MBR
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    bash64
    Posts: 898 from 2010/10/28
    From: USA
    Like a dummy I plugged a MOS drive into Windows 10.
    Needless to say I no longer have an MBR.
    The MBR/partition table is zeroed out.
    Is there any way to rebuild it?
    Powerbook G4 1.67ghz 2GB, ATI 9700M Pro 128mb
    1TB hd, DL-DVD Burner, Netgear pcmcia wireless card.
    Powermac G5 2.3ghz 2GB, ATI 9600 Pro
    ImageFX 4.5, PageStream 3.3, PhotoGenics 5.0
  • »04.08.16 - 21:18
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11720 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Needless to say I no longer have an MBR. The MBR/partition table is zeroed out.

    Isn't it the RDB (Pegasos, Efika 5200B, Sam460) or the APM (PPC Mac) that gets destroyed by Windows?
  • »04.08.16 - 23:13
    Profile
  • MorphOS Developer
    jacadcaps
    Posts: 2726 from 2003/3/5
    From: Canada
    Quote:

    bash64 wrote:
    Is there any way to rebuild it?



    What was the partition layout and which filesystem did you use? If it was SFS and you remember at least roughly the partition sizes, it should be possible to retrieve at least some contents using SFSDoctor - best try to contact Marek Szyprowski, he might give you some hints.
  • »05.08.16 - 00:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    bash64
    Posts: 898 from 2010/10/28
    From: USA
    I remembering it was an amiga hd only.
    Obviously you cannot have windows paritions on any thing but an MBR drive, so you are correct, it would not have been MBR.
    It is a 1TB drive I had in my PowerMac laptop.
    I hooked it up to Windows to use cloning software to back it up to an image file.
    Windows wanted to initialize the drive with GPT so somehow I thought Amiga was MBR and selected MBR.
    Well, even if amiga was MBR it would still have blown away the first block.
    Dummy me.

    I will give SFSDoctor a try.
    Thanks
    Powerbook G4 1.67ghz 2GB, ATI 9700M Pro 128mb
    1TB hd, DL-DVD Burner, Netgear pcmcia wireless card.
    Powermac G5 2.3ghz 2GB, ATI 9600 Pro
    ImageFX 4.5, PageStream 3.3, PhotoGenics 5.0
  • »05.08.16 - 12:31
    Profile Visit Website
  • Caterpillar
    Caterpillar
    Thomas
    Posts: 31 from 2004/3/31
    Quote:

    bash64 wrote:
    Needless to say I no longer have an MBR.
    The MBR/partition table is zeroed out.



    Normally Windows NT+ does not touch an unknown harddrive. Only DOS does this. And it does not wipe out anything, it only changes four bytes. WinUAE repairs this automatically.


    Quote:

    Is there any way to rebuild it?


    If only the first block is gone: http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de/downloads/rerdb.lha
    If you need to search for partitions on the entire disk: http://thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de/downloads/rdbrecov.lha
  • »05.08.16 - 16:11
    Profile
  • jPV
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    jPV
    Posts: 1921 from 2003/2/24
    From: po-RNO
    It's Powerbook, so isn't it using MAC partition table (APM), not RDB or MBR? WinUAE or RDB recovering software doesn't help then.

    I don't know which program could repair that, but there are always ways to find out and rebuild the table... I've never had to look this on Macs, but years ago I've corrected RDBs even by remembering the correct partition settings roughly and then got it right just by trying out the close values until I got it right :) But don't write anything to the disk before you've done enough research about the options.


    [ Edited by jPV 05.08.2016 - 22:44 ]
  • »05.08.16 - 17:40
    Profile Visit Website
  • Yokemate of Keyboards
    Yokemate of Keyboards
    Andreas_Wolf
    Posts: 11720 from 2003/5/22
    From: Germany
    > Obviously you cannot have windows paritions on any thing but an MBR drive

    ...or GPT drive.

    > even if amiga was MBR it would still have blown away the first block.

    If Amiga was MBR, Windows wouldn't have wanted to initialize the drive with it ;-)
  • »05.08.16 - 20:39
    Profile