quote:

    Jim schrieb:

    USB sound, to me, is pointless except for systems like the Cube (for which there are no card slot alternatives). Isochronous USB has more utility than just sound.


    The rather popular Mac minis have no analog in, the ibooks haven't, too. For these systems a usb soundcard is pretty useful.
    Quote:



    Laptop hardware does have its limitations (1.67 GHz G4 cpus and 64MB of vram - in the best system), but then I still get utility from my 1.42 GHz iBook..


    The high res 1.67Gz Powerbooks have 128MiB VRAM. But then again on my 5.6 powerbook I really have no issue with the 64 MiB VRAM as the resolution of the display fits well with that ammount of VRAM. The 64MiB VRAM on the mini hooked up to a full hd display, well... that's rather little.

    [ Editiert durch Zylesea 07.04.2018 - 11:32 ]
    --
    http://www.via-altera.de

    Whenever you're sad just remember the world is 4.543 billion years old and you somehow managed to exist at the same time as David Bowie.
  • »07.04.18 - 10:14
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Korni
    Posts: 375 from 2006/2/23
    From: the Planet of ...
    My 5.6 has 128MB VRAM. Though its Mobility Radeon 9700 has lower clocks compared to the one in my 5.8.

    5.8:
    Mem: 241 MHz
    GPU: 446 MHz

    5.6:
    Mem: 203 MHz
    GPU: 392 MHz
    http://korni.ppa.pl/modkowypaczek/ | My Rifle, My Bunny, and Me
  • »07.04.18 - 12:33
    Profile Visit Website
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 9 from 2018/4/8
    guys id much prefer an old G4 compared to what people are asking for used Amiga 1200's

    There are numerous ads on ebay for over $1200 to $2000 AUD for a crappy old Amiga 1200.
    A g4 runs rings around that crappy old Amiga.

    $100 for a mac mini? seriously that's the bargain of the century.
    who in their right minds would pay over $400 for an Amiga 1200?
    Seriously...
  • »09.04.18 - 05:43
    Profile
  • Just looking around
    Posts: 9 from 2018/4/8
    Also remember the worlds best selling console of all time the PlayStation 2.
    had 32mb of RAM and 4mb of Frame Buffer lol.

    I'm sure you have all played the great games that were on offer.
    The mac mini would easily be able to do anything the Ps2 could do.
    At a slightly higher resolution as well.
  • »09.04.18 - 05:48
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Tcheko
    Posts: 435 from 2003/2/25
    From: France
    Quote:

    NewSense wrote:
    [...] and the Isochronous USB functionality which, for me so far, is a let down, as it doesn't work with my C-Media USB soundcard - it's recognised but not allocated audibly onto my system's audio resources, [...]



    As I said in another thread. An ordinary and correctly implemented USB Audio Class device should work flawlessly if it does nothing fancy.

    In your case, there's likely an hardware volume setting that is not handled by the operating system. And this hardware volume is set abysimally low by default.

    After wandering 30s at the C-Media website, you'll see that almost every product of this company is provided with manufacturer drivers and also a wonderfull quote taken from a random C-Media product.

    I can resist to share that gem:

    "In addition, audio adjustment can be easily controlled via specific HID compliant volume control pins. For value added application, external codec or audio DSP can be connected to CM108AH via I2S pin for further processing. 3 GPIO pins can be accessed with customer application software for additional value added application."

    Maybe your device pairs with HID class as well and exposes controllers there which might show as Volume Up/Volume Down. There, you might try to bind those HID controllers to some keyboard event for example.

    Hope you'll sort out this specific feature of your USB sound card.





    [ Edited by Tcheko 09.04.2018 - 12:13 ]
    Quelque soit le chemin que tu prendras dans la vie, sache que tu auras des ampoules aux pieds.
    -------
    I need to practice my Kung Fu.
  • »09.04.18 - 11:11
    Profile Visit Website
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4695 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    Tcheko wrote:
    Quote:

    NewSense wrote:
    [...] and the Isochronous USB functionality which, for me so far, is a let down, as it doesn't work with my C-Media USB soundcard - it's recognised but not allocated audibly onto my system's audio resources, [...]



    As I said in another thread. An ordinary and correctly implemented USB Audio Class device should work flawlessly if it does nothing fancy.

    In your case, there's likely an hardware volume setting that is not handled by the operating system. And this hardware volume is set abysimally low by default.

    After wandering 30s at the C-Media website, you'll see that almost every product of this company is provided with manufacturer drivers and also a wonderfull quote taken from a random C-Media product.

    I can resist to share that gem:

    "In addition, audio adjustment can be easily controlled via specific HID compliant volume control pins. For value added application, external codec or audio DSP can be connected to CM108AH via I2S pin for further processing. 3 GPIO pins can be accessed with customer application software for additional value added application."

    Maybe your device pairs with HID class as well and exposes controllers there which might show as Volume Up/Volume Down. There, you might try to bind those HID controllers to some keyboard event for example.

    Hope you'll sort out this specific feature of your USB sound card.






    Damn, those were well researched posts. That could be a simpler answer, at least for some applications. Sounds like a challenge for a dedicated hacker.
    I'm sure as you guys get each device sorted out you'll at least receive the thanks of others that would like to use that device.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »09.04.18 - 11:49
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Tcheko
    Posts: 435 from 2003/2/25
    From: France
    Quote:

    Jim wrote:
    [...]
    Damn, those were well researched posts. That could be a simpler answer, at least for some applications. Sounds like a challenge for a dedicated hacker.
    I'm sure as you guys get each device sorted out you'll at least receive the thanks of others that would like to use that device.


    What makes USB hell is custom stuff. And a lot of manufacturer craft custom stuff because sometime, hacking something is simplier than respecting the specification...

    Also, some manufacturers craft proprietary protocol to protect their assets. That's for example the case for the well known Serato sound card designed for DJing performances.

    For all those cases, the only solution is to develop a dedicated class driver targeting a specific piece of hardware.

    In 99% of the cases, we *won't* support alien and random USB devices. You already feel dirty enough when implementing regular and speced USB class device. :)

    BTW, to musician out there, there is as well USB MIDI device support in this 3.10 release.
    Quelque soit le chemin que tu prendras dans la vie, sache que tu auras des ampoules aux pieds.
    -------
    I need to practice my Kung Fu.
  • »09.04.18 - 16:28
    Profile Visit Website
  • Jim
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Jim
    Posts: 4695 from 2009/1/28
    From: Delaware, USA
    Quote:

    gazza wrote:
    guys id much prefer an old G4 compared to what people are asking for used Amiga 1200's

    There are numerous ads on ebay for over $1200 to $2000 AUD for a crappy old Amiga 1200.
    A g4 runs rings around that crappy old Amiga.

    $100 for a mac mini? seriously that's the bargain of the century.
    who in their right minds would pay over $400 for an Amiga 1200?
    Seriously...


    Agreed, even though I have G5 hardware, about a year or so ago I purchased a G4 with a registered copy of MorphOS from redrumloa. I've never regretted that decision.
    The system is definitely easier to open up and work on than the G5.
    And while I'd like a faster cpu, the Xserve 1.33 GHz cpu I installed in place of red's works pretty close to where my last G4 at 1.42 Ghz performed.
    With a plug-in video card, and I think after the cost of the license is factored in a lower price than the Mac Mini you mentioned...its a keeper.
    Plus, before we ha G5 support, this is where the R500 driver work got started.
    Why do you think the FireGL X3 is supported (since it has to be reflashed)?
    Because it was the cheapest way to get an X800XT comparable card into a G4 (at the time).
    And btw, while I'm a big fan of Mark Olsen, let me throw out a big thanks to Frank Mariak for having the guts to recommend our only officially supported re-flashed card.
    You two guys still floor me when it comes to your competency and commitment to the platform.
    "Never attribute to malice what can more readily explained by incompetence"
  • »09.04.18 - 17:56
    Profile