BeWorld's new Fallout 2 port issues
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    First of all - big thanks to BeWorld for making Fallout 2 on MorphOS possible!

    As I've decided to give the game a go I've stumbled upon a few issues though.

    1. The weapon slots (right/left "hand" or how you call it) aren't working as expected - most of the time the weapon isn't swapped when the red button is pressed.
    2. I cannot fire a gun - it's loaded and ready, and full of action points but somehow the weapon cannot be fired.
    3. The characters that speak to us (we hear their voice) sound like they speek to fast (it's like listening to some chipmunks).
    4. Sometimes our character dissapears when stationary (and can be seen only as he is moving).

    I'm using the Steam version of the game.
    Anyone noticed such game behaviour?
  • »04.02.23 - 09:41
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 588 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    Have you compare with another system version 1.2 : https://github.com/alexbatalov/fallout2-ce/releases ?
    (Just to be sur it's a problem with port), i'm not really test it, i just test save/load, launch game, click click everywhere ;-)
    Thanks
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerBook G4 1.5,MacMini 1.5, PowerMac G5 2.7 died !!!
    My MOS ports
  • »04.02.23 - 11:20
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    I've tested the 1.2 Windows version.

    Now, that's strange - when I start a new game none of the bugs I've mentioned are present.
    But when I load my MorphOS version saved game - it behaves just as bad.

    Could it be that there's something wrong with saving the game?

    EDIT:

    Loaded the PC save to MorphOS version, got a gun, now I can shoot.
    Did a save on MorphOS, loaded it - the gun still works.
    What the heck?

    One thing I've noticed - after passing the "Temple" trial at the beginning on PC I got my fancy Vault 13 outfit, while on MorphOS I still look like a tribal. Maybe that's the case?

    [ Edited by koszer 05.02.2023 - 08:56 ]
  • »05.02.23 - 07:24
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 588 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    so save on MorphOS cause problem... mmmm
    I check that (maybe one more Bigendian problem)
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerBook G4 1.5,MacMini 1.5, PowerMac G5 2.7 died !!!
    My MOS ports
  • »05.02.23 - 08:07
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    beworld wrote:
    so save on MorphOS cause problem... mmmm
    I check that (maybe one more Bigendian problem)


    It's not saving problem.

    I've figured it out!
    As you pass the Temple test you should have your status changed from "tribal" to "vault dweller" (you should not any longer look like a villager but you should get the blue outfit). But the MorphOS version doesn't do that (it even skips the video showing you the outfit) and just gets you back into the village in tribal outfit.

    From what I understand, as the tribals don't use firearms, the game has got neither player model with gun in hand (hence the invisibility) nor the animation of a tribal firing (hence you cannot really fire). Tadaaam!

    Here's the save just before exiting the temple:

    https://files.fm/u/tp6am6jwx

    unpack it and put it in game/data/SAVEGAME folder. It will be on position 10.

    if you load it on MorphOS and exit the door, you're still tribal.
    If you do so on Windows, you're a vault dweller.

    But the "sound" bug is still there :)

    [ Edited by koszer 05.02.2023 - 14:54 ]
  • »05.02.23 - 08:39
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 588 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    Ok ! i found the problem :-)
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerBook G4 1.5,MacMini 1.5, PowerMac G5 2.7 died !!!
    My MOS ports
  • »05.02.23 - 14:20
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    beworld wrote:
    Ok ! i found the problem :-)



    With the uniform, or with the sound?

    In the meantime I've found out that if I equip some armour (anything to make me look not like a tribal) the firearms start working again. Yay!
  • »05.02.23 - 15:45
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 588 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    With the uniform, the problem was related to the movies's deactivation.

    Sound is indeed a problem, i remark that...

    I will try to fix movies (I don't guarantee anything about it)
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerBook G4 1.5,MacMini 1.5, PowerMac G5 2.7 died !!!
    My MOS ports
  • »05.02.23 - 15:55
    Profile Visit Website
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 588 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    you can test : (just uniform fix)

    https://www.morphos-storage.net/upload/test/Fallout2_1.2_R1.lha
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerBook G4 1.5,MacMini 1.5, PowerMac G5 2.7 died !!!
    My MOS ports
  • »05.02.23 - 16:39
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    beworld wrote:
    you can test : (just uniform fix)

    https://www.morphos-storage.net/upload/test/Fallout2_1.2_R1.lha



    That fixed it, thanks. I mean, the video doesn't show but the uniform looks just about right.
    Back to testing...
  • »05.02.23 - 17:08
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 588 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    Next beta version (R3):

    - fix random crash at exit
    - fix memory not free at exit
    - movies can play... but i have some glish on it... fix BigEndian is not easy task :-)
    - update to last commit github

    i publish this version soon

    [ Edité par beworld 14.02.2023 - 14:40 ]
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerBook G4 1.5,MacMini 1.5, PowerMac G5 2.7 died !!!
    My MOS ports
  • »14.02.23 - 13:38
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    beworld wrote:
    Next beta version (R3):

    (...)

    i publish this version soon



    Big thanks!

    I'm a bit further into the game, it runs quite well (although there are moments I can only assume I should see a movie but there's only a black-screen-pause), I've ecountered a few weird crashes (suddently the game pointer is replaced with MorphOS pointer and everything stops) and I had one problem with loading a saved game (the game said it's corrupt or something).
  • »14.02.23 - 14:08
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    beworld wrote:
    Next beta version (R3)



    The soud issue seems fixed.
    The movies work.

    But I've stumbled a bit in the game.
    Here's what happens: Out of the sudden the game won't end the turn when in fight mode. After all my action points are spent the turn should end automatically. It doesn't. And I cannot end it manually too.

    Here's the save:
    https://files.fm/u/cv9xdv44z

    You can either leave the location (you'll get a fight instantly) or attack the caravan driver.
    When I load the game in the PC version it just works.
  • »20.02.23 - 14:10
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    One of the Polish MorphOS users checked this save for me and he says the bug doesn't occur for him.
    He's using the GOG version on a G4 PowerBook.
    Has anyone else tried my saved game?
  • »21.02.23 - 09:43
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Cool_amigaN
    Posts: 745 from 2011/11/30
    Just checked it and I can confirm your fellow user that save indeed works fine here too. I am also using GOG version and BeWorld's R2 port version :)

    [ Edited by Cool_amigaN 21.02.2023 - 22:47 ]
    Amiga gaming Tribute: Watch, rate, comment :)
  • »21.02.23 - 20:46
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    I can confirm the game can be completed.
    But be sure you save quite often and on various slots (I somehow got one savegame corrupt and not working anymore).

    Does anyone know is it possible to make the game run in higher resolution? The PC version works in at least 800*600.
  • »25.03.23 - 09:12
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 588 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    You can change resolution into f2_res.ini
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerBook G4 1.5,MacMini 1.5, PowerMac G5 2.7 died !!!
    My MOS ports
  • »25.03.23 - 11:05
    Profile Visit Website
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    Quote:

    beworld wrote:
    You can change resolution into f2_res.ini



    Tried doing that, no luck so far.
    Can you post an example line from that file?
  • »25.03.23 - 11:31
    Profile
  • Paladin of the Pegasos
    Paladin of the Pegasos
    koszer
    Posts: 1246 from 2004/2/8
    From: Poland
    All right, I've copied the .ini file from the PC version and it works.
  • »26.03.23 - 07:53
    Profile
  • Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    Priest of the Order of the Butterfly
    beworld
    Posts: 588 from 2010/2/10
    From: FRANCE
    I hadn't seen that this version existed, so I'm proud to present you the port of Fallout 1

    Good test and good play!

    https://www.morphos-storage.net/?id=1882104
    IMac G5 2.1,PowerBook G4 1.5,MacMini 1.5, PowerMac G5 2.7 died !!!
    My MOS ports
  • »14.04.23 - 19:32
    Profile Visit Website