Gigalomania 0.28
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 237 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    Hi

    "Thore" search another tester for his port of Gigalomania.
    If you can test it, thanks

    Origin : Morphos-forum.de

    File : http://www.disk-doktor.de/tools/lha/gigalomania_0.28.lha

    thank you for your comeback
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.10
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.10
    My MOS ports
  • »14.01.17 - 13:53
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 474 from 2011/11/30
    I can barely move the mouse cursor thus unable to even start a new game. CPU tops 100%, it consumes about 70MB free GFX RAM and a lot of (fast) RAM as well. The same goes version 0.25 btw. All the above on MorphOS 3.9, PMAC 3.1 G4 1.ghz, Radeon 9800 Pro 256MB, 1.5 GB Ram with natove Ambient screen 1280x1024 at 24bit.
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »15.01.17 - 11:36
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    ernsteiswuerfel
    Posts: 234 from 2015/6/18
    From: Funeralopolis
    Got a similar experience as Cool_amigaN.

    Tried it on my G5, 2.3 GHz. The game starts windowed, graphics and sound are working. But it's veeerry sluggish. CPU is maxed out at about 95 %, VRAM occupied is 111 MB.
    Talos II Secure Workstation. [Gentoo Linux] | PMac G5 7,3. PBook G4 5,8. [MorphOS 3.11 / Gentoo Linux] | A1200. ACA-1233, Indivision AGA Mk2. [Amiga OS 3.1.4]
  • »15.01.17 - 21:53
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 237 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    Same here with my Powerbook and my PowerMac G5

    But with my MacMin it's ok.
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.10
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.10
    My MOS ports
  • »16.01.17 - 05:40
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Templario
    Posts: 256 from 2012/4/28
    In the PowerBook the game has problems with the screen resolution besides the mouse move.
    But in this machine always there are problems with some games and programs with the screen, perhaps the video drivers? because with Hollywood some of my programs have problems too.
    Amiga 500 with ROMs 1.3-2.05 and M-Tec AT 500 with hard disk and 4MB Ram.
    WinUAE + original OS 3.5&3.9
    Sam440ep 800 MHZ + OS 4.1 F.E.
    Sam460ex 1 GHz + OS 4.1 F.E.
    MacMini 1.5 GHz + MorphOS 3.11
    PowerBook G4 1.65 + MorphOS 3.11
  • »16.01.17 - 11:10
    Profile Visit Website
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    deka
    Posts: 129 from 2013/2/12
    From: Hungary, Kecsk...
    I bet, the 100% CPU usage is because all the SDL games do the same... Even the simplest logic games.
    I think, it is the problem of SDL implementation... I hope, one day it will be corrected.
  • »18.01.17 - 08:14
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    koszer
    Posts: 841 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    I think, it is the problem of SDL implementation...


    I think it's rather the problem of lazy developers when it comes to main game loop code.
  • »18.01.17 - 09:14
    Profile
  • Acolyte of the Butterfly
    Acolyte of the Butterfly
    deka
    Posts: 129 from 2013/2/12
    From: Hungary, Kecsk...
    Quote:

    koszer wrote:
    Quote:

    I think, it is the problem of SDL implementation...


    I think it's rather the problem of lazy developers when it comes to main game loop code.




    I don't know SDL well, but it is also an event driven system. Yeah, probably the main loop is too busy and the programmers missed to put a usleep() there. The question is, that do these programs behave similarly on every platform?
  • »18.01.17 - 09:23
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Tcheko
    Posts: 436 from 2003/2/25
    From: France
    Many SDL games work by polling (ie reading all the time) the event queue.

    https://wiki.libsdl.org/SDL_PollEvent

    The example code shows the ugly. while(1) { SDL_PollEvent(...); }

    It kills any CPU class.

    Better main loop would be with SDL_WaitEvent/SDL_WaitEventTimeout

    https://wiki.libsdl.org/SDL_WaitEvent
    https://wiki.libsdl.org/SDL_WaitEventTimeout

    At least, those calls shouldn't eat all the CPU.

    A quick search with G**gle on GitHub :

    SDL_PollEvent site:github.com -> about 9500 results
    SDL_WaitEvent site:github.com -> about 2200 results
    SDL_WaitEventTimeout site:github.com -> about 300 results

    See the disaster. :)
    Quelque soit le chemin que tu prendras dans la vie, sache que tu auras des ampoules aux pieds.
    -------
    I need to practice my Kung Fu.
  • »18.01.17 - 14:21
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    defender
    Posts: 234 from 2011/4/24
    I don't understand the gameplay, but the game runs smooth.
    It takes about 50MB from 64MB Gfx ram and enhanced display is disabled.
    My MDD 1250MHz G4 CPU is as discribed above at 100%.
    24Bit Gfx depth 1680x1050 Radeon 9000 ...
    PowerMac 3.6 - Radeon 9000_64Mb - 1,5Gb Ram - SB Live - MorphOS 3.9
    CD32 - PowerBook 1,67GHz 1GB/100GB - MorphOS 3 reg. 1455
  • »18.01.17 - 20:58
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 237 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    i try to compile it with GCC 4 and last code version (0.29.0 last developpement) with my G5, i change 32 bits to 24 bits (Screen resolution) in code and it's work perfectly.....

    i test it on my others machines.


    Gameplay is strange indeed ;-)
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.10
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.10
    My MOS ports
  • »23.01.17 - 20:51
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    tolkien
    Posts: 280 from 2013/5/29
    So the problem is the screen depth. Can It affect to other sdl games?
    PowerMac G5 - PowerBook G4 - MacMini with MorphOS. Amiga 1200/060 AmigaOS 3.x
  • »24.01.17 - 11:32
    Profile
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 237 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    Others games SDL working perfectly on my G5...
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.10
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.10
    My MOS ports
  • »24.01.17 - 14:53
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 237 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    I upload Gigalomania to test it.

    I activate "Online Help" in game with OpenURL.

    http://www.morphos-storage.net/?page=Beta-test&file=Gigalomania_0.29.0_BETA.lha



    [ Edité par beworld 24.01.2017 - 20:04 ]
    PowerMac 2.7ghz MOS 3.10
    PowerBook 1.5Ghz MOS 3.10
    My MOS ports
  • »24.01.17 - 19:02
    Profile Visit Website
  • Order of the Butterfly
    Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 474 from 2011/11/30
    I 've tested the latest build on my Pmac G4 1.6Ghz. It's is for sure a vast improvement regarding speed (now I can actually start/play a game) but still it seems to me way too slow to be enjoyable.
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »08.02.17 - 12:19
    Profile Visit Website